City vs Southerland

Get The Best August 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

City

City Mattress sells a variety of mattresses, including name brands like Serta and Sealy, and its own proprietary options City Mattress brand. With locations across New York and Florida, they get good marks on customer service overall, but there are some concerns around the durability and price value of some of the products sold.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both City and Southerland in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
City: 7.2/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
City: 7.2/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
City: 7.2/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
City: 7.2/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
City: $689-$2299
Southerland: $399-2399

City:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

City's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be hard to see from a high level -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. These mattresses, sadly, aren't rated as well by sleepers. There are still folks that love their mattresses, but there are many others with complaints. Make sure to read on to figure out if they will work for you.

City's Supportiveness

Some are happy with the supportiveness of these mattresses, but others have had complaints about the support lasting. For those that have tender backs already, read the reviews to make sure the mattress works with your body.

Edge Support
These mattresses have mixed reviews when it comes to edge support. Some reviewers feel good about the support equalibrium across the mattress, but others had problems with dipping along the sides.

City's Durability

Sleepers note that durability is one of the most important factors to them. We are all hopeful to find a mattress that would be just as comfortable day one as it is 10 years from now. Sadly, not all sleepers agree that these mattresses are durable, and some have had issues with longevity after a short time. If you are looking to use one of these full time, make sure to review the specs against your body type to make sure it will work for you.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Getting to the bottom of customer reviews can be a relief when digging through all the noise when shopping for a mattress. Sleepers, regrettably, don't always repond positively towards these mattresses. Some have comfortable experiences, but others have issues. If you are contemplating ordering, see below for more specifics that may be helpful.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Some customers report that these mattresses don't provide the kind of support they expect. Though there are some that find these mattresses good for them, if you have a wide frame or shoulders, do some added dilligence before purchasing.

Edge Support
For those that are excited about getting good edge support, you may want to take a look at the reviews as these mattresses have mixed reviews about edge support.

Southerland's Durability

Finding a mattress with long lasting comfort is awesome, but difficult. These mattresses are not rated well for their longevity by reviewers. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other sleepers may find their mattress falters quickly. If you are heavier in body type, you may want to do extra looking before buying.

Browse City Customer Reviews

I called City Mattress

I called City Mattress in Henrietta while I was on my way home on the NYS Thruway. The salesperson Eric was very knowledge and efficient when I inquired about models and pricing. I was so pleased at the ease of speaking with him that I decided to get off the Henrietta exit on my way home. When I walked in the store I was greeted by Eric and he showed me the mattress we had discussed. I noticed a different model close by that I was interested in because it was a similar model to the others I have for my kids. I asked for the best price, he gave me a great deal and that was it. He set up delivery for the next day and I was out of the store in less than 20 minutes. The delivery guys were also on time and they also asked if they should remove their shoes which is nice because most contractors do not and it's annoying. Overall, this was my first time buying from City mattress and it won't be my last. I actually called another sore in the area I had bought three mattresses from before I called City and the sales guy was short and not helpful. Their loss! Nice job City Mattress and thank you Eric!

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Level

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.