City vs Solstice

Get The Best August 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

City

City Mattress sells a variety of mattresses, including name brands like Serta and Sealy, and its own proprietary options City Mattress brand. With locations across New York and Florida, they get good marks on customer service overall, but there are some concerns around the durability and price value of some of the products sold.

Solstice

Solstice Sleep Products make a variety of hybrid, innerspring, and memory foam mattresses for the US market and acquired Jamison Bedding. Solstice products are predominantly sold in the midwest and in Florida. For those familiar with Solstice, they are known for being price competitive versus other in-store options. However, they have had issues with durability and customer service complaints.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Solstice in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
City: 7.2/10
Solstice: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
City: 7.2/10
Solstice: 7.4/10

Price Value:
City: 7.2/10
Solstice: 7.2/10

No Back Pain:
City: 7.2/10
Solstice: 6.9/10

Price:
City: $689-$2299
Solstice: $1495-$2250

City:
Get Yours Now

Solstice:
Get Yours Now

City's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are content with their beds, but others are not as pleased overall. Despite those that had a good experience, overall these mattresses have lower than average satisfaction from customers. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

City's Supportiveness

Some of the customers don't feel that the mattresses support them well enough. Though some enjoy the quality of these mattresses, if you have wide hips and shoulders, do some added dilligence before purchasing.

Edge Support
For those that are excited about getting good edge support, some reviewers report that these mattresses may not have the kind of edge support over the long term that you may need.

City's Durability

These mattresses may not be as long-living as you'd like. On a shorter than average basis, some sleepers have reported feel and durability issues. If you are shopping for a mattress with lasting support but are also are larger than average person, you may experience good comfort initially, but do some added reading of customer reviews before purchasing.

Solstice's Owner Satisfaction

Discovering how folks really feel about a certain mattress is sometimes a hard thing -- especially with companies coming in and out of the market quickly. These mattresses, unfortunately, aren't scored as well by customers. There are still customers that really appreciate these beds, but many others that don't. Read on below to get the details on the specifics.

Solstice's Supportiveness

These mattresses get mixed feedback from customers on support. Though there are some folks that find comfort and support, others have had issues with spine alignment. If this brand is on your list, do additional research to ensure it works for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is a popular measure for those that like to sit on the edge of their mattress. Some folks, however, don't report it being as large of an issue for them. Edge support in these mattresses may not be excellent so make sure to do added research if it is important for you.

Solstice's Durability

Discovering a durable mattress is really nice, but it's not always that simple. These mattresses, specifically, are not rated highly by sleepers for their longevity. This means that some mattresses still may last years and years, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Browse City Customer Reviews

I called City Mattress

I called City Mattress in Henrietta while I was on my way home on the NYS Thruway. The salesperson Eric was very knowledge and efficient when I inquired about models and pricing. I was so pleased at the ease of speaking with him that I decided to get off the Henrietta exit on my way home. When I walked in the store I was greeted by Eric and he showed me the mattress we had discussed. I noticed a different model close by that I was interested in because it was a similar model to the others I have for my kids. I asked for the best price, he gave me a great deal and that was it. He set up delivery for the next day and I was out of the store in less than 20 minutes. The delivery guys were also on time and they also asked if they should remove their shoes which is nice because most contractors do not and it's annoying. Overall, this was my first time buying from City mattress and it won't be my last. I actually called another sore in the area I had bought three mattresses from before I called City and the sales guy was short and not helpful. Their loss! Nice job City Mattress and thank you Eric!

View More Reviews

Browse Solstice Customer Reviews

Great product

Great product

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Level

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.