City vs Nectar

Get an Instant Discount for Nectar Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

City

City Mattress sells a variety of mattresses, including name brands like Serta and Sealy, and its own proprietary options City Mattress brand. With locations across New York and Florida, they get good marks on customer service overall, but there are some concerns around the durability and price value of some of the products sold.

Nectar

Nectar has been one of the most popular brands since its launch in 2017. They have a few great differentiators - their memory foam mattress is a perfectly cozy medium firmness, which most customers find desirable versus others. Also, they offer a full year trial and a 'forever' warranty, which is really generous compared to other brands. With CertiPUR-US foams, a competitive pricepoint, and 'Buy Now, Pay Later' financing through Affirm, this is definitely a brand to consider. Live in the UK? See our review for the UK version too.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Nectar in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Nectar

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
City: 7.2/10
Nectar: 9.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
City: 7.2/10
Nectar: 9.7/10

Price Value:
City: 7.2/10
Nectar: 9.8/10

No Back Pain:
City: 7.2/10
Nectar: 9.4/10

Price:
City: $689-$2299
Nectar: $524-$924

City:
Get Yours Now

Nectar:
Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

City's Owner Satisfaction

Understanding customer feedback can be a great relief when spending hours searching for the right product. Unfortunately, customers don't always have good things to say about these mattresses. Some have immediate comfort, but othere have complaints. If you are contemplating ordering, see below for more specifics that may be helpful.

City's Supportiveness

Some folks feel good with the support in these mattresses, but others have been less than pleased. For those that have tender backs already, do some added reading to make sure the mattress you buy fits you.

Edge Support
The customers have mixed thoughts about edge support on these mattresses. Some feel positive about the mattress supportiveness across the surface, but others had problems with dipping along the sides.

City's Durability

We all want a mattress that lasts 10 years or more, and when our mattress starts to hurt our backs after a few months, we feel swindled. However, now more than ever, it is getting harder to find lasting comfort. With more companies than ever, companies fighting for profit at the demise of quality. When it comes to these mattresses, some sleepers had issues with durability. Not every customer experiences durability problems, but do some extra reading to make sure that your choice works for your body.

Nectar's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews and feedback is a great way to get a perspective on buying a certain mattress. Reviews at their best can accurately showcase the takeaways, both positive and negative, of a product. However, trying to find the perfect brand for you by wading through all of the reviews isn't always easy. But, with understanding the customer review and sentiment data across the industry -- customers are some of the most pleased with these mattresses.

Nectar's Supportiveness

Mattress support is the secret to waking up refreshed in the morning. You want a mattress that makes you feel refreshed and doesn't cause back aches. These mattresses do well supporting your spine.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses are supportive along the edges and don't suffer from too much contouring versus the center.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A popular item among readers, the bowling ball test provides a good indication of firmness while also showing evenness of support across the mattress. If a mattress doesn't have even response, some may find the mattress uncomfortable. Luckily, these mattresses have good ratings here and shouldn't have that as a problem.

Nectar's Durability

Longevity, along with initial comfort, is the most important factor in selecting a new mattress. Getting up to a decade of use out of a mattress is well rated in terms of longevity. That said, some factors that affect durability are sleeper size and material quality. These mattresses do a great job with durability overall. That said, some with heavier bodies may experience a slight decrease in durability.

Get an Instant Discount for Nectar:   Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Browse City Customer Reviews

I called City Mattress

I called City Mattress in Henrietta while I was on my way home on the NYS Thruway. The salesperson Eric was very knowledge and efficient when I inquired about models and pricing. I was so pleased at the ease of speaking with him that I decided to get off the Henrietta exit on my way home. When I walked in the store I was greeted by Eric and he showed me the mattress we had discussed. I noticed a different model close by that I was interested in because it was a similar model to the others I have for my kids. I asked for the best price, he gave me a great deal and that was it. He set up delivery for the next day and I was out of the store in less than 20 minutes. The delivery guys were also on time and they also asked if they should remove their shoes which is nice because most contractors do not and it's annoying. Overall, this was my first time buying from City mattress and it won't be my last. I actually called another sore in the area I had bought three mattresses from before I called City and the sales guy was short and not helpful. Their loss! Nice job City Mattress and thank you Eric!

View More Reviews

Browse Nectar Customer Reviews

Wow - Renee H.

This mattress changed our lives for the better! It is absolutely the perfect firmness and temperature. We had a queen bed for so long and desperately needed a king since our baby sleeps with us. We couldn’t afford the insane prices out there so we took a chance on Nectar and boy did it pay off.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.