City vs Helix

Get an Instant Discount for Helix Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

City

City Mattress sells a variety of mattresses, including name brands like Serta and Sealy, and its own proprietary options City Mattress brand. With locations across New York and Florida, they get good marks on customer service overall, but there are some concerns around the durability and price value of some of the products sold.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box movement. Over the last 3 years, they have been offering fully customized mattresses to customers with their high-tech sleep quiz. Being one of the first to provide dual sided firmness options, they also have made it even simpler for customers to select the right mattress (even if they don't want to use the sleep quiz). With 6 comfort designs to choose from, Helix has really focused on delivering to every type of sleeper.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
City: 7.2/10
Helix: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
City: 7.2/10
Helix: 9.3/10

Price Value:
City: 7.2/10
Helix: 9.4/10

No Back Pain:
City: 7.2/10
Helix: 9.3/10

Price:
City: $689-$2299
Helix: $600-$1245

City:
Get Yours Now

Helix:
Up To $125 Off Mattresses

City's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Despite those that are completely satisfied, this brand has lower sleeper satisfaction scores than the average. Read on for more specifics if you are interested in buying.

City's Supportiveness

In terms of support, customers give these mattresses mixed reviews. Some customers feel cozy with these mattresses, but others didn't feel comfortable while they slept. If you are heavier than average, you should take a look at more reviews to make sure you find the right match for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress. Some may not find these mattresses to be evenly supportive along the sides and may dip more than usual.

City's Durability

Sadly, some customers don't love these mattresses for their durability. While some customers found them to be comfortable, others had faster problems than average. Make sure to take a look at the specifications, warranty, and reviews before buying.

Helix's Owner Satisfaction

Customers give these mattresses high marks for comfort overall. There are solid scores overall from sleepers, but some with differing experiences. There are some customers that disagreed with the comfort. Keep reading to ensure that these will work for your body type!

Helix's Supportiveness

Most find these mattresses to be supportive, which means they do well aligning the spine per their firmness level. That said, there are a few customers that have complaints, so make sure to check out whether your purchase pick is right for your sleeping position and body type.

Edge Support
Overall, these mattresses are described as having good edge support, which means most don't have any problems sitting on the side of the mattress comfortably.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In bowling ball tests where the firmness is measured across the mattress, these mattresses are well supported throughout the surface. That said, some reviewers complained about support issues over a long horison, so make sure it works for your body before purchasing.

Helix's Durability

These mattresses are very competitive when it comes to durability. Having a durable mattress can mean comfortable sleep for years while one that degrades fast can mean unhappiness and money lost. These mattresses should stay comfortable for 7 - 12 years for most sleepers, which is good on average. Those folks that weight more than average or use their mattresses more than once a day may experience slight decreases in longevity.

Get an Instant Discount for Helix:   Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Browse City Customer Reviews

I called City Mattress

I called City Mattress in Henrietta while I was on my way home on the NYS Thruway. The salesperson Eric was very knowledge and efficient when I inquired about models and pricing. I was so pleased at the ease of speaking with him that I decided to get off the Henrietta exit on my way home. When I walked in the store I was greeted by Eric and he showed me the mattress we had discussed. I noticed a different model close by that I was interested in because it was a similar model to the others I have for my kids. I asked for the best price, he gave me a great deal and that was it. He set up delivery for the next day and I was out of the store in less than 20 minutes. The delivery guys were also on time and they also asked if they should remove their shoes which is nice because most contractors do not and it's annoying. Overall, this was my first time buying from City mattress and it won't be my last. I actually called another sore in the area I had bought three mattresses from before I called City and the sales guy was short and not helpful. Their loss! Nice job City Mattress and thank you Eric!

View More Reviews

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before - Eric S.

My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.