City vs Custom Comfort

Get The Best February 2020 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

City

City Mattress sells a variety of mattresses, including name brands like Serta and Sealy, and its own proprietary options City Mattress brand. With locations across New York and Florida, they get good marks on customer service overall, but there are some concerns around the durability and price value of some of the products sold.

Custom Comfort

Custom Comfort is a southern Californian brand of mattresses -- selling in their retail locations. They are known for their wide range of options from budget friendly to luxury. Focused on hybrid and latex options, most folks report Custom Comfort mattresses to be comfortable, but some had issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Custom Comfort in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
City: 7.2/10
Custom Comfort: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
City: 7.2/10
Custom Comfort: 7.8/10

Price Value:
City: 7.2/10
Custom Comfort: 7.7/10

No Back Pain:
City: 7.2/10
Custom Comfort: 7.7/10

Price:
City: $689-$2299
Custom Comfort: $170-$26795

City:
Get Yours Now

Custom Comfort:
Get Yours Now

City's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were completely satisfied with their new mattress, but others had issues with the feel. Despite those that are cozy, this means that these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Research on below for more specifics on whether this mattress will work for you.

City's Supportiveness

Customers have mixed feelings about the lasting support of these mattresses. Though most find these mattresses comfortable initally, if you have wide hips and shoulders, make sure to read the reviews before buying.

Edge Support
For those that are looking for long-term edge support, some describe these mattresses as having lacking edge support over the short term.

City's Durability

These mattresses may not be as durable over the long term as you'd expect. Some sleepers have had complaints about the feel and durability over a short time. If you are shopping for a mattress with lasting support but are also are larger than average person, these mattresses may feel good initially, but do some more research before buying.

Custom Comfort's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking of buying, read on below for more information from customers. Sadly, they get some negative feedback from a selection of sleepers. Some folks were cozy in their new mattress, but others reported trouble getting comfortable.

Custom Comfort's Supportiveness

These mattresses may not be the best of the batch in terms of support. Though there are some folks that find comfort and support, others have had issues with alignment long term. If this brand is on your list, do additional research to ensure it works for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely an important indicator to those with mobility concerns. Others don't find it is to be a big concern. These mattresses may not be perfect when it comes to edge support so make sure to do added reading if it is an important item for you.

Custom Comfort's Durability

Finding a long lasting mattress is great, but it's not always that easy. Sadly, sleepers don't rate these mattresses well when it comes to durability. This means that some mattresses still may last years and years, while other mattresses may only last a couple years. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Browse City Customer Reviews

I called City Mattress

I called City Mattress in Henrietta while I was on my way home on the NYS Thruway. The salesperson Eric was very knowledge and efficient when I inquired about models and pricing. I was so pleased at the ease of speaking with him that I decided to get off the Henrietta exit on my way home. When I walked in the store I was greeted by Eric and he showed me the mattress we had discussed. I noticed a different model close by that I was interested in because it was a similar model to the others I have for my kids. I asked for the best price, he gave me a great deal and that was it. He set up delivery for the next day and I was out of the store in less than 20 minutes. The delivery guys were also on time and they also asked if they should remove their shoes which is nice because most contractors do not and it's annoying. Overall, this was my first time buying from City mattress and it won't be my last. I actually called another sore in the area I had bought three mattresses from before I called City and the sales guy was short and not helpful. Their loss! Nice job City Mattress and thank you Eric!

View More Reviews

Browse Custom Comfort Customer Reviews

We bought our very first

We bought our very first Custom Comfort California King mattress in 2005. Full Latex mattress which served us well for the last 12 years. Using the Flip and Spin method recommended by CC gave us many years of restful night sleeps.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.