City vs Comfortaire

Get The Best Holiday 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

City

City Mattress sells a variety of mattresses, including name brands like Serta and Sealy, and its own proprietary options City Mattress brand. With locations across New York and Florida, they get good marks on customer service overall, but there are some concerns around the durability and price value of some of the products sold.

Comfortaire

Comfortaire made the original adjustable air-supported bed before a former employee went off to found Select Comfort, the makers of Sleep Number, which later acquired Comfortaire in 2013. Today, Comfortaire mattresses are sold throughout the US in select comfort Sleep Number store fronts and online. The difference between Sleep Number and Comfortaire is one of overall selection and technology. It is not doubt that the Sleep Number is Select Comfort's flagship brand, but Comfortaire offer a wider selection of options in their memory foam and latex -- and are low in VOCs from using Certipur materials.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Comfortaire in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
City: 7.2/10
Comfortaire: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
City: 7.2/10
Comfortaire: 8.2/10

Price Value:
City: 7.2/10
Comfortaire: 6.8/10

No Back Pain:
City: 7.2/10
Comfortaire: 8.9/10

Price:
City: $689-$2299
Comfortaire: $1172-$7309

City:
Get Yours Now

Comfortaire:
Get Yours Now

City's Owner Satisfaction

Not all sleepers like these mattresses. Some sleepers are happy with the feel, but others have had issues. One of these mattresses may be great for you, but it makes it harder to predict. Continue reading below to learn if one of these mattresses will work for you.

City's Supportiveness

In terms of support, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews. Some folks have described them as supportive and report sleeping soundly throughout the night, but others didn't feel that the mattress was equipped to provide comfort. If you have a wider or heavier frame than average, you may want to do additional research to make sure these mattresses will work for you

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of supportive resistance you get on the edge of the mattress and is important for anyone that likes to sit on the side of their bed. Unfortunately, some may experience dipping while putting weight on the edges of these mattresses.

City's Durability

Everyone wants to find a mattress that will last over a decade, and when instead we get a mattress that hurts our backs after a couple months, we feel awful. That said, finding a durable mattress nowadays is really hard. With more types of products than ever before, some brands aren't investing as much in quality. With these mattresses specifically, some reviewers had discomfort over a short period. Not all customers will experience durability issues, but make sure to review the return and warranty policies before buying.

Comfortaire's Owner Satisfaction

We all want to see what customers are saying before we buy a product -- especially a pricy one. That said, it can be a more difficult prospect when browsing countless brands and other sites. Based on our examination of sleeper reviews, we've found that customers give these above average marks on overall satisfaction. However, some didn't feel as comfortable. Make sure to read on for added specifics.

Comfortaire's Supportiveness

You may think supportive mattresses are always firm mattresses, but when we talk about support, we're describing support that cradles the body ergonomically. Most reviewers would describe these mattresses as providing good support, but rarely, some customers are not so sure.

Edge Support
These mattresses have good quality edge support, which ideal for those that sit on the side of the bed or sleep at the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By resting a bowling ball on the mattress, you can measure how even a mattress is in terms of support. These mattresses do a good job at supporting the spine overall, but you should do additional research if you have a larger or smaller than average body type.

Comfortaire's Durability

Sadly, not everyone rates these mattresses well for longevity. While some folks had good experiences with the performance, others describe having issues faster than average. If you are considering, make sure to read more reviews and go over the return policies before you buy.

Browse City Customer Reviews

I called City Mattress

I called City Mattress in Henrietta while I was on my way home on the NYS Thruway. The salesperson Eric was very knowledge and efficient when I inquired about models and pricing. I was so pleased at the ease of speaking with him that I decided to get off the Henrietta exit on my way home. When I walked in the store I was greeted by Eric and he showed me the mattress we had discussed. I noticed a different model close by that I was interested in because it was a similar model to the others I have for my kids. I asked for the best price, he gave me a great deal and that was it. He set up delivery for the next day and I was out of the store in less than 20 minutes. The delivery guys were also on time and they also asked if they should remove their shoes which is nice because most contractors do not and it's annoying. Overall, this was my first time buying from City mattress and it won't be my last. I actually called another sore in the area I had bought three mattresses from before I called City and the sales guy was short and not helpful. Their loss! Nice job City Mattress and thank you Eric!

View More Reviews

Browse Comfortaire Customer Reviews

Good air bed

Purchased in 2009. Bed started to leak in 2012. It was a great mattress for 3 years, but then started to leak. After contacting customer service twice, they agreed to send out a replacement air compartment, at no cost to me, even though it was a little outside of the 2-year, pro-rated warranty. If you like the support and consistency of an air mattress, this is the way to go. More economical than some of the other air bed companies.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.