Christeli vs Ikea

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Christeli

Christeli is a mattress brand that has been around since the 1930s with American made craftsmanship. They craft their own mattresses in their South Carolina factory, and focus on memory foam and latex options. Overall, most folks find their mattresses comfortable, but there are a few complaints about material durability and firmness. If you are interested in taking a look, they ship anywhere in the continental U.S.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Christeli in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Christeli


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Christeli: 8.8/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Christeli: 8.9/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Christeli: 8.6/10
Ikea: 8.9/10

No Back Pain:
Christeli: 8.8/10
Ikea: 7.5/10

Price:
Christeli: $499-$4,798
Ikea: $89-$1199

Christeli:
Get Yours Now

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Christeli's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses have above average customer satisfaction scores. This means that most customers give this brand positive reviews, but there are some caveats. Some sleepers didn't enjoy the feel of their mattress. Read on to learn if these mattresses will work for you specifically!

Christeli's Supportiveness

Most customers find these mattresses supportive, which means the support layers of the mattress help align the spine and work together with the softer comfort layers above. That said, there are a few customers that have complaints, so make sure to make sure that the materials align with your body type and sleeping position.

Edge Support
Overall, these mattresses are described as having good edge support, which means most don't experience a noticeable depression when rolling towards the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In testing to see the even density and firmness of the mattress surface, there is good even support throughout. However, some customers have complained about support over the long term, so make sure it works for your body before purchasing.

Christeli's Durability

Finding a mattress that is durable in comfort is essential to buyers. But, with mattress brands focused on beating their competition for profits, it isn't always clear. That said, based on data from customers and materials used, these mattresses, specifically, should provide a nice amount of durability for most -- lasting over 5 year for most. But, some folks who are heavier may find their mattress loses some durability.

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Figuring out the takeaways from customers can be a great eye-opener for shoppers. Customers don't always respond well to these mattresses. Some feel snug and comfortable, but others feel discomfort. There are more details below to study if you are considering buying.

Ikea's Supportiveness

Based on the reviews, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is what you want when you've been sleeping on a sagging mattress from the past few months. However, there are some that have mentioned support and feel issues, so take a look at the firmness and durability ratings to ensure it works for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is a useful indicator of resistance and support along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do a fine job, but some that are heavier may experience some softness.

Ikea's Durability

Unfortunately, these mattresses aren't appreciated as well for their durability. While some folks had good experiences with the performance, others had faster problems than average. If you are considering to buy, take a look at the warranty and return policies beforehand.

Browse Christeli Customer Reviews

Awesome mattress

The best mattress we ever slept on , period. Helps my lower back. The mattress just forms around your body.

View More Reviews

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.