Casper vs Sleep Science

Get The Best August 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Casper

Casper is one of the most interesting trend-setters in the mattress-in-a-box space. They, by and large, shed light on how a brand with great marketing and a popular product can disrupt an industry. Over the years, Casper has updated its products, now having three all-foam mattresses: which The Wave, The Casper, and The Essential. With offerings in every pricepoint, they are continuing their innovative tradition, but can they stay competitive in an industry full of newcomers? Find out...

Sleep Science

Sleep Science builds a line of latex and memory foam mattresses. Their claim to fame is their 'wedge' technology that provides edge support to every piece of the mattress. Additionally, they are Certipur certified, which means they have low VOC and no formaldehyde in their mattresses. They also use bamboo material in some of their mattresses. Their mattresses are made popular through their relationship with Costco warehouse stores where they are sold at a competitive price vs many of the retail sold mattresses of similar material quality.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Casper in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Casper


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Casper: 8.9/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Casper: 8.8/10
Sleep Science: 8.4/10

Price Value:
Casper: 8.6/10
Sleep Science: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Casper: 8.8/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Price:
Casper: $350-$2250
Sleep Science: $399-2499

Casper:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Science:
Get Yours Now

Casper's Owner Satisfaction

Customer satisfaction isn't all that simple to figure out for the average shopper, especially with brands managing their online reputation closely. That said, customers give these mattresses good marks overall. However, there were some sleepers that didn't like the feel. so take a look at the research below to make sure one of these mattresses will work for you!

Casper's Supportiveness

Mattress support is the secret for keeping things comfy at night and in the morning. These mattresses provide an above average amount of support for sleepers. It is important for those that have restless night sleeps from achy backs. Most customers describe these mattresses as providing good support in the short term.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of supportiveness there is on the edges against the center section of the mattress. These mattresses provide solid edge support overall, but some may experience a slight contouring if they put too much pressure on the edge.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By performing a bowling ball test, one can quickly figure out mattress firmness. It also is good for those that want to discover if a mattress has even support or if there are peaks and valleys in a mattress. Overall, these mattresses provide good even support initially.

Casper's Durability

We all want a mattress that lasts for a long time, but due to new companies and products, it can be hard for shoppers to find out the truth. That being said, reviewers and customers respond similarly when you can see all of the reviews. These mattresses do a good job with durability for the average customer. For those that are very active or of heavier builds, these mattresses may be somewhat less durable.

Sleep Science's Owner Satisfaction

Making sense of owner satisfaction will help you target the right mattresses for you. Overall, these mattresses get mixed reviews from customers. Some reviewers found them to be exactly what they were hoping for, but others had issues with the comfort. Research more below to learn what customers say and how one of these mattresses will react to your body.

Sleep Science's Supportiveness

Most folks describe these mattresses as doing a good job supporthing their bodies, but others had issues with feel over the long term. For those that have larger body types or wide hips or shoulders, make sure to read all of the reviews and specifications as you'll want to make sure that your body is perfectly aligned.

Edge Support
For those that want to be able to sit on the side of their mattress in the morning, most folks will be comfortable with the support from these mattresses. That said, some have reported issues over the long term so make sure to review more if you have mobility issues.

Sleep Science's Durability

Durable mattresses will last between 7 and 12 years based on the materials that are in the mattress. Foam mattresses are not as durable, but mattresses with high quality coils tend to last longer. However, mattresses of any kind that don't offer good durability will start sagging quicker especially for larger sleepers. These mattresses get mixed reviews from sleepers. Some feel they've found lasting good sleep, while others have problems.

Browse Casper Customer Reviews

Sanity Saved! - Sandy T

My husband and I both have serious bone and muscular issues. Mine from years of being in the Army and my husband from being run over by a truck two years ago. So, we have been on a quest for better sleep for quite some time. No matter how much money we spent on mattresses; we still woke up stiff and distorted in pain. I kept hearing Glen Beck talking about the Casper mattresses so, I finally ordered one even though we had doubts it could be that much difference. We were just accepting the fact that pain was our present and future. The price was much less than expected and the ordering process was simple and effortless. The mattress and foundation arrived in only a few days, much faster than anticipated. Putting the foundation together took no time at all; then we opened the mattress box and watched in curiosity as it expanded to fit the frame. That night, as we got in bed, we were unsure because it felt so different. Seven hours later (longer by far than either of us had slept in years), I woke up first and as I prepared to ready myself for the struggle of moving stiff, painful joints, I realized, for the first time in more than ten years, there was ZERO pain!! My husband had the same experience! So, thank you, Casper, for being the reason we have a new lease on life...pain free mornings and deep, restful sleep through the night. We are in awe and we bow to your genius. Brava!!!

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Science Customer Reviews

NEEDS GOOD FOUNDATION - dont use bunky board!

We bought this mattress over a year ago...had no idea that they sold a separate foundation. Spent months replacing the bunky board we got from Crate and Barrell 2 times and dealing with back pain, even called the mattress mfr. The mattress mfr said they recommend their foundation instead of bunky board. Ordering it today, hopefully it will take care of the problem but paying $50 more than if I bought them together from the start. They need to update the description and recommend the foundation if they don't buy it separately OR don't even sell the mattress alone. Description said it needs a 'solid' foundation...what does that even mean? I had a hard time trying to find a bunky board that is solid wood from many retailers. Crate and Barrel's new bunky board is made of compressed cardboard! A painful process, but I like the mattress.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.