Casper vs Shifman

Get The Best November 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Casper

Casper is one of the most interesting trend-setters in the mattress-in-a-box space. They, by and large, shed light on how a brand with great marketing and a popular product can disrupt an industry. Over the years, Casper has updated its products, now having three all-foam mattresses: which The Wave, The Casper, and The Essential. With offerings in every pricepoint, they are continuing their innovative tradition, but can they stay competitive in an industry full of newcomers? Find out...

Shifman

Shifman is a handmade luxury mattress brand that has been around since the last 1800s and has a legacy of elegant design and is found in mattress retailers and at Bloomingdales. Their mattresses are very high priced, usually well over $5,000 to start. Though they are a status symbol for some and boast hand craftsmanship, there are those that find that they provide a bad value for the materials used.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Casper in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Casper


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Casper: 8.9/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Casper: 8.8/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Casper: 8.6/10
Shifman: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Casper: 8.8/10
Shifman: 7.4/10

Price:
Casper: $350-$2250
Shifman: $2,598-$29,783

Casper:
Get Yours Now

Shifman:
Get Yours Now

Casper's Owner Satisfaction

Reading customer reviews is a great way to create a pinpointed list of mattresses. Customers report being very satisfied with these mattresses, but there were a few folks that complained. Below is a list of customer reviews and specifics on the feel of these mattresses -- learn more to see if one of these works for you!

Casper's Supportiveness

Mattress support is extremely important to a good night sleep. Overall, these mattresses are above average in terms of supporting sleepers. This is important if you have back problems or need something that will keep the spine aligned properly. Most customers describe these mattresses as providing a good level of support initially.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of supportiveness there is on the edges against the center section of the mattress. These mattresses are well rated on their edge support, but some may experience a slight contouring if they put too much pressure on the edge.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By performing a bowling ball test, one can quickly figure out mattress firmness. It is also a great test for measuring evenness of support across the surface. Overall, these mattresses should provide an even supportive feel.

Casper's Durability

Finding a mattress that is durable is critical to mattress shoppers. However, with mattress brands aiming for higher profits, it is not always an easy attribute to find. That said, based on data from customers and materials used, these mattresses are rated well for durability and should give sleepers over 5 years of comfort for most. But, those that are heavier may find them to be less durable.

Shifman's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are comfortable with their new beds, but others were not as satisfied with how the mattress made them feel. Even though there are those that like these mattresses, overall they have lower customer satisfaction than average. Research on below for more specifics on whether this mattress will work for you.

Shifman's Supportiveness

These mattresses may not offer the kind of lasting support that most customers expect. Though some enjoy the quality of these mattresses, if you are larger or have wide hips or shoulders, review the mattress specifications before purchasing.

Edge Support
For those that are excited about getting good edge support, some reviewers report that these mattresses may not have the kind of edge support over the long term that you may need.

Shifman's Durability

Sadly, some customers don't love these mattresses for their durability. While some folks had good experiences with the performance, others describe having issues faster than average. If you are thinking about buying, read up on the return and warranty policies beforehand.

Browse Casper Customer Reviews

Sanity Saved! - Sandy T

My husband and I both have serious bone and muscular issues. Mine from years of being in the Army and my husband from being run over by a truck two years ago. So, we have been on a quest for better sleep for quite some time. No matter how much money we spent on mattresses; we still woke up stiff and distorted in pain. I kept hearing Glen Beck talking about the Casper mattresses so, I finally ordered one even though we had doubts it could be that much difference. We were just accepting the fact that pain was our present and future. The price was much less than expected and the ordering process was simple and effortless. The mattress and foundation arrived in only a few days, much faster than anticipated. Putting the foundation together took no time at all; then we opened the mattress box and watched in curiosity as it expanded to fit the frame. That night, as we got in bed, we were unsure because it felt so different. Seven hours later (longer by far than either of us had slept in years), I woke up first and as I prepared to ready myself for the struggle of moving stiff, painful joints, I realized, for the first time in more than ten years, there was ZERO pain!! My husband had the same experience! So, thank you, Casper, for being the reason we have a new lease on life...pain free mornings and deep, restful sleep through the night. We are in awe and we bow to your genius. Brava!!!

View More Reviews

Browse Shifman Customer Reviews

I bought my first Shifman Mattress...

I bought my first Shifman Mattress in Bloomdales in 2001. It lasted me over ten years and was only tossed out due to the impossibility of getting such a heavy, well-made mattress down my third floor tenement stairs. I switched brands to my regret and have never gotten the good night's sleep I had with my Shifman. I can't even turn the mattress over because it is a one-sided mattress, something I was unaware of. When this one bites the dust, I'm returning to Shifman. It is a costly product and worth every cent.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.