Get The Best October 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Casper vs. Novaform

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Casper

Casper is one of the most interesting trend-setters in the mattress-in-a-box space. They, by and large, shed light on how a brand with great marketing and a popular product can disrupt an industry. Over the years, Casper has updated its products, now having four different mattresses: The Wave Hybrid, The Original, The Element, and The Nova Hybrid. With offerings in every pricepoint, they are continuing their innovative tradition with optional upgrades like Snow Technology, but can they stay competitive in an industry full of newcomers? Find out...

Novaform

Novaform mattresses are well known for being sold in Costco warehouse locations. Owned by memory foam developer and manufacturer Innocor, nearly all of the mattresses sold by Novaform are memory foam mattresses. The exception is with their latest Nue by Novaform collection, which includes their first and only hybrid mattress offering. With a variety of mattresses in different thickness options, Novaform gets some good initial feedback from customers overall. Still, there are some reported issues with heat retention, firmness, and initial comfort in some cases. Read on below to see if one of these mattresses might work for you!

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Casper in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Casper


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Casper: 8.9/10
Novaform: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Casper: 8.8/10
Novaform: 7.7/10

Price Value:
Casper: 8.6/10
Novaform: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Casper: 8.8/10
Novaform: 8.4/10

Price:
Casper: $395-$3595
Novaform: $399-1999

Casper:
Get Yours Now

Novaform:
Get Yours Now

Casper's Owner Satisfaction

Casper is one of the most popular mattress brands, and has innovated over the years. In addition to their well-rated all-foam mattresses, they have added hybrid options with pocketed coil support systems, including their Wave and Nova Hybrid mattresses. With most customers reviewing their mattresses highly, some folks didn't have the same feeling. Most of the disagreements were related to folks having issues with firmness and support, with reviewers leaving negative feedback describing their mattresses not having enough back support.

Casper also sells a Costco exclusive mattress, which offers a different design than what they sell in-stores and direct online. The Costco Casper mattress has some mixed reviews with some complaints about odor and firmness. If you are looking for quality comfort, take a look at our list of top rated mattresses which provide competitive alternatives.

Casper's Supportiveness

With both coil systems and foam options, customers report that these mattresses are good at offering support overall and spine alignment. Some features that focus on back support include zoned foam that is softer around the hips and shoulders and firmer to support the middle spine. Though there are a few folks that don't like the firmness of these mattresses, most folks like the amount of support these mattresses provide to them.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that have mobility concerns or roll towards the edge of the mattress at night. Most describe even support across the edge of the mattress. Those that found their mattresses softer than expected also were likely to mention softness around the sides.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Many mattress reviewers and bloggers use bowling balls to measure firmness and support. Customers report less partner disturbance with these mattresses.

Casper's Durability

Having a mattress that lasts is important to all of us, but some brands focus more on shipping product than they do on longevity. Luckily, these mattresses are above average when it comes to durability and quality. Most customers are happy with their mattress after 5 years, but some heavier folks may find that it breaks down faster for them.

Novaform's Owner Satisfaction

Novaform is a popular all-foam brand that is sold at Costco. These mattresses have mixed reviews from customers when it comes to initial comfort and durability. There are still those that love them, but many others have complaints, usually mentioning heat retention and firmness. If you are looking for mattresses that focus on long term comfort, take a look at our list of top rated mattresses for strong alternatives.

Novaform's Supportiveness

Some customers describe feeling good support in these mattresses, but some others have complained about loss of support. For those that are of larger body types or require more support for health reasons, take a look at the reviews to make sure the purchase fits you.

Edge Support
There are some mixed reports about edge support for these mattresses. Some feel positive about the mattress supportiveness across the surface, but others had issues with lumpiness as time goes on.

Novaform's Durability

Everyone wants to find a mattress that will last over a decade. It's frustrating when a new mattress causes discomfort and begins to break down after only a short time. However, it is much more difficult to find a durable mattress nowadays than in years past. With more types of products than ever before, some brands aren't investing as much in quality. With these mattresses specifically, some sleepers report problems with lasting comfort. Durability issues don't happen to everyone, but make sure to read more about the warranty and the return policies.

Browse Casper Customer Reviews

Sanity Saved! - Sandy T

My husband and I both have serious bone and muscular issues. Mine from years of being in the Army and my husband from being run over by a truck two years ago. So, we have been on a quest for better sleep for quite some time. No matter how much money we spent on mattresses; we still woke up stiff and distorted in pain. I kept hearing Glen Beck talking about the Casper mattresses so, I finally ordered one even though we had doubts it could be that much difference. We were just accepting the fact that pain was our present and future. The price was much less than expected and the ordering process was simple and effortless. The mattress and foundation arrived in only a few days, much faster than anticipated. Putting the foundation together took no time at all; then we opened the mattress box and watched in curiosity as it expanded to fit the frame. That night, as we got in bed, we were unsure because it felt so different. Seven hours later (longer by far than either of us had slept in years), I woke up first and as I prepared to ready myself for the struggle of moving stiff, painful joints, I realized, for the first time in more than ten years, there was ZERO pain!! My husband had the same experience! So, thank you, Casper, for being the reason we have a new lease on life...pain free mornings and deep, restful sleep through the night. We are in awe and we bow to your genius. Brava!!!

View More Reviews

Browse Novaform Customer Reviews

Good if willing to put a few extra bucks into it

Pros: Price, shipping, delivery, ease of getting into bed room, highly rated by consumer reports
Cons: Firmness is mislabeled, requires a memory foam topper to be comfortable

I did a lot of research before buying our new mattress. We had never done a memory foam mattress before and thought we would give it a try. We went to a department store and tried out their memory foam beds to make sure we thought we might like it and picked the right firmness.

I have traveled for a job and stayed in nice and bad hotels. I thought I was pretty experienced to differ mattresses and comfort levels. This one is rated medium firmness, I would say it is medium firm to firm. It is much firmer than any mattress I have slept on. I could see how it could be firmer so I won't say it should be rated firm, but it is at minimum medium firm. There is no feeling of memory foam. There is almost no give in the mattress. You expect a memory foam mattress to give to your body a little and you fit into it. This does not happen with this mattress. I was excited to see what the pearl gel memory foam felt like. There is no indication of pearls, gel, or memory foam on the top layer.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Puffy

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.