Casper vs Englander

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Casper

Casper is one of the most interesting trend-setters in the mattress-in-a-box space. They, by and large, shed light on how a brand with great marketing and a popular product can disrupt an industry. Over the years, Casper has updated its products, now having three all-foam mattresses: which The Wave, The Casper, and The Essential. With offerings in every pricepoint, they are continuing their innovative tradition, but can they stay competitive in an industry full of newcomers? Find out...

Englander

Englander is a brand of Southerland mattress and was founded in the 1800s. They focus predominantly on foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses with an eco-friendly flare. They are committed to lower carbon-footprint practices and standards. Overall, they piggyback off of many of Southerland's mattress production facilities across the United States and are predominantly found in Southern and Midwest US mattress retail stores. Their difference is found in their selection of cooling foams and eco-friendly latex.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Casper in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Casper


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Casper: 8.9/10
Englander: 7.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Casper: 8.8/10
Englander: 7/10

Price Value:
Casper: 8.6/10
Englander: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Casper: 8.8/10
Englander: 7.1/10

Price:
Casper: $350-$2250
Englander: $429-$3499

Casper:
Get Yours Now

Englander:
Get Yours Now

Casper's Owner Satisfaction

Most sleepers feel excellent with their mattresses and reviewed them well. Some, however, didn't feel share the same delight. If you are considering buying one of these mattresses, make sure to go over the mattress specifics below so you will know if it will align with your body.

Casper's Supportiveness

Overall, support is important for spine alignment and overall comfort of a mattress over the long term. These mattresses are well regarded for support by most customers, but some may have complaints if they are heavy or have wide shoulders or hips.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important factor for customers shopping for mattresses and for those that need extra time getting in and out of bed. These mattresses are competitive when it comes to edge support, but some who are heavier may experience some decline.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A bowling ball test is a great way to measure mattress firmness and support. These mattresses offer solid support for most customers, but there may be the rare few that don't experience the same evenness described.

Casper's Durability

Durability is one of the most important factors for mattress shoppers, but because of the influx of new companies in the space, it can be hard to shoppers to understand. That said, customers are quite responsive about what they like and what they don't like about many brands. These mattreses have good durability for the average customer. Heavier people may find these mattresses have less longevity.

Englander's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this brand, learn more about the specifics below. They, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers overall. Some customers had positive things to say about their new mattress, but others didn't feel good about the comfort.

Englander's Supportiveness

Support isn't the same as firmness. Support is great if it aligns the spine and leads to a healthy night's sleep. Sadly, some customers don't find these mattresses to have great support. Most folks find the mattress to be supportive at the beginning, but some have had issues with support over the long term.

Edge Support
For those with mobility concerns or like to lay close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses do well with edge support at first, but some may find that it changes over time.

Englander's Durability

These mattresses may not provide the kind of lasting comfort that you want. Some customers have had issues with feel and longevity issues after a short time. If you are larger or are looking for something supportive, these mattresses may comfort you initially, but do a last check on the mattress specifications and return policies before purchasing.

Browse Casper Customer Reviews

Sanity Saved! - Sandy T

My husband and I both have serious bone and muscular issues. Mine from years of being in the Army and my husband from being run over by a truck two years ago. So, we have been on a quest for better sleep for quite some time. No matter how much money we spent on mattresses; we still woke up stiff and distorted in pain. I kept hearing Glen Beck talking about the Casper mattresses so, I finally ordered one even though we had doubts it could be that much difference. We were just accepting the fact that pain was our present and future. The price was much less than expected and the ordering process was simple and effortless. The mattress and foundation arrived in only a few days, much faster than anticipated. Putting the foundation together took no time at all; then we opened the mattress box and watched in curiosity as it expanded to fit the frame. That night, as we got in bed, we were unsure because it felt so different. Seven hours later (longer by far than either of us had slept in years), I woke up first and as I prepared to ready myself for the struggle of moving stiff, painful joints, I realized, for the first time in more than ten years, there was ZERO pain!! My husband had the same experience! So, thank you, Casper, for being the reason we have a new lease on life...pain free mornings and deep, restful sleep through the night. We are in awe and we bow to your genius. Brava!!!

View More Reviews

Browse Englander Customer Reviews

Few months in, started sagging

I bought a latex Englander pillow top bed about 6 years ago, in the store it was super comfortable but after I got it (Queen size) and had it for a few months it started sagging. I only weigh 143 and it shouldn't do that. Within a few years it was awful. When it became horrible, I called them and spoke with the customer service team, I sent pictures and documented how bad it was. The bed I had was discontinued, and they actually replaced it with a top of the line pillow top mattress--it was their best model, and probably about an $1800 mattress. I was thrilled, now 6 months into it--I have to turn the thing constantly to avoid the sagging. It is almost as bad as the other one and I completely hate it. I bought a new bed this week. I really wanted it to work out but these are just not great. I can say their customer service was excellent, but I would never recommend these. They aren't cheap and they are so uncomfortable--I can't imagine 2 people on one that weigh more than me.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.