Casper vs City

Get The Best January 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Casper

Casper is one of the most interesting trend-setters in the mattress-in-a-box space. They, by and large, shed light on how a brand with great marketing and a popular product can disrupt an industry. Over the years, Casper has updated its products, now having three all-foam mattresses: which The Wave, The Casper, and The Essential. With offerings in every pricepoint, they are continuing their innovative tradition, but can they stay competitive in an industry full of newcomers? Find out...

City

City Mattress sells a variety of mattresses, including name brands like Serta and Sealy, and its own proprietary options like RedBed and City Mattress that we review here. City Mattress and RedBed are predominantly innerspring varieties and provide good low budget options. Those that have purchased these brands are generally pleased, but some have had issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Casper in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Casper


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Casper: 8.9/10
City: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Casper: 8.8/10
City: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Casper: 8.6/10
City: 7.2/10

No Back Pain:
Casper: 8.8/10
City: 7.2/10

Price:
Casper: $350-$2250
City: $689-$2299

Casper:
Get Yours Now

City:
Get Yours Now

Casper's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers reviewed these mattresses highly and felt comfortable in their beds. Some customers, though, didn't feel as positively. If you are considering buying one of these mattresses, make sure to read on to make sure it will work for your body.

Casper's Supportiveness

These mattresses do well when it comes to support. Though there are some that don't absolutely love the firmness levels of these mattresses, most customers appreciate the supportiveness of these mattresses.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for folks that need a little extra time sitting on the side of the mattress or like to use the side of their mattress. These mattresses are well rated by most on edge support and they should be able to support most customers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Many mattress reviewers and bloggers use bowling balls to measure firmness and support. These mattresses do a good job with delivering even support throughout the mattress, which means they should work with your body to align the spine properly.

Casper's Durability

Longevity is key to budget-conscious mattress shoppers. But, with mattress brands focused on beating their competition for profits, it isn't always clear. Luckily, with data from customers and material craftsmanship, these mattresses should be good for durability and provide over 5 years of comfort for most. But, some who are heavier in build may find that their mattress degrades somewhat sooner.

City's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper reviews can be hard to understand from a high level -- especially with brands trying at all costs to protect their reputation. Sleepers, sadly, don't always feel comfortable from these mattresses. There are still folks that are content, but others who are really not. Research more below to learn about the specifics of the mattresses.

City's Supportiveness

Support isn't equal to firmness. Good support means that it lines up your back and spine -- leading to a healthier night sleep. Unfortunately, these mattresses have some mixed reception when it comes to support. Most find the mattress to be comfortable at the beginning, but some customers didn't feel supported well over time.

Edge Support
For those that sit on the edge of their mattress in the morning, edge support is very important. For most, these mattresses do a good job with edge support, but some may find that it changes over time.

City's Durability

Customers find that durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We all really want to find a bed that will be comfy a decade or more later. However, these mattresses are not rated well by some reviewers on durability and some have experienced breakdown after only a short time. If you are considering purchasing as your full time mattress, read through the customer reviews and return policies to make sure that you are secure in your purchase.

Browse Casper Customer Reviews

Sanity Saved! - Sandy T

My husband and I both have serious bone and muscular issues. Mine from years of being in the Army and my husband from being run over by a truck two years ago. So, we have been on a quest for better sleep for quite some time. No matter how much money we spent on mattresses; we still woke up stiff and distorted in pain. I kept hearing Glen Beck talking about the Casper mattresses so, I finally ordered one even though we had doubts it could be that much difference. We were just accepting the fact that pain was our present and future. The price was much less than expected and the ordering process was simple and effortless. The mattress and foundation arrived in only a few days, much faster than anticipated. Putting the foundation together took no time at all; then we opened the mattress box and watched in curiosity as it expanded to fit the frame. That night, as we got in bed, we were unsure because it felt so different. Seven hours later (longer by far than either of us had slept in years), I woke up first and as I prepared to ready myself for the struggle of moving stiff, painful joints, I realized, for the first time in more than ten years, there was ZERO pain!! My husband had the same experience! So, thank you, Casper, for being the reason we have a new lease on life...pain free mornings and deep, restful sleep through the night. We are in awe and we bow to your genius. Brava!!!

View More Reviews

Browse City Customer Reviews

I purchased the 'Red'

I purchased the 'Red' mattress a year and a half ago. The guy (can't remember his name, was the Manager) was nice, but I wanted a pillow top and he convinced me I wanted the 'Red.' He assured me it would be better for my fibromyalgia. He also told me that it would feel warm for awhile, but would wear off. The heat is still there, worse with hot flashes and I get lower back pain when sleeping on it. I paid over a thousand dollars for a full, not at all happy with it! Don't be swayed by salesmen! Get what you want, then you only have yourself to blame if you're not satisfied.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.