Brooklyn Bedding vs Ikea

Get an Instant Discount for Brooklyn Bedding Get 20% Off - Ends 3/26

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Brooklyn Bedding

Don't know which brand really makes quality? Well look no further! Brooklyn Bedding is a trend-setter in both the retail and mattress-in-a-box industry. They make all of their mattresses end to end in their own factory. This means much more comfort for a lower cost to you. Can't find the right match? Also, read about their specialty brands: cooling Freya Mattress, ultra-firm Plank Mattress, plus-size friendly Titan Mattress, customizable Rubix Mattress, and ergonomic Zoned Mattress.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Brooklyn Bedding in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Brooklyn Bedding

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Brooklyn Bedding: 9.5/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Brooklyn Bedding: 9.4/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Brooklyn Bedding: 9.5/10
Ikea: 8.9/10

No Back Pain:
Brooklyn Bedding: 9.5/10
Ikea: 7.5/10

Price:
Brooklyn Bedding: $499-$2899
Ikea: $89-$1199

Brooklyn Bedding:
Get 20% Off - Ends 3/26

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Brooklyn Bedding's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses are provided great scores from sleepers versus others, which means when we analyzed current review data from across the net, these mattresses ranked well. This is a solid starting point to discovering if this mattress will work for you -- read on for more information on specifics.

Brooklyn Bedding's Supportiveness

Good mattress support is what you need to wake up feeling good in the morning. You don't want somehthing that will sag or cause your back to warp. Customers report that these mattresses support the spine well.

Edge Support
Edge support is really important for those that like to dangle their feet over the side of the mattress. These mattresses are competitive with their edge support and don't have much support degradation along the edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A fun things for reviewers, the bowling ball test gives a good reading on mattress firmness and evenness of support. If a mattress isn't even in its support, some people may experience discomfor if it doesn't work with their body. Luckily, these mattresses provide solid even support for sleepers.

Brooklyn Bedding's Durability

Mattress shoppers are on the hunt for highly durable mattresses. However, with some brands out there focused on other things than durability, this can be more and more difficult to find. However, even still, these mattresses are rated well for durability. Most sleepers will see them last up to a decade. Those that are bigger or use their mattress more than 8 hours every night may find that their mattress is slightly less durable.

Get an Instant Discount for Brooklyn Bedding:   Get 20% Off - Ends 3/26

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be difficult to get at and even harder to understand -- especially with some companies moderating reviews. These mattresses, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers versus competitors. There are still those that love them, but many others have complaints. Learn more below to understand the specifics.

Ikea's Supportiveness

Mattress support is one of the most important things to stomach and back sleepers. Also, deeper support that keeps the spine aligned with the rest of the body is an essential trait for side sleepers. For most sleepers, these mattresses offer a good amount of support. That being said, some customers didn't feel supported 100% of the time so if you are heavier, make sure to read the reviews.

Edge Support
Most folks like the edge support from these mattresses. Those that are heavier may find some dipping close to the edges.

Ikea's Durability

Mattresses with lasting comfort are amazing, but not always easy to find. These mattresses are not reviewed highly by customers when it comes to durability. That said, some sleepers may discover their mattresses lasts more than a decade, while other mattresses may break down faster. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Browse Brooklyn Bedding Customer Reviews

Wife is sleeping well on

Wife is sleeping well on new mattress.

View More Reviews

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.