Boyd vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Boyd

Boyd Sleep started exclusively as a water bed business, but over the years has grown to include airbeds, memory foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses. Their most popular are their water beds and Night Air mattresses. Most folks like their products, but some had issues with durability.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Boyd in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Boyd: 7.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Boyd: 7.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Boyd: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Boyd: 7.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Boyd: $1330-$4190
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Boyd:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Boyd's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, read more below for added specifics. Sadly, they don't get the best reception from all customers. Some customers had positive things to say about their new mattress, but others didn't feel good about the comfort.

Boyd's Supportiveness

Support isn't exactly the same as firmness. Good support means that it lines up your back and spine -- leading to a healthier night sleep. Overall, these mattresses have some negative reviews when it comes to support. Most find that they provide a good amount of support at the beginning, but some customers described feeling less supported as time went on.

Edge Support
For those that need to sit on the edge of their bed or roll to the side, even edge support is very important. These mattresses do well with edge support at first, but some found it didn't last as well as they would have hoped.

Boyd's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. These mattresses are not rated well for their longevity by reviewers. This means that some mattresses still may last years and years, while other customers may have much faster discomfort. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Finding out how customers really feel is sometimes a difficult task -- especially with brands trying at all costs to protect their reputation. These mattresses, unfortunately, aren't scored as well by customers. There are still sleepers who are perfectly cozy with these products, but others that are not as much. Learn more details about the mattresses below.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Most reviewers describe these mattresses as supportive, but others described some discomfort with their mattress choice. For those that have wider hips and shoulders, make sure to read all of the reviews and specifications as you'll want to ensure that your body and spine are supported well.

Edge Support
For those that like to sit on the side of the mattress, these mattresses will provide comfortable support for most people. However, some had complaints so review more if you need edge support for mobility purposes.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Unfortunately, customers don't always love the durability of these mattresses. While some sleepers reported feeling comfortable, others have experienced quicker issues than average. Make sure to do some extra research on the reviews and specifications before buying.

Browse Boyd Customer Reviews

The 2210-2 Mattress

Half the vertebrae in my back have been compromised to some extent. I've had surgery on my low back and on my neck and I am in constant pain. I had memory foam mattress that worked well for about five years then it no longer worked. I would awaken in terrible pain so I decided to try the night air mattress. There was a short learning curve to find the correct setting for me, once I found it my pain was greatly reduced. I'm very satisfied with the mattress so far. The mattress was easy to assemble after watching the video on you tube.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.