Get The Best Holiday 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Boyd vs. Sleep Number

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Boyd

Boyd Sleep started exclusively as a water bed business, but over the years has grown to include airbeds, memory foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses. Their most popular are their water beds and Night Air mattresses. Most folks like their products, but some had issues with durability.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years, from their firmness number technology and now their smart mattress and anti-snore features. With more smart technology than ever before such as sleep tracking and automatic adjustments of temperature and firmness, most sleepers find the Sleep Number 360 mattresses very interesting. However, durability is a concern for many customers with reports of some components wearing out faster than expected given the high prices.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Sleep Number in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Sleep Number


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Boyd: 7.4/10
Sleep Number: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Boyd: 7.4/10
Sleep Number: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Boyd: 7.3/10
Sleep Number: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Boyd: 7.4/10
Sleep Number: 8.5/10

Price:
Boyd: $1330-$4190
Sleep Number: $699-$11098

Boyd:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Boyd's Owner Satisfaction

Not all sleepers like these mattresses. Some sleepers were unhappy with the comfort, but others were really pleased. Therefore, it is hard to understand if one of these will keep you totally comfortable. Continue looking on below to learn more if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Boyd's Supportiveness

These mattresses don't fit the needs of everyone in terms of support. Though there are some who like the response of these mattresses, others have found these mattresses not to be comfortable. If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, take a look at the specs to make sure it will work for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is a popular measure for those that like to sit on the edge of their mattress. Others aren't as tied to it as a end-all for a good mattress. Overall these mattresses aren't as supportive over the long term so if edge support is important, make sure to do extra research.

Boyd's Durability

These mattresses may not perform as well long term. Some reviewers have had complaints regarding durability and comfort over a short horizon. If you would consider yourself larger or looking for something with lasting support, one of these mattresses may provide initial comfort, but make sure to brush up on the warranty and return policy before buying.

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers are happy with their mattresses, but others are not as happy and have had complaints about comfort. Despite those that are happy with their selection, this brand has lower satisfaction scores than average. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

These mattresses have above average ratings for support, which is ideal for those that are suffering from a sagging mattress right now. That said, there are some that have described a lack of support for them, so make sure that the firmness range is aligned with your body type.

Edge Support
Edge support is the measure of how well the mattress supports weight on the sides. These mattresses do fine overall, but some folks may experience less edge support over time.

Sleep Number's Durability

Durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We all wish our mattress will last a decade or more and still provide us with cozy comfort. Unfortunately, not all sleepers have felt that these mattresses were durable enought for them. If you are thinking about using this mattress nightly, do some research on the reviews and return policy before purchasing.

Browse Boyd Customer Reviews

The 2210-2 Mattress

Half the vertebrae in my back have been compromised to some extent. I've had surgery on my low back and on my neck and I am in constant pain. I had memory foam mattress that worked well for about five years then it no longer worked. I would awaken in terrible pain so I decided to try the night air mattress. There was a short learning curve to find the correct setting for me, once I found it my pain was greatly reduced. I'm very satisfied with the mattress so far. The mattress was easy to assemble after watching the video on you tube.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Puffy

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.