Boyd vs Ethan Allen

Get The Best March 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Boyd

Boyd Sleep started exclusively as a water bed business, but over the years has grown to include airbeds, memory foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses. Their most popular are their water beds and Night Air mattresses. Most folks like their products, but some had issues with durability.

Ethan Allen

Ethan Allen sells their own brand of hybrid and foam mattresses at their retail and online locations. At well over $1,000 for a queen, their prices are only competitive against high end name brands. They have multiple firmness options in their lineup and most customers have described their mattresses as comfortable. Some customers had issues with the durability of some of the mattresses.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Ethan Allen in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Boyd: 7.4/10
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Boyd: 7.4/10
Ethan Allen: 7.7/10

Price Value:
Boyd: 7.3/10
Ethan Allen: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Boyd: 7.4/10
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10

Price:
Boyd: $1330-$4190
Ethan Allen: $599-$8996

Boyd:
Get Yours Now

Ethan Allen:
Get Yours Now

Boyd's Owner Satisfaction

Using customer reviews as a guide can be great for discerning shoppers. Sadly, customers don't always feel comfortable with these mattresses. Some feel cozy and comfortable, but others don't feel that way. If you are contemplating ordering, see below for more specifics that may be helpful.

Boyd's Supportiveness

A mattress with good support doesn't mean that it is necessarily firm. Great support is when a mattress cradles the hips and shoulders to align the spine. Overall, these mattresses have some negative reviews when it comes to support. Most folks are comfortable with the support right after purchase, but some felt like they weren't supported as time went on.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on the side of their beds, edge support is key. For most, these mattresses do a good job with edge support, but some found it didn't last as well as they would have hoped.

Boyd's Durability

Customers find that durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We are all hopeful to find a mattress that would be just as comfortable day one as it is 10 years from now. However, these mattresses are not rated well by some reviewers on durability and some have experienced breakdown after only a short time. If you are considering buying for nightly use, read the reviews to make sure it will work with your body before buying.

Ethan Allen's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were completely satisfied with their new mattress, but others had issues with the feel. Despite those that are completely satisfied, this brand has lower sleeper satisfaction scores than the average. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

Ethan Allen's Supportiveness

These mattresses may not be the best in terms of support. Though some sleepers find these mattresses to be comfortable, others have had issues with spine alignment. If you are considering these mattresess, make sure to take a look further before buying.

Edge Support
Edge support is essential to those that like to lay close to the edge of the mattress. However, others don't really mind as long as they are comfortable sleeping. Some folks feel strongly about support issues so make sure to do added reading if edge support is an important item for you.

Ethan Allen's Durability

These mattresses may not provide the kind of lasting comfort that you want. Some customers have had issues with feel and longevity issues after a short time. If you are searching for a mattress with lasting support and are of a heavier build, these mattresses may comfort you initially, but take a look at the reviews before buying.

Browse Boyd Customer Reviews

The 2210-2 Mattress

Half the vertebrae in my back have been compromised to some extent. I've had surgery on my low back and on my neck and I am in constant pain. I had memory foam mattress that worked well for about five years then it no longer worked. I would awaken in terrible pain so I decided to try the night air mattress. There was a short learning curve to find the correct setting for me, once I found it my pain was greatly reduced. I'm very satisfied with the mattress so far. The mattress was easy to assemble after watching the video on you tube.

View More Reviews

Browse Ethan Allen Customer Reviews

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress. After much research, I selected a bed offered by Ethan Allen and was willing to drive a long distance to purchase it. When the bed arrived at the local warehouse, I was told there would be approximately 7-10 days for delivery to my home. My back ache and sleep were worsening so I called the store and asked if there was any way to expedite the delivery; I didn't expect this special service but tried anyway. To my surprise, the store manager cut some red tape and had my bed delivered in two days. The bed is great, sleep is great, back ache gone. Thank you, Ethan Allen.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.