Bowles vs Lucid

Get The Best May 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bowles

Bowles makes a variety of low to mid-price mattresses for sleepers in the Indiana, Kentucky, and Southern Ohio region. They sell at local mattress retailers and are known for their affordability versus name brand options. They have a variety of types including innerspring, foam, and hybrid varieties. Most folks are comfortable in their Bowles mattress, but some reviewers report issues with durability in some cases.

Lucid

Lucid mattresses have been selling mattresses online for the last seven years and they have a wide variety of gel memory foam, hybrid, and latex mattresses -- including a super thick 16 inch mattress. They offer a wide variety of mattress options that are low cost, which is preferred for budget-conscious shoppers. However, there are customers that have experienced some issues with sagging and durability over a shorter period than average, so these mattresses may be best only for temporary solutions.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bowles in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bowles: 7.6/10
Lucid: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bowles: 7.5/10
Lucid: 6.9/10

Price Value:
Bowles: 7.7/10
Lucid: 7.3/10

No Back Pain:
Bowles: 7.6/10
Lucid: 8.1/10

Price:
Bowles: $300-$2300
Lucid: $375-$1000

Bowles:
Get Yours Now

Lucid:
Get Yours Now

Bowles's Owner Satisfaction

Not everyone feels positive about these mattresses. Some sleepers are happy with the feel, but others have had issues. One of these may work for you, but it makes it difficult to figure out. Take a look below to learn more about the specifics and to see if the mattress will work for you.

Bowles's Supportiveness

These mattresses don't fit the needs of everyone in terms of support. Though some folks like the feel of these mattresses, others don't like how they work with their body. If you are considering these mattresess, make sure to take a look further before buying.

Edge Support
Edge support is a popular measure for those that like to sit on the edge of their mattress. Other customers don't find it to be a major sticking point for them. These mattresses may not offer the kind of edge support that lasts so make sure to do added research if it is important to you.

Bowles's Durability

These mattresses may not be as durable over the long term as you'd expect. Some sleepers describe issues with durability and comfort over a shorter than average timeline. If you are shopping for a mattress with lasting support but are also are larger than average person, these mattresses may provide good comfort initially, but make sure to brush up on the warranty and return policy before buying.

Lucid's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this brand, learn more about the specifics below. Sadly, not all customers review them well overall. Some folks were very comfy in their new beds, but others reported discomfort with the feel.

Lucid's Supportiveness

Some customers have been satisfied with the supportiveness of these mattresses, but others have had problems with the support. For those that already have aches and pains, do some added reading to make sure the mattress you buy fits you.

Edge Support
There are some mixed reports about edge support for these mattresses. Some reviewers feel good about the support equalibrium across the mattress, but others had problems with dipping along the sides.

Lucid's Durability

Unfortunately, customers don't always love the durability of these mattresses. While some customers found them to be comfortable, others describe feeling issues and discomfort of a short time. Make sure to take a look at the specifications, warranty, and reviews before buying.

Browse Bowles Customer Reviews

Our new SPECIALLY made Bowles Mattress...

Our new SPECIALLY made Bowles Mattress was delivered to us last night from Spalding Mattress in Mt. Washington KY. I am BEYOND pleased. I chose the 'plush medium' style which means it is not too firm and not too soft. It is a pillow top mattress. Usually with a new mattress it doesn't feel nice right away..THIS ONE DOES. I LOVE IT. I slept like a dream on a cloud. My back didn't hurt me this morning as it usually does. I found out about Bowles Mattress from our stay at The Market Street Inn. I highly recommend that if you need a new Mattress or if you just WANT a new mattress Please do check out the line of Bowles Mattresses that are available. FIVE STARS!

View More Reviews

Browse Lucid Customer Reviews

Fantastic delivery.

Fantastic delivery.....the mattress arrived in two days. We laid the mattress out on the platform for the bed and patiently waited the 48 hours for the mattress to expand. This 10'' mattress expanded to 9 1/4'' on one side and 9 5/8'' on the other side which, although is less than a 1/2'' differential, means that the mattress is not level. This also means that the mattress does not fill up its cover, which is intended for the full 10''. I scoured foam mattress websites and this mattress was advertised to be 'medium firm' and is the firmest mattress Lucid offers. Unfortunately, the mattress really isn't all that firm at all. It's a fine mattress if you don't mind the baggy cover and a spongy mattress.

We have a double mattress made by Dormia, which is firm and we like. We were trying to find that mattress again, but couldn't seem to find it. After reading all the product literature we could find, we thought this was the right mattress.

I'm trying to return it, but, of course, this mattress that expands after the box is opened will not fit in the box it arrived in. I'm having difficulty returning it because it needs to be returned in the box it came in.....

On the other hand.... I finally was able to return the mattress (which was no easy task packaging, etc, and we had to bundle it and wrap it in plastic) and Amazon was great and timely in issuing a refund.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.