Bowles vs Ikea

Get The Best February 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bowles

Bowles makes a variety of low to mid-price mattresses for sleepers in the Indiana, Kentucky, and Southern Ohio region. They sell at local mattress retailers and are known for their affordability versus name brand options. They have a variety of types including innerspring, foam, and hybrid varieties. Most folks are comfortable in their Bowles mattress, but others had issues with durability issues.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bowles in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bowles: 7.6/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bowles: 7.5/10
Ikea: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Bowles: 7.7/10
Ikea: 8.9/10

No Back Pain:
Bowles: 7.6/10
Ikea: 7.5/10

Price:
Bowles: $300-$2300
Ikea: $89-$1199

Bowles:
Get Yours Now

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Bowles's Owner Satisfaction

Finding out how customers really feel is sometimes a difficult task -- especially with companies coming in and out of the market quickly. Customers, sadly, don't give these mattresses as high reception as others in the industry. There are still customers that are very satisfied, but many others who are not. Get more details on the specifics and hear from customers below.

Bowles's Supportiveness

These mattresses may not be the best in terms of support. Though some sleepers find these mattresses to be comfortable, some have found these mattresses to be disagreeable with their body. If you are looking at this brand, make sure to do additional research on how it will work for your body type before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is always important to those that like to sit close to the edge of the mattress Others don't really feel its that big of a deal as long as they are comfy sleeping. Some folks feel strongly about support issues so make sure to do added reading if edge support is an important item for you.

Bowles's Durability

Finding a mattress with long lasting comfort is awesome, but difficult. Unfortunately, these mattresses are not well rated when it comes to durability. This means that some mattresses still may last years and years, while other mattresses may break down faster. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Getting to the bottom of customer reviews can be a relief when digging through all the noise when shopping for a mattress. Customers, unfortunately, don't always enjoy these mattresses. Some have comfortable experiences, but others have issues. If you are considering purchasing, make sure to get more information below.

Ikea's Supportiveness

Mattress support is one of the most important things to stomach and back sleepers. Also, deeper support can be a make or break for side sleepers who need response but are at risk for back problems. For most reviewers, these mattresses provide a good amount of support. However, others had issues with the support so if you have a heavier body type, make sure your choice aligns with your body.

Edge Support
Most folks like the edge support from these mattresses. Some, however, had some complaints about the support.

Ikea's Durability

Getting a mattress which has lasting comfort is what buyers are after. We all are hopeful our mattress will last a decade or more and stay just as cozy as day one. Unfortunately, not all folks have had good things to say about these mattresses in regards to durability. If you are considering buying for your main mattress, read over the reviews, warranty, and return policies to make sure that you are safe in your purchase.

Browse Bowles Customer Reviews

Our new SPECIALLY made Bowles Mattress...

Our new SPECIALLY made Bowles Mattress was delivered to us last night from Spalding Mattress in Mt. Washington KY. I am BEYOND pleased. I chose the 'plush medium' style which means it is not too firm and not too soft. It is a pillow top mattress. Usually with a new mattress it doesn't feel nice right away..THIS ONE DOES. I LOVE IT. I slept like a dream on a cloud. My back didn't hurt me this morning as it usually does. I found out about Bowles Mattress from our stay at The Market Street Inn. I highly recommend that if you need a new Mattress or if you just WANT a new mattress Please do check out the line of Bowles Mattresses that are available. FIVE STARS!

View More Reviews

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.