Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get The Best Memorial Day Mattress Deals!
Unlock Today's Coupons

Bobs Bobopedic vs. Purple

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bobs Bobopedic

Bob's Discount Furniture has been a popular furniture mainstay in the northeastern and midwestern U.S. His Bobopedic brand was made famous by the Bob's television commercials over the 20 years and offers memory foam, hybrid, and latex mattresses. These mattresses have competitive price points for the materials used, but there are some that found the initial feel and durability disagreeable.

Purple

Popular mattress-in-a-box company, Purple®, has taken the industry by storm with their responsive, purple colored polymer. The Purple Gel Grid used in their mattresses features air channels to keep things cool while providing a supportive cradling feel. With 13 mattresses to choose from, they run a bit softer than memory foam mattresses, being well-suited for side sleepers. Some folks love the feel of these mattresses, though there are others that prefer a more traditional feel.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Purple in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Purple

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bobs Bobopedic: 7.1/10
Purple: 9.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bobs Bobopedic: 7/10
Purple: 9/10

Price Value:
Bobs Bobopedic: 7/10
Purple: 9.1/10

No Back Pain:
Bobs Bobopedic: 7.1/10
Purple: 9/10

Price:
Bobs Bobopedic: $100-$2099
Purple: $599-$5198

Bobs Bobopedic:
Get Yours Now

Purple:
Get Yours Now


Bobs Bobopedic's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Despite those that are happy with their selection, this brand has lower satisfaction scores than average. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.


Bobs Bobopedic's Supportiveness

There are some customers that don't feel that these mattresses do well supporting them. Though many enjoy the comfort of these mattresses, if you have wide hips and shoulders, take a look at the mattress specs before buying.

Edge Support
For those that are excited about getting good edge support, some report that these mattresses don't have the best edge support.


Bobs Bobopedic's Durability

Mattresses with lasting comfort are amazing, but not always easy to find. Sadly, customers are not always pleased with the durability of these mattresses. That said, some customers may find their mattress lasts longer than average, while other sleepers may find their mattress falters quickly. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Purple's Owner Satisfaction

With reputation management, finding out customer satisfaction isn't terribly easy for the average shopper. That said, customers give these mattresses good marks overall. But, there were some sleepers that disagreed with the feel. so research more below to consider your body type with the mattress specifications!


Purple's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is key to having a good night sleep. These mattresses provide a supportive sleeping surface -- above average in the industry. This is important if you have been struggling with lack of support. Most folks report that these mattresses are supportive initially.

Edge Support
Edge support is the measure of how much support there is along the sides of the mattress. Customers report that these mattresses have good edge support overall, but some folks may notice more sinking along the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is good at measuring mattress firmness. It is also a great test to see if there is evenness in support or if there are peaks and valleys. Overall, these mattresses should work with your body and offer an even support feel.


Purple's Durability

It's difficult to find products that last a long time these days. Brands, by and large, hunt for short-term profits rather than building products that last. However, there are still great products to be found. These mattresses, for example, do a great job with quality and durability. Most will find them last 7 - 12 years, though some who are of bigger builds may experience that they will degrade a bit faster.

Browse Bobs Bobopedic Customer Reviews

Not a good experience
I would not recommend Bob's to anyone! I was scheduled to have a delivery of my mattress and bed frame this morning. I called off the whole day from work, and emptied out my room to make sure they had plenty of space to build the bed frame. It snowed the night prior so early this morning I made sure my driveway was plowed and sanded. The delivery guys show up and refused to deliver my product because of the 'bad weather conditions' of my driveway. I stated the driveway has been plowed and I even offered to shovel and sand the driveway again so they could finish the delivery. But they refused and left. So I called the manager in hopes of getting my bed & frame to be delivered today and offered to shovel & sand more since apparently that was the issue. They refused to deliver it today & offered another delivery date for 4 days later. I'm very unhappy and will never buy from them again.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Uncomfortable
Not the mattress for me. Started sagging quickly.

Good bed
Was pleased with my purchase from Bob's. Bed feels very comfortable and I like it.

I love my new Bobopedic
I ordered one of these after seeing one of Bob's commercials. I decided to take advantage of their sale and get a Bobopedic ZZZoom bed. I really love it and it is super comfortable.

Decent mattress
I am very happy with my Bobopedic bed. I wish that I could have had this bed 10 years ago. It is a good bed now too and I am very pleased with my purchase.

Bob knows
Bob definitely knows about beds. This is the best bed I've ever felt. I am really impressed by the support and the no back pain.

We purchased our mattress in March 2015...
We purchased our mattress in March 2015. We opened the packaging when we brought it home and immediately smelled a terrible odor. We were told to let it air for a few days and we did, however, a few days turned into weeks. Before our 30 day window was up we called their customer service phone number and was told to open our windows. Well we did not, and as I explained to the customer service rep because we live in Maine and the temperature was 30 degrees. They gave us an extension on our return period, however, they did not agree to refund us or give us a new mattress. Now 11 months later we would like this factory defect to be taken care of. They sent out a technician who smokes and does not have a good sense of smell to come and check out the other. He did not smell anything and now they are refusing to remedy the situation. I would not recommend Bob's Discount Furniture to anyone!

I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress...
I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress for $1500 from Bob's Furniture. Not even 2 years old, it is sinking and destroying my restful night's sleep and causing body aches. I also purchased a sectional that is becoming discoloring on the piece that is not even a seat, but the cup holder section. This company is getting away with murder selling this shoddy furniture. They don't even try to work with you. What can be done about them? I am filing a small claims in court. I don't know what the outcome will be, but I have to do something. I feel like they stole from me and caused me to have body aches that I never had before purchasing this mattress.

I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress...
I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress for $1500 from Bob's Furniture. Not even 2 years old, it is sinking and destroying my restful night's sleep and causing body aches. I also purchased a sectional that is becoming discoloring on the piece that is not even a seat, but the cup holder section. This company is getting away with murder selling this shoddy furniture. They don't even try to work with you. What can be done about them? I am filing a small claims in court. I don't know what the outcome will be, but I have to do something. I feel like they stole from me and caused me to have body aches that I never had before purchasing this mattress.

We purchased our first mattress in 2011...
We purchased our first mattress in 2011. Within months it started to sag badly. Bob's came out, found it to be defective and gave us a credit to pick out another mattress. Second mattress failed within a year. Bob's came out and found it defective as well. We got another store credit and purchased the Bob O Pedic Gel, paying the difference just hoping for a better quality mattress.

Once again within a year we started to feel like we were in a hole and Bob's came out and measured the sag and told us the sag was only a 1/4 inch and needed to be 1 inch sag for the manufacturer to replace it. After talking to a manager explaining we're tired of sleeping on this mattress with a sag he said we had to wait 60 days to have another tech to come out. We waited and he came out, measured it again and it was now 1/2 inch and we were told there was nothing they can do.

This mattress has memory foam. So of course it's hard to 'see' the sag because the mattress just pops back up when you get up. We called again asking for a manager that never called us back. We gave up and now a year later my wife has to pull herself up out of bed by the headboard and has a backache every day, all day long. We called customer care and the tech came out, measured and it's now an inch sag and now they tell us it's got to be an inch and a half!!! You can imagine how angry we are at this point and keep in mind the mattress has a 20 year warranty on it. When you look at our bed you can visually see the mattress sags in the middle and they told me that the tech wrote that there wasn't a defect in the mattress but he had told us something totally different.

We argued the fact with them and the pictures that we're taking and that the tech only took one measurement and that was in the middle of the bed, not even at the end where you can visually see it sag. After arguing with them and not getting anywhere they said they would have Supervisor Dan call us in the morning. Well just like last time nobody called so I called them back. They of course hung up on me and I called back. I wasn't giving up this time. My wife's back is worse and the mattress is only a couple of years old.

Finally after pleading my case that obviously over the past year or so that the sag went from 1/4'' to 1'' sag that there was clearly a defect in the product. Yes I should just go buy a mattress from a different store but we don't have the funds to do so and why should we. They should stand behind their product and warranties. Finally after all that they gave us a credit so we will try this again but future reference to anyone buying a mattress from Bob's... DON'T!!!

My purchase was a pillow top queen euro Mattress...
My purchase was a pillow top queen euro Mattress for $899.99. My customer service experience was out of this world. I am handicapped and in a wheelchair and Bob's Discount store is no place for people in a wheelchair because for one there is no room and second the Representatives (customer) were mostly standing around or walking and ignoring me and my sister as we went in to look at the mattresses. When we went in to look at them it was a tight area and most people don't want to work or help us. We told them we were looking for a new mattress and the women who was lucky to get me was not happy to do it. She treated me bad and kept wanting me to get the same mattress But I wanted the $899.99 that I did get. But she was not going to be happy about it.

The shopping experience was horrible in a whole. I do have to say even though the shopping experience was horrible and I wheeled out of there humiliated and without anything I WON, and got MY $899.00 MATTRESS. OH YEAH. I went above her and went to the PRESIDENT. HE WAS FANTASTIC AND GRANTED ME MY MATTRESS. HE GETS A 10 FOR GREAT.

Twilight
We are thrilled with our new mattress. So far sleeping like a baby and waking up without back pain, heavenly!

Twilight mattress
Exceptional quality at an affordable price! My back no longer hurts, very comfortable. The cooling effect is outstanding.!

Perfect firmness
My husband has a bad back so we need a firm mattress, however I like soft beds. This mattress is perfect for the both of us. It’s firm enough for him and soft enough for me. Right down the middle!

This bed was perfect. I
This bed was perfect. I haven't woke up without a back ache in a long time. It feels great to not have pain in the morning.

Bob-O-Pedic Firm Mattress
So far, very comfortable, never had an adjustable before so we're getting used to it. This replaced a conventional Firm Verlo that was 20 years old. This is different with the memory foam but still, I'm sleeping pretty well.

Works well so far
Works well so far

Great mattress I am now
Great mattress I am now sleeping wonderful!!!

The bed is excellent we
The bed is excellent we enjoyed our first night's rest and would recommend it to anyone

The Best Mattress
I love it , best mattress I have every owned.

Amazing
This mattress is the most comfortable mattress I’ve ever slept on. I recommend anyone with back issues to by this mattress from Bob’s.

Mattress
So far the mattress is good , the service and quality of Bob’s mattresses is great . We recommend them highly

Queen
Nicely delivered, one week into use. Great quality, as advertised. Adjusting to new mattress.

Mattress
I have had a water bed for 25 years. This new mattress is the most comfortable mattress I have slept on in years

Twilight Bob-O-Pedic
The mattress feels good Very firm definitely a lot of padding

Comfortable for both of us!
Plush on my side, firm on his. Perfect!

Very satisfied.
Very satisfied.

Wonderful nights sleep!
Purchased the Twilight firm with Power Bob adjustable base. Excellent delivery, the guys took my old mattress and set everything up for my new bed, including putting the batteries into the remote control. The mattress is wonderful, but the adjustable base is AMAZING! I've slept the entire night through ever since it arrived. I no longer toss and turn all night, waking up multiple times trying to get comfortable. Do yourself a favor... go to Bob's today and get yourself an adjustable bed!

The delivery, set up and
The delivery, set up and overall experience was very good. The mattress is very comfortable. Only issue was they did not take my entire old sat and left half the box spring because they had no room in the truck.

Mattress
Getting used to it.

Love it so far!
I have only had my new mattress for two days, but I’m very happy with it already. I usually have lower back pain during the night and I have not had any since I have been sleeping on this mattress. The delivery team was very professional and quick. The smell people complain about was present but is almost gone after two days. I ordered the plush, which I highly recommend over the firm.

Matress and pillows
The matress and pillows are unbelievable I enjoy sleeping on them. I never had a bed that allows my body to relax like the one I bought

Twilight Queen Mattress
The mattress is very comfortable. We can both move independently in our sleep without disturbing each other. Love it!

Very good
Very good

not bad
well, I did not order a california king.. so that is incorrect. I ordered a king. So far it seems ok, no complaints, the vibration function seems unnecessary,but I do like the zero gravity on occasion.

I really like the mattress,
I really like the mattress, very comfortable. The only downside is that it made my bed higher than I anticipated.

Customer satisfied
Excellent customer service and flawless setup. Thanks Johanna

Best sleep ive had in
Best sleep ive had in a long time

Twilight firm mattress
It’s the best mattress to have. Now I sleep very well, no rolling and turning , I feel refreshed when wake up in the morning.. there’s no crazy scent as people say.. I love my mattress.

very comfortable and soft mattress
Just got this bed, getting used to a soft mattress after having a hard one for years. Time will tell how it holds up to larger womens body. But I have to say I was impress with Bob's delivery notifications and service.

Browse Purple Customer Reviews

Excellent
I read and watched multiple reviews and was a little skeptical about if this mattress would be a good fit for me. I decided to give it a try, and am so happy with my decision. I have only been able to sleep on it a few nights, so I can't speak to long term satisfaction, but just the feel of the mattress is so unique and comfortable. Every time I pass by my bed now, I can't help but flop on it and lay there for a few minutes. If you are on the fence about trying the mattress, I would say go for it for sure. The only disadvantage that I've noticed so far is that it is near impossible to get out of bed in the morning. I was a few minutes late to work the last few mornings because I did not want to leave my bed. When I was reading all the reviews, I heard that purple fluffs up their review page to make their mattress look better. After trying this mattress, I do not believe that is true. I believe that people genuinely love the product and want to share it with other people. I am not typically one to go out of my way to write a review, but this product is incredible so I felt compelled to do so. Obviously everyone is different so you may not have the same experience I have had, but if you are on the fence and looking for a great mattress, give Purple a try.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Ok Experience
It’s been an OK experience. We had a very old mattress so when our Purple mattress arrived and we tested it out the difference was big. The major good thing is that I don’t feel my husband moving and turning around anymore. That’s great! But other than that I can’t really say it’s an “out of this world, amazing mattress”. We were also disappointed cause we bought it just before thanksgiving and we asked them to check if a Black Friday sale was going to take place. No one could inform us anything so we went ahead and bought it with the current sale. We were very disappointed to find out on Thanksgiving Day that the sale at that time was the free Purple Blanket + $100 discount. We called and they couldn’t honor us that so that was a bummer.

Not enough give
I don't know when we purchased this mattress. I think if I were a back sleeper, it might be good, but I sleep on my side. This mattress does not allow enough give at the hips (contrary to pictures showing the spine in perfect alignment). So, my waist is pulled downward causing discomfort and constant shifting and readjusting. I think I slept better on my 20 year old mattress. I actually hope we can return this mattress and get something else. Would hate to have a mattress that we paid hard earned money for and can't stand to sleep on.

Nice Matress
Every morning my wife and I would wake up with back ache's from our old mattress. From asking around my chiropractor said many of his clients had tried the purple mattress and really liked it. We decided to purchase one and it is great. Nice and firm. We sleep much better at night and feel great in the mornings now.

terrible
terrible experience bought purple products some showed up, some didn't and purple customer service sucks they don't reply and have been no help what so ever. terrible experience.

Very Comfy!!!
We have not noticed a difference in back pain just yet but we do notice we don’t want to get out of bed in the morning due to the mattress being so comfy.

Perfect
A gift for my pregnant daughter. She says PERFECT!!!

Does not disappoint
Once I got a few adjustments from my chiropractor and slept on my new purple mattress I haven’t had any back problems since. I’m very satisfied with my results.

SO COMFY
I love this mattress. It is now my favorite place to be. So comfy and cool all night long.

Review
I’m a big fan of everything but the bed. I love the pillow, the sheets, the driving cushion. 10/10 for those. The mattress is terrible. No matter which way I sleep I’m always waking up with lower back pain and I never realized it was the mattress until I started sleeping in hotels and waking up pain free. It’s 1000% the mattress :(

Not all it’s cracked up to be
I am not going to buy purple products again. I got the mattress which was advertised as being long lasting but after a few months it has obviously gotten worn in. It started to feel like crinkled plastic after less than 3 months and I thought about returning it but got lazy about it. We also got the purple mattress cover but the first time the baby wet the bed it went right through the cover. Mattress cover useless. The bed stand commercial shows sumo wrestlers fighting on the platform, but when mine showed up the holes were drilled in the wrong places by about a 1/4” which made it extremely hard to put together and 6 months later the metal bangs from warping and being pushed around by my weight. I spent a lot on this bed and all the great features advertised were hype and lies.

So comfortable
After hauling this heavy thing up two flights of stairs, my back was killing me. I unpacked the mattress, laid down, and within 5 min, my back was feeling great! I have had the Purple mattress now for more than 2 weeks, and I’ve had wonderful sleep and zero back pain. I need a firm mattress for my lower back, but as I’ve gotten older, a traditional firm mattress hurts my shoulders and hips. The Purple supports my back while it forgives my pointy bits. I love it! Can’t recommend it enough!

Still deciding
I am still deciding I fall asleep well but have been waking up with back pain pretty intense not sure if it’s the mattress or what yet

A great night's sleep!
I'd had my old mattress for 15 years, and knew I needed an upgrade. I compared over a dozen different mattresses before going with Purple - the reason I selected Purple was because of its new and unique technology. I'm so glad I went with it - it's so supportive and comfortable. My partner had trouble adjusting (side sleeper), but after about a week, he is well-adjusted and sleeps like a rock! The only issue I had is that the queen-sized mattress is definitely more than 100 lbs, but on the site, it's advertised as being less than 100. It was *extremely* heavy, and difficult to move once it's out of the case, but its level of comfort and support makes up for it all.

Purple review
Slightly firm but the softness feels luxurious

Maybe I need to sleep on the bed 2 more months.
Every morning my back is sore. The pain is about 8 of 10. An hour after I am up and moving around the pain disapates. I think I may need to add 200 lbs of weights during the day, to take some of the firmness out of the mattress.

Best bed purchase ever
I can’t reqlly say more than this bed is amazing. I have had it for two weeks now and sleep better than I ever had before

Amazing bed and customer service!!!
This is my second bed with purple and both times I have been more than pleased. I’ve never slept on a more comfortable bed or dealt with better customer service!!

Sleep like an angel in the clouds
I have multiple back issues including stenosis and bulging discs as well as osteoarthritis. By far the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I look forward to going to bed at night. It is now my haven. From couch potato to purple potato :)

Pretty upsetting.
I wish that I could write a review on the item that was suppose to be here last week but I haven’t received it yet. When I emailed purple they took almost a week to get back to me with a ****** nonsense answer that they ran out of material and would need another 1-3 weeks to make my mattress then they would have it shipped. I’m 8 months pregnant and sleeping on an air mattress because they ran out of material. Don’t ever buy from this company. You will be waiting months to receive your product with no communication from the actual company!!!

Purple rules all!
I love the color purple anyway but this mattress has changed my life! The best sleep I have had in 10 years! I'm getting them for the entire house!

It’s only been a week...
...but so far it’s been great. A mattress is a long term relationship though so what really matters is how I feel after a few months. So far I really do love it, but I was sleeping on garbage before. Trust me, I’ll edit this review later if my opinion changes.

Expectations Exceeded
I had high expectations.... you’ve exceeded them.

Gift
I gifted this to someone, and they gave it the best possible rating !

My dream bed!
Within 2 days of sleeping on this bed my neck and back pain was non-exsistent. I could sleep for 5 hours and wake up refreshed. It's been a month now and I am soo happy with my purchase..

Not Worth The Money
I wanted to support a local Utah company and was so excited to receive this mattress but this was a huge mistake. The quality of this mattress felt like a blow-up mattress that should cost a fraction of the price. For me (skinny guy sleeping on his stomach) it was just uncomfortable and felt weird. To be fair I've heard others say they bought it and like it but for me it was laughable to see what I received for $1200. I also bought the purple mattress protector and it feels like plastic compared to my previous one. Be careful because they won't refund the mattress protectors so I wasted about $70. Buyers beware!

Sleep finally restored!!!
I can’t believe how awesome this bed is! I did lots and lots of research and decided to get the Purple bed and I’m so happy I did! I have never slept better! Super happy with the bed!

Not impressed
First off, the king sized mattress does not fit on our king sized bed frame. It hangs off the foot of the bed and the slats show on the sides. Ridiculous. Never had this issue with any other bed. The waffle pattern feel isn't exactly soft and comfy either. Still we gave it a try to see if we got amazing sleep. It wasn't for us. I thought the returns process would be simple like Casper's. I called and the wait was long so they called back. Then instead of processing the return then and there like Casper did, I had to get an email and submit a return form. And then we'll see how the rest of the process goes. Also note that when you buy the mattress there is usually a free promo item. When you return the mattress, you cannot return the item so you are charged full price. There should be a note when you select the promo item to remind customers of this fact. I would have selected no gift. But I guess by being shady, Purple ensures if you hate the mattress, at least they sold you $130 sheets.

Amazed
Let me start by saying WOW. I have been sleeping on a Nectar mattress for a while. Every morning I would wake up to lower back pain that would go away after 30 minutes. I blamed this on being 51. The first night sleeping on the Purple I woke with no back pain. My wife had back surgery 2 and 1/2 years ago she says this is a game changer. My only regret is not ordering this sooner and not ordering the pillow. PSA the sheets are also amazing.

Hands down the best mattress.
Hands down the best mattress. If Purple contacted me and said I needed to pay $300 more to keep the mattress I would rather pay it than give it up. The best investment and purchase I’ve ever made. My partner says the same thing!!

Great Sleep
I work 2 jobs, about 55 hours a week, and am on my feet 95% of that time. had lots of trouble sleeping thru the night until the Purple mattress came along. in 3 weeks, i have slept amazing. even slept thru my alarm 4 times!

The best mattress i've slept on period
This thing helped me rest on a whole nother level i will definitely buy another one when this one is of age.

Love it
Me and my fiancé absolutely love this mattress. We’ve slept so well since we’ve got it.

Our 2nd Purple Mattress
Loved our Purple mattress so much we decided to allow our guests to experience this great mattress as well.

This is life changing!
This mattress is absolutely life changing! I suffered back pain and haven’t slept well in years! The purple mattres has changed my life. I sleep like a baby and have no back pain at all!

Seriously good sleep
I was definitely skeptical about buying a mattress online, but with the return policy I figured I would try it. Best idea ever! I’m such a light sleeper, and I no longer get woken up when my husband is restless or the cats are jumping all around. Plus, it’s so comfortable!

Mattress is unique, but nice. Trying to do an exchange has been well...trying.
I got the wrong size mattress and while I appreciate their willingness to do an exchange, the process has been liborious. The product itself is quite nice for the price. Thank you.

Fixed all of my sleeping issues!
I’m a prominent side sleeper and was consistently waking up with shoulder and back pain. This new mattress solved those issues the first night I slept on it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Bad
Feel like I'm falling out a bed wake up !with a back ache

10/10 would recommend to friend
This mattress is perfect. My wife and I both used to gravitate toward the center of our old mattress, where it caved in, and wind up fighting about which of us was on the other's side more. This isn't a problem anymore! We like sleeping together again! She even hooked up the TV in the bedroom! We're never leaving this bed. Seriously, it's great. It isn't hot. We can't feel each other move at night, which is good for my wife because I move around more than two pigs fighting under a blanket at night and now I get yelled at a lot less on the whole. Money well spent!