Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get The Best Memorial Day Mattress Deals!
Unlock Today's Coupons

Bobs Bobopedic vs. Eclipse

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bobs Bobopedic

Bob's Discount Furniture has been a popular furniture mainstay in the northeastern and midwestern U.S. His Bobopedic brand was made famous by the Bob's television commercials over the 20 years and offers memory foam, hybrid, and latex mattresses. These mattresses have competitive price points for the materials used, but there are some that found the initial feel and durability disagreeable.

Eclipse

Eclipse offers a variety of pocketed coil mattresses that feature thick layers of memory foam. Since 1905, they have innovated their mattresses and brought them to market at a competitive pricepoint versus many retail offerings. Though customers find their products mostly comfortable at first, there are some customers that reported durability issues.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Eclipse in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Eclipse

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bobs Bobopedic: 7.1/10
Eclipse: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bobs Bobopedic: 7/10
Eclipse: 7.9/10

Price Value:
Bobs Bobopedic: 7/10
Eclipse: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Bobs Bobopedic: 7.1/10
Eclipse: 8.7/10

Price:
Bobs Bobopedic: $100-$2099
Eclipse: $299-1999

Bobs Bobopedic:
Get Yours Now

Eclipse:
Get Yours Now


Bobs Bobopedic's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this brand, learn more about the specifics below. Unfortunately, they get poor ratings from some customers. Some customers were elated by their selection, but others felt let-down overall.


Bobs Bobopedic's Supportiveness

Some customers report that these mattresses are well supported, but others have had problems with the support. For those that are larger in frame or have tender spines, read the reviews to make sure the mattress works with your body.

Edge Support
There are mixed feelings about edge support for these mattresses. Some feel positive about the mattress supportiveness across the surface, but others had problems with sags on the side.


Bobs Bobopedic's Durability

Finding a mattress with long lasting comfort is awesome, but difficult. Sadly, customers are not always pleased with the durability of these mattresses. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other mattresses may only last a couple years. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Eclipse's Owner Satisfaction

Making sense of customer reviews can be a powerful tool for shoppers. Unfortunately, customers don't always have good things to say about these mattresses. Some are content with the feel and comfort level, but others are not so much. If you are pondering buying one, take a look below for more specifics.


Eclipse's Supportiveness

These mattresses may not be the best of the batch in terms of support. Though there are some folks that find comfort and support, others have found these mattresses to disagree with their backs. If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, take a look at the specs to make sure it will work for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is essential to those that like to lay close to the edge of the mattress. Others don't really feel its that big of a deal as long as they are comfy sleeping. Customers have mixed reviews about the supportiveness of these mattresses so make sure to do added reading if it is important for you.


Eclipse's Durability

Unfortunately, these mattresse are not always rated well for durability. While some customers found them to be comfortable, others describe having issues faster than average. Make sure to take a look at the specifications, warranty, and reviews before buying.

Browse Bobs Bobopedic Customer Reviews

Not a good experience
I would not recommend Bob's to anyone! I was scheduled to have a delivery of my mattress and bed frame this morning. I called off the whole day from work, and emptied out my room to make sure they had plenty of space to build the bed frame. It snowed the night prior so early this morning I made sure my driveway was plowed and sanded. The delivery guys show up and refused to deliver my product because of the 'bad weather conditions' of my driveway. I stated the driveway has been plowed and I even offered to shovel and sand the driveway again so they could finish the delivery. But they refused and left. So I called the manager in hopes of getting my bed & frame to be delivered today and offered to shovel & sand more since apparently that was the issue. They refused to deliver it today & offered another delivery date for 4 days later. I'm very unhappy and will never buy from them again.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Uncomfortable
Not the mattress for me. Started sagging quickly.

Good bed
Was pleased with my purchase from Bob's. Bed feels very comfortable and I like it.

I love my new Bobopedic
I ordered one of these after seeing one of Bob's commercials. I decided to take advantage of their sale and get a Bobopedic ZZZoom bed. I really love it and it is super comfortable.

Decent mattress
I am very happy with my Bobopedic bed. I wish that I could have had this bed 10 years ago. It is a good bed now too and I am very pleased with my purchase.

Bob knows
Bob definitely knows about beds. This is the best bed I've ever felt. I am really impressed by the support and the no back pain.

We purchased our mattress in March 2015...
We purchased our mattress in March 2015. We opened the packaging when we brought it home and immediately smelled a terrible odor. We were told to let it air for a few days and we did, however, a few days turned into weeks. Before our 30 day window was up we called their customer service phone number and was told to open our windows. Well we did not, and as I explained to the customer service rep because we live in Maine and the temperature was 30 degrees. They gave us an extension on our return period, however, they did not agree to refund us or give us a new mattress. Now 11 months later we would like this factory defect to be taken care of. They sent out a technician who smokes and does not have a good sense of smell to come and check out the other. He did not smell anything and now they are refusing to remedy the situation. I would not recommend Bob's Discount Furniture to anyone!

I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress...
I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress for $1500 from Bob's Furniture. Not even 2 years old, it is sinking and destroying my restful night's sleep and causing body aches. I also purchased a sectional that is becoming discoloring on the piece that is not even a seat, but the cup holder section. This company is getting away with murder selling this shoddy furniture. They don't even try to work with you. What can be done about them? I am filing a small claims in court. I don't know what the outcome will be, but I have to do something. I feel like they stole from me and caused me to have body aches that I never had before purchasing this mattress.

I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress...
I purchased a Bob-o-Pedic with Gel Mattress mattress for $1500 from Bob's Furniture. Not even 2 years old, it is sinking and destroying my restful night's sleep and causing body aches. I also purchased a sectional that is becoming discoloring on the piece that is not even a seat, but the cup holder section. This company is getting away with murder selling this shoddy furniture. They don't even try to work with you. What can be done about them? I am filing a small claims in court. I don't know what the outcome will be, but I have to do something. I feel like they stole from me and caused me to have body aches that I never had before purchasing this mattress.

We purchased our first mattress in 2011...
We purchased our first mattress in 2011. Within months it started to sag badly. Bob's came out, found it to be defective and gave us a credit to pick out another mattress. Second mattress failed within a year. Bob's came out and found it defective as well. We got another store credit and purchased the Bob O Pedic Gel, paying the difference just hoping for a better quality mattress.

Once again within a year we started to feel like we were in a hole and Bob's came out and measured the sag and told us the sag was only a 1/4 inch and needed to be 1 inch sag for the manufacturer to replace it. After talking to a manager explaining we're tired of sleeping on this mattress with a sag he said we had to wait 60 days to have another tech to come out. We waited and he came out, measured it again and it was now 1/2 inch and we were told there was nothing they can do.

This mattress has memory foam. So of course it's hard to 'see' the sag because the mattress just pops back up when you get up. We called again asking for a manager that never called us back. We gave up and now a year later my wife has to pull herself up out of bed by the headboard and has a backache every day, all day long. We called customer care and the tech came out, measured and it's now an inch sag and now they tell us it's got to be an inch and a half!!! You can imagine how angry we are at this point and keep in mind the mattress has a 20 year warranty on it. When you look at our bed you can visually see the mattress sags in the middle and they told me that the tech wrote that there wasn't a defect in the mattress but he had told us something totally different.

We argued the fact with them and the pictures that we're taking and that the tech only took one measurement and that was in the middle of the bed, not even at the end where you can visually see it sag. After arguing with them and not getting anywhere they said they would have Supervisor Dan call us in the morning. Well just like last time nobody called so I called them back. They of course hung up on me and I called back. I wasn't giving up this time. My wife's back is worse and the mattress is only a couple of years old.

Finally after pleading my case that obviously over the past year or so that the sag went from 1/4'' to 1'' sag that there was clearly a defect in the product. Yes I should just go buy a mattress from a different store but we don't have the funds to do so and why should we. They should stand behind their product and warranties. Finally after all that they gave us a credit so we will try this again but future reference to anyone buying a mattress from Bob's... DON'T!!!

My purchase was a pillow top queen euro Mattress...
My purchase was a pillow top queen euro Mattress for $899.99. My customer service experience was out of this world. I am handicapped and in a wheelchair and Bob's Discount store is no place for people in a wheelchair because for one there is no room and second the Representatives (customer) were mostly standing around or walking and ignoring me and my sister as we went in to look at the mattresses. When we went in to look at them it was a tight area and most people don't want to work or help us. We told them we were looking for a new mattress and the women who was lucky to get me was not happy to do it. She treated me bad and kept wanting me to get the same mattress But I wanted the $899.99 that I did get. But she was not going to be happy about it.

The shopping experience was horrible in a whole. I do have to say even though the shopping experience was horrible and I wheeled out of there humiliated and without anything I WON, and got MY $899.00 MATTRESS. OH YEAH. I went above her and went to the PRESIDENT. HE WAS FANTASTIC AND GRANTED ME MY MATTRESS. HE GETS A 10 FOR GREAT.

Twilight
We are thrilled with our new mattress. So far sleeping like a baby and waking up without back pain, heavenly!

Twilight mattress
Exceptional quality at an affordable price! My back no longer hurts, very comfortable. The cooling effect is outstanding.!

Perfect firmness
My husband has a bad back so we need a firm mattress, however I like soft beds. This mattress is perfect for the both of us. It’s firm enough for him and soft enough for me. Right down the middle!

This bed was perfect. I
This bed was perfect. I haven't woke up without a back ache in a long time. It feels great to not have pain in the morning.

Bob-O-Pedic Firm Mattress
So far, very comfortable, never had an adjustable before so we're getting used to it. This replaced a conventional Firm Verlo that was 20 years old. This is different with the memory foam but still, I'm sleeping pretty well.

Works well so far
Works well so far

Great mattress I am now
Great mattress I am now sleeping wonderful!!!

The bed is excellent we
The bed is excellent we enjoyed our first night's rest and would recommend it to anyone

The Best Mattress
I love it , best mattress I have every owned.

Amazing
This mattress is the most comfortable mattress I’ve ever slept on. I recommend anyone with back issues to by this mattress from Bob’s.

Mattress
So far the mattress is good , the service and quality of Bob’s mattresses is great . We recommend them highly

Queen
Nicely delivered, one week into use. Great quality, as advertised. Adjusting to new mattress.

Mattress
I have had a water bed for 25 years. This new mattress is the most comfortable mattress I have slept on in years

Twilight Bob-O-Pedic
The mattress feels good Very firm definitely a lot of padding

Comfortable for both of us!
Plush on my side, firm on his. Perfect!

Very satisfied.
Very satisfied.

Wonderful nights sleep!
Purchased the Twilight firm with Power Bob adjustable base. Excellent delivery, the guys took my old mattress and set everything up for my new bed, including putting the batteries into the remote control. The mattress is wonderful, but the adjustable base is AMAZING! I've slept the entire night through ever since it arrived. I no longer toss and turn all night, waking up multiple times trying to get comfortable. Do yourself a favor... go to Bob's today and get yourself an adjustable bed!

The delivery, set up and
The delivery, set up and overall experience was very good. The mattress is very comfortable. Only issue was they did not take my entire old sat and left half the box spring because they had no room in the truck.

Mattress
Getting used to it.

Love it so far!
I have only had my new mattress for two days, but I’m very happy with it already. I usually have lower back pain during the night and I have not had any since I have been sleeping on this mattress. The delivery team was very professional and quick. The smell people complain about was present but is almost gone after two days. I ordered the plush, which I highly recommend over the firm.

Matress and pillows
The matress and pillows are unbelievable I enjoy sleeping on them. I never had a bed that allows my body to relax like the one I bought

Twilight Queen Mattress
The mattress is very comfortable. We can both move independently in our sleep without disturbing each other. Love it!

Very good
Very good

not bad
well, I did not order a california king.. so that is incorrect. I ordered a king. So far it seems ok, no complaints, the vibration function seems unnecessary,but I do like the zero gravity on occasion.

I really like the mattress,
I really like the mattress, very comfortable. The only downside is that it made my bed higher than I anticipated.

Customer satisfied
Excellent customer service and flawless setup. Thanks Johanna

Best sleep ive had in
Best sleep ive had in a long time

Twilight firm mattress
It’s the best mattress to have. Now I sleep very well, no rolling and turning , I feel refreshed when wake up in the morning.. there’s no crazy scent as people say.. I love my mattress.

very comfortable and soft mattress
Just got this bed, getting used to a soft mattress after having a hard one for years. Time will tell how it holds up to larger womens body. But I have to say I was impress with Bob's delivery notifications and service.

Browse Eclipse Customer Reviews

No complaints thus far
Me and the wife are sleeping well since we bought one of these. We were happy with the eco-friendly score and the low impact on the environment. It's a pretty decent bed. Not a lot of tossing and turning, but still wake up sometimes in the night. May just be me.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Not a fan
Tried to love this mattress after the salesperson told me it was going to be the best thing I ever sleep on. However, kinda dissapointed because it doesn't feel quite right for me. I am a bit heavier and am a side sleeper so it could just be that the bed doesn't fit me.

Meh
Meh is all I really have to say. Don't hate it, don't love. After seeing more reviews on things people love, I feel like I should have bought something else. But, at least I don't hate it.

Best bed ever
I'm a back sleeper and pretty light -- I definely love my bed. I put on the comfy comforter over it and it immediately welcomes me to it every time I come home from work. It is becoming a part of me and my cat loves it too!

My wife loves it
My wife conviced me to get a new bed for the holidays and so it was our big gift this year. She loves it so I'm happy. For me, it's just okay -- I don't really notice the difference between it and the old IKEA bed that we had that suited me just fine.

Love this bed
The Eclipse gel memory foam mattress is really nice on my back. I sleep through the whole night now and don't have any complaints about anything. Feeling rested.

Great but after 3 months...
Great but after 3 months it seems to have developed a sag where I sleep. It definitely seems like a defect in the foam because I haven't had this for that long. I am definitely going to see if I can work with the seller.

Starting to sag
I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud for the first few months, but now there is a noticeable dent where I sleep. I am starting to rotate the bed after only a couple months!!!

Sleeping happy
Finally sleeping good after buying this mattress. I was sleeping on an old coil mattress that hurt my back over the years and this one is finally putting me at ease. Love it!

Good night sleep
Really pleased with my new Eclipse mattress. No complaints.

Thank you for making my back worse!
If I could survive on 3 hours sleep each night, this mattress would be fine..... BUT I CAN'T!

Very Nice & Comfortable
I have purchased a Ortho Care Mattress which is very nice & comfortable.Main thing is that my father had a problem on his spinal cord after using this product he felt very well...

Value for money
great mattress.very comfortable. Really its a value for money mattress

Defective mattress
Princeton double bed mattress purchased on 08/11/2019 from My Home , Green Park , New Delhi has developed problems . Its springs are making noise while sitting or sleeping or as soon as some pressure is applied on the mattress and springs can be felt thru the foam covering. A very bad experience for a consumer given to believe he is buying the best mattress in the world. Complaint was lodged with the shopkeeper and subsequently Mr Akhtar ( 9818147219) visited on 18/12/2019 and acknowledged the problem saying there is some manufacturing defect but despite 2 weeks of lodging a complaint , no subsequent action has taken place.

Worst experience
Bought orthocare model. The mattress was good initially. But after few months it slacked. Contacted dealer and customer care but they least bothered. Will not recommend anyone to buy.

AVOID THIS OFFICE AT ALL COST
I brought this mattress for my husband because he's recovering from a stroke, and I need something that was going to be good for him. With him being in bed all day on some days. We got the ECLIPSE Platinum Firm Set 5/28/2018 and it was sagging by January of 2019 you slide off the sides. DO NOT BUY THIS MATTRESS EVER!!!!!:( I can reach the warranty office its crazy DON'T DO IT!!!:(

Defective at 3 months
Defective bulging on the side and there was sagging in the middle so very dissappointing . Very surprise $800 and its not good

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE
DO NOT BUY THIS BED!!! unless you like sleeping on rocks I strongly urge you to buy any bed other then this! I’ve had this bed for about 2 weeks now and every morning since I’ve bought it I’ve awoke every morning with excruciating back pain. Feels nothing like the model that was on display. They have it Rated a 4 in softness. Should be a 9 or 10. Complete trash!!! It’s so bad I’ve resorted to sleeping on my 10 year old mattress. DO NOT BUY THIS MATTRESS!!! You’ve been warned