Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get an Instant Discount for Birch Living
Get 20% Off + 2 Free Pillows

Birch Living vs. Tuft And Needle

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Birch Living

Birch Living is an organic mattress brand by Helix, which is one of the most popular mattress in a box companies. After merging with popular mattress company Brooklyn Bedding at the end of 2021, Birch Living mattresses are now made in a Arizona and feature all-natural and organic comfort layers with pocketed coil support systems. With a focus on back support and 'ergonomic pressure relief,' there is a lot to love about these natural mattresses.

Tuft And Needle

Tuft & Needle made a big splash in the mattress industry when it offered one of the lowest cost all-foam mattresses in a box directly to customers, their T&N Original Mattress. Since then, they've elaborated on their initial concept with two more innovative designs: The Mint and The Hybrid, which provide high quality, superbly pressure-relieving offerings. On top of that, the Mint Mattress was recently upgraded to include antimicrobial protection embedded in its cover layer. With their three mattresses and 100,000s of positive reviews, customers have spoken in approval of T&N.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Birch Living in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Birch Living

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Birch Living: 9.3/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Birch Living: 9.3/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.2/10

Price Value:
Birch Living: 9.3/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.1/10

No Back Pain:
Birch Living: 9.3/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.2/10

Price:
Birch Living: $1373-$3123
Tuft And Needle: $645-$1895

Birch Living:
Get 20% Off + 2 Free Pillows

Tuft And Needle:
Get 20% Off Mattresses


Birch Living's Owner Satisfaction

It can be a difficult task understanding which mattresses get higher marks from customers versus others. Customers are very happy with these mattresses overall according to our analysis. Although you may not experience the same excitement after buying, this provides a solid foundation to look into this brand further. Read on!


Birch Living's Supportiveness

Mattress support is the secret to waking up refreshed in the morning. You don't want somehthing that will sag or cause your back to warp. These mattresses do a good job providing support for your body.

Edge Support
For those folks that like to sit or lie close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses offer competitive edge support and prop up sleepers along the side.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A popular test for reviewers, the bowling ball test does a good job showing if a mattress is firm and its evenness of support. If a mattress has lumpy support, some may find the mattress uncomfortable. Luckily, these mattresses offer good support and don't have many problems here.


Birch Living's Durability

These mattresses are very competitive when it comes to durability. Finding a mattress that is works with your body and is durable could mean years of comfortable sleep. while one that quickly falters can mean immediate discomfort. These mattresses will last 7 - 12 years, which is a good lifetime for mattresses today. Those that are heavier than average or use their mattresses more than once a day may experience a slight decrease in durability.

Tuft And Needle's Owner Satisfaction

Looking for a new mattress isn't easy, but finding one that has a good reception from customers is a good starting point in finding out if it is right for you. These mattresses get very high marks for customer satisfaction versus competitors. Take a look at the specifics below to learn if one of these mattresses will work for you.


Tuft And Needle's Supportiveness

Having quality support materials is essential to the comfort of a mattress and whether it helps align the spine. These mattresses offer a good supportive surface to sleep on for most sleepers. This means that you can sleep easy with these mattresses supporting you.

Edge Support
Reviewers describe these mattresses as having good edge support. This means that the sides of the bed should be comfortable to most sleepers and the mattress will provide a comfortable ledge to sleep on.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Dropping a bowling ball on your mattress is a helpful way of testing support. Customers report that these mattresses offer a good consistent surface, which is is a good selling point of this brand.


Tuft And Needle's Durability

Durability is the single most important criteria for buying a new mattress next to initial comfort. In this day and age, mattresses should last between 7 and 12 years with average use to be considered durable. That said, mattress craftsmanship and sleeper body weight can affect durability as well. These mattresses do a great job with durability overall. However, some folks that have heavier bodies may find a slight decrease in longevity.

Browse Birch Living Customer Reviews

great mattress and service
It's only been a few weeks, but I love the mattress so far. I had some questions and customer service was a great resource.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Best purchase!
This our first time ordering a mattress that comes in a box - but we are pleasantly surprised!!

we shall see
to be determined!

natural mattress
I knew I wanted an organic mattress because I get worried about the smell from a lot of the foam beds out there. We stumbled on Birch and wanted to give it a try. So far it's been really good - zero smell. Feel is medium / medium firm.

No-brainer
It's my new favorite thing in my apartment.

Just what we needed
A lot more affordable than some of the other natural mattresses we saw in stores and just as comfortable.

Great customer service
I spoke with an agent who was very helpful. Steered me towards adding the pillwo top to help make the bed more plush.

Yassssssss!
OMG...this mattress is awesome

Best sleep
My girlfriend and I both really like the mattress so far. And I must admit I like the social cause too.

Unclear
I've had back pain for a long time and finding the right mattress has always been a big struggle for me. When the bed is too soft, I get pain in my lower back every monring. When it's too firm, I get pain in my upper back. Feels like a no win situation. I wanted to try the Birch mattress because I hadn't tried a bed with these materials yet. So fa...Read Morer it's been fairly good, but I'm holding on judgmenent for a few more weeks. Read Less

Side sleeper
I like the pressure relief on my shoulders

Dan
We got this mattress to replace our old dingy bed we had for years. It has a good amount of support on my back, and my wife enjoys it as well.

Super plush with the topper
Feels like a mattress you'd find in a fancy hotel with the topper. Really like it so far.

A little firm
It started off a little firm.

It's awesome.
Can I never leave bed again? Like, seriously?

Good so far
Great mattress, but also great company. Love the 1% donation policy. I've been sleeping on the mattress for a few weeks and it has the right amount of bounce, but also plushness.

Enjoyable
I like it so far, but need to give it a bit longer.

No more pain
Just the right amount of support for my back

Great quality
Transparency is key for me - it's not just about the mattress, but also the supply chain. I love that they are Rain Forest Alliance approved.

Support.
It has really good support and sink for a bigger guy like me. Heavy to carry up the stairs.

Love it
Holy wool - this mattress is insanely comfortable. You can really feel the wool as compared to other mattresses I've tried.

Love it!
Very comfy!

Thick enough to relieve nerve
Thick enough to relieve nerve pain in my leg.

Very comfortable
Very comfortable

Not for me
The mattress did not work for me. Thanks for trying.

Comfortable, but a bit firm
Full, disclosure, my prior mattress had a built in pillow top, so that’s what I’m used to. I do like this mattress a lot, but as a relatively small person (about 130 lbs) I don’t sink in as much as I’d like. It does seem to be getting better with time though.

Very happy
Noticeable improvement in my comfort level at night after getting this. Minimal odor which quickly dissipates. Very happy with purchase and would recommend to others.

Super organic!
The mattress did not smell at all when I opened the package! It's comfy, supportive, and breathable. Every time I have friends over I show it off to them and have them lay on it. The responses are always the same. "Wow!"

Best mattress I have tried
This is very comfortable with the added topper. Would buy again

Peaceful Sleep and Peaceful Mind
In these first couple weeks of sleeping on the Birch mattress I am waking up refreshed, not sore and tired as with my old mattress. We feel great about the sourcing and material of the mattress and the ease of the process and glad we purchased from Birch.

Still don't have my mattress on day 19 and they guess maybe sometime a week from now
This is a buy then build model. They have supplier issues. I don't have my mattress, but they DO have my money. when I emailed and DMd them their response is My guess is next week some time? If you don't need a mattress for a month or more and don't mind them taking your money before they give you a product then order away. But don't expect to hear from them or get any updates that are meaningful or useful when you "track" your shipment. Even though they know about their supplier problems they just keep advertising 5-15 days to delivery. I hope this honest review helps the next person.

best mattress ever
I was skeptical after some initial issues with customer service (wrong item sent initially & then delay in the shipment of correct item), but this mattress is incredible. I'm a chronic insomniac and this is the only mattress I've ever slept in that gives me a halfway decent night's sleep. I can't even begin to imagine what this does for folks Read more aboutwithout chronic sleep issues. One thing I want to note is that it is a lot softer than I expected. Maybe for people that are used to sleeping on super soft memory foam it will feel firm, but if you've been sleeping on a pretty firm mattress, this might feel too soft. The wrong item they initially sent was the mattress topper, which made it way too soft for my liking.

Worst Mattress Ever
This will make your back ache and the quality is terrible. My husband weighs 170 pounds and his side of the bed is sagging.; we've owned this bed for 6 months. We spent 1,600 dollars and regret every penny. Trying to get a refund now, but the company is not working with us.

Well this is not my
Well this is not my first natural latex bed, I wasn't that impressed at first I think mainly because of the springs. But that said we continued on with the test, it was cooler temp wise then our previous mattress which was the main reason I wanted to try this mattress. I eventually purchased a additional topper and at least for me that made a big ...Read MoreRead more about review stating Well this is not mydifference so I guess we're going to keep it. Read LessRead less about review stating Well this is not my

Awesome mattress!
My birch mattress is awesome. So incredibly comfortable. My son & his wife were visiting & I let them stay in my bedroom. They commented on their own how incredibly comfortable the birch mattress is. I highly recommend it.

Extremely comfortable, very quiet. The
Extremely comfortable, very quiet. The stronger springs on the edges make for a secure feel. Love it

Mattress is great. It feels
Mattress is great. It feels really good to lie on and is very comfortable. The firmness is perfect for our requirements. The best part is the support at the edges of the mattress, so you never feel like you're gonna fall off. Also the way the mattress is built, movements on the bed arent transmitted which is great for a good nights sleep! Highly r...Read MoreRead more about review stating Mattress is great. It feelsecommend! Read LessRead less about review stating Mattress is great. It feels

Great mattress
I love that, in addition to the firm support underneath a comfortably soft top layer, the mattress is made of safer, natural and nontoxic materials. The warranty is also really strong, which adds peace of mind. And unlike the last mattress we purchased that came compressed and rolled, the Birch relaxed to a perfect shape quickly and didn't have an...Read MoreRead more about review stating Great mattressy smell of chemical offgassing. Read LessRead less about review stating Great mattress

Side/stomach sleeper
Very happy with our first bed in a box purchase. I am mostly a side and stomach sleeper, and previously was feeling pressure points. The Birch bed has provided all the support I need as advertised. My wife sleeps more on her back, and agrees mattress was a great purchase. Also really appreciated not having to deal with VOC off gassing we experienc...Read MoreRead more about review stating Side/stomach sleepered with kids mattresses bought locally. Only negatives we noticed were minor: 1) the mattress being replaced went right to edge of Foundation, Birch mattress appears to be about 1” narrower (~1/2” of foundation visible on each side). 2) long lead time to receive, ~5-6 weeks from what I recall. Read LessRead less about review stating Side/stomach sleeper

Very comfortable. Love that is
Very comfortable. Love that is made in USA with natural products. Thanks!!

Browse Tuft And Needle Customer Reviews

The upgrades to the Mint mattress
The upgrades to the Mint mattress addresses the few weaknesses of the standard T and N mattress. We have been extremely satisfied with both of them and have begun giving them to our kids

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

The comfort!
The comfort! I’m obsessed with my queen bed. I no longer have to try to fall asleep-it’s effortless!

ease
The ease of setup.

It's a very comfortable mattress
It's a very comfortable mattress. Soft with nice support.

The original mattress
The original mattress we purchased has exceeded my expectations. I have owned a big name foam matress before for twice the price. This matress meets and or exceeds that. Its nice to be sleeping well again. Easy to unbox, easy to sleep. Thank you!

Quality and comfort
Quality and comfort. They made a mattress that’s for the consumer at an affordable price. Best nights sleep I’ve had in along time!

Great product
Great product, fast delivery, easy purchase process.

The mattress is very comfortable
The mattress is very comfortable. However the mattress protector makes it seem more stiff and the jersey sheet son top of the protector makes that feel just as rough

Offer firmer mattress option
Offer firmer mattress option. Bring down prices of accessories like sheets and pillows.

They are all great quality
They are all great quality- from the mattresses to the sheets. I also love the simplicity of the product offerings. No one needs hundreds of options, just a few really great ones.

Nothing
Nothing!

The 100 day free trial
The 100 day free trial and the comfy but firm support and breathability of the mattress.

I just rarely recommend things
I just rarely recommend things. If it comes up, I will. The mattress is splendid.

Comfort
Comfort, quality and price are exceptional.

Great price
Great price and so comfortable

It’s neat
It’s neat and new!

Easy to order
Easy to order, fast delivery, easy to set up, well-priced, well rated by Consumer Reports (particularly like the top rating for long-term wear); but the best part is both my husband and I find it very comfortable. It feels firm, but is comfortable and there are no body stress points. A winner.

I’ve had back pain
I’ve had back pain ever since I got the OG mattress.

It is just perfect
It is just perfect. A good smooth, comfy but firm sleep. The mattress also stays cool. It is definitely just as good, probably better, than my old tempur pedic set. I am very happy with it. I initially had my reservations and thought I should get another tempur pedic set, even though the cost was so much greater. So glad I took a chance.

Very comfortable
Very comfortable and able to be assembled easily.

Ease of ordering
Ease of ordering, delivery and set up. Quality mattress. Love it.

Comfortable
Comfortable

I have already great products
I have already great products. I personally went from purple to tuft and needles

Unrolled into its seemingly full size
Unrolled into its seemingly full size immediately. All well wrapped to arrive pristine. A good night's sleep was available same day.

The comfort level is amazing
The comfort level is amazing. My sleep has been great. It feels soft and firm all at once. I am a side sleeper and it has made a huge difference for my hips. I have talked a coworker into buying one and my dad and stepmom. Plus I am buying one for my daughter!

Just the right amount of softness
Just the right amount of softness and support.

comfortable
Very comfortable

Excellent quality
Excellent quality with a great price. Free shipping and easy set up.

Quality
Quality

mattress
mattress quality is great.

great
The mattress was great from night 1!

Comfort
Comfort

Everything
Everything. It takes a little to get use to the change but after that it is awesome

Incredibly well packaged and presented
Incredibly well packaged and presented, very easy to assemble frame and support and best of all...the Mint was super comfortable from Day 1!

The mattress is very comfortable
The mattress is very comfortable and the foundation was easy to set up...

Comfortable mattress
Comfortable mattress. Getting in an out of bed with no noise, quiet mattress. Doesn't hurt side sleepers in the hips and shoulders.

The products are wonderful
The products are wonderful, it's the customer service that brings it all together and makes it special. As someone who is autistic and can get very easily overwhelmed the attention to care made such a difference for me.

Excellence quality
Excellence quality, fast delivery, great engineering of the mattress and platform, easy setup, attractive fabric covering, very comfortable.

I am warmer than I thought I would be
I am warmer than I thought I would be sleeping on the mattress. I also have a slight issue with feeling 'stuck' in a position. The height of the bed is also a bit too much, though I suppose it is more like the industry standard than what I had before. It is just that it barely fits in our bed frame, and if we had not bought the support box, it definitely would not have fit in our frame; we would have had to buy a new frame.

Comfort
Comfort and price