Get an Instant Discount for Saatva Get Up To $500 Off Sitewide

Birch Living vs. Saatva

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Birch Living

Birch Living is an organic mattress brand by Helix, which is one of the most popular mattress in a box companies. After merging with popular mattress company Brooklyn Bedding at the end of 2021, Birch Living mattresses are now made in a Arizona and feature all-natural and organic comfort layers with pocketed coil support systems. With a focus on back support and 'ergonomic pressure relief,' there is a lot to love about these natural mattresses.

Saatva

Saatva has innovated over time with their mattresses. Their original Saatva Classic mattress is one of the best mattresses online for those looking for a traditional innerspring mattress feel. With an edge on quality, Saatva invested in better coil technology in their Classic, and generous layers in their memory foam Loom and Leaf and all-latex Zenhaven mattresses. Over the years, they have innovated further, with their Saatva Latex Hybrid, the Solaire number bed, Saatva HD for larger sleepers, and their newest Memory Foam Hybrid mattress.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Saatva in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Saatva

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Birch Living: 9.3/10
Saatva: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Birch Living: 9.3/10
Saatva: 9.3/10

Price Value:
Birch Living: 9.3/10
Saatva: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
Birch Living: 9.3/10
Saatva: 9.3/10

Price:
Birch Living: $1349-$3249
Saatva: $845-$5050

Birch Living:
Get $400 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Saatva:
Get Up To $500 Off Sitewide

Birch Living's Owner Satisfaction

Customers are highly satisfied with these mattresses over others, which means when we investigated the current customer data from across the net, these mattresses were ranked highly based on sentiment. This is a great place to start in figuring out if one of these mattresses will fit your needs -- read on for more specifics.

Birch Living's Supportiveness

Mattress support is key to a healthy night sleep. You don't want a mattress that hurts you at night. Customers report that these mattresses support the spine well.

Edge Support
For those folks that like to sit or lie close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses are supportive along the edges and don't suffer from too much contouring versus the center.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Popular among customers, the bowling ball test provides a good indication of firmness while also showing evenness of support across the mattress. If a mattress isn't evenly responsive, some folks may experience back pain or other issues. However, these mattresses are rated well and shouldn't have that issue.

Birch Living's Durability

In terms of the durability, these mattresses do a good job versus competitors. And having a mattress durability means likely having comfortable sleep for years. while one that fails quickly can mean endless back pain. For most sleepers, these mattresses will last between 7 - 12 years on average, which is good for contemporary mattresses. Folks that are heavier than average may experience some loss of longevity.

Get an Instant Discount for Birch Living:   Get $400 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Saatva's Owner Satisfaction

Having a good customer satisfaction rating is a good place to start before looking deeper. These mattresses have great customer satisfaction versus competitors based on online reviews. Sleepers feel comfy with these mattresses and have good experiences with the brand. Take a look below to learn if this mattress will work for you!

Saatva's Supportiveness

These mattresses do well with support vs many other competitors. Their materials are good at aligning the spine and customers feel good levels of comfort while sleeping. These mattresses offer even support throughout the surface layers and and talk about good initial performance while sleeping.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for most sleepers and are used to having a comfortable ledge. Reviewers report that these mattresses offer solid edge support for sleepers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Resting a bowling ball on the mattress is a good way to measure support and firmness. These mattresses have good even support and good versatility throughout the mattress.

Saatva's Durability

It's difficult to find products that last a long time these days. Brands, for the most part, rather not make a product that lasts a lifetime if they can make repeatable revenue. However, there are still good brands out there. These mattresses, specifically, provide a good element of durability to most sleepers. Most will find them last 7 - 12 years, though some who are heavier or use their mattress more often than nightly may experience them faltering sooner.

Get an Instant Discount for Saatva:   Get Up To $500 Off Sitewide

Browse Birch Living Customer Reviews

great mattress and service - Jeremy H.

It's only been a few weeks, but I love the mattress so far. I had some questions and customer service was a great resource.

View More Reviews

Browse Saatva Customer Reviews

Superb Luxury Mattress And Excellent Service Make The Saatva a Best Bet!

When I left a 35 year career as Creative Director for a major Advertising Agency my timing was perfect - the economy collapsed. I took a job with a major mattress chain creating campaigns to promote certain models.

During this period I visited a number of mattress manufacturers and was amazed that the same mattress meant to sell at a retail point of let's say $2,000 would by a simple change of the name and damask become a mattress set for an optimum price point of $800. This is why it's impossible for the consumer to comparison shop. If you find a mattress you like called "The Cloud" the store you're in is the only store that carries that mattress with that name.

Right down the street that very same mattress may be selling for as much as 50% more or less - the selling of mattresses is unfortunately a shady business and the consumer suffers from it.

I'll caveat the following by saying I am a research fanatic. It's in my blood and it drives most friends and family crazy - I am unrelenting and I go over board. That said when my better half and I realized that neither of us were getting a decent nights sleep, with the exception for our two Old English Bulldogs who could doze off on a bed of nails. I was handed my orders to find a mattress and the search began.

During a web search I found the Saatva site and book marked it along with the dozen others I had saved. When I finally read through the web site I was struck by two thing:.

1) The site is brimming with valuable information. There is virtually no what we call in advertising "fluff" or "weasel words" it's the best education about mattresses you'll find.

2) Claims by Saatva are backed up with facts. spec by spec, apples to apples. In fact there is a comparison chart between the Saatva mattress and other high end mattresses. As an example one comparison of the Saatva at $899 shows that the Saatva actually surpasses an equivalent Kings Down Mattress which has an MSRP of over three grand.

I drove them crazy with endless telephone calls and I'm surprised the company didn't take out a restraining order against me. What I found time and time again is that each person I spoke with knew the product inside and out. If I had questions about the coil system, the foam densities, the gauge of the springs they were answered. The few times there was a question that couldn't be answered ( because no normal person would ask these questions) but that's not me. I would be transferred to someone who could.

Never once was I pressured to buy. There is no "one time deal if you buy today" Pressure what so ever. Saatva means "Truth" and that's exactly what you get.

Now about the mattress!

We purchased the King Size Luxury Firm it was delivered with lightning speed and the plastic wrapping is beyond protective - it's closer to a Hazmat suit. When the mattress was placed in our bed frame - my spouse and I were both struck by how absolutely gorgeous it is. Quality touches abound. From the iron clad strong handles, to the intricate braiding on the sides. The deep tufted upholstered buttons make for an elegant and incredibly comfortable surface.

The Damask is pure 100% natural cotton both gorgeous in look and feel and the Damask ensures the mattress breathes. As far as support and comfort the Saatva mattress is brilliant. We haven't slept this well, this deeply and woken feeling this good in years, and that's a fact.
If you're still reading this novel and aren't comatose by this time, I applaud you. I promise to wrap this up in a minimum of 300 more pages.

The common thread between everyone at Saatva is passion.

Saatva promises silver but delivers gold and few mattress sellers, if any can make that claim. There is no single piece of furniture in the world that has such a profound effect on our health and well being. Our Saatva is the best investment we have made in years - and it's Bulldog Approved!

Highest Recommendation

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Brooklyn Bedding

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.