Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get an Instant Discount for Big Fig
Get $300 Off Mattresses

Big Fig vs. Stearns And Foster

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Big Fig

Big Fig is the premier mattress for those with a 'bigger figure.' They make a super durable and supportive mattress that is specifically designed to support plus-sized sleepers. With capacity to withstand distributed weights of up to 1100lbs and a 20 year warranty, these sturdy mattresses are perfect for those that have suffered from a lack of support, hot sagging beds, or are looking for a firm mattress.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for over 150 years with its last few decades being a part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur-Sealy along with brands like Tempur-Pedic and Sealy brands. With such a long legacy, they have become a recognizable name-brand known for luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs. With most customers experiencing the pillowy comfort they are known for, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers over the recent years.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Big Fig in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Big Fig

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Big Fig: 9.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Big Fig: $1399-$2799
Stearns And Foster: $1699-$8998

Big Fig:
Get $300 Off Mattresses

Stearns And Foster:
Buy Online: Get Best Deals


Big Fig's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers report feeling very comfortable and satisfied with these mattresses, which means that based off of recent and overall customer sentiment these mattresses have great percentages of positive feedback. Now that this brand has a good foundation, read on to learn more about the specifics of what customers are saying.


Big Fig's Supportiveness

Mattresses that support you help with better spine health and restful sleep. These mattresses provide deep support for sleepers with customers and reviewers shouting praises.

Edge Support
Edge support is key to winning approval from customers. If you sit on the side of your mattress to put on socks in the morning, you'll want something that props you up rather than sinking downward at the edges. These mattresses are supportive and comfortable around the sides, which is excellent for all sleepers!

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are a good way to show the firmness and supportiveness of a mattress. These mattresses are great at supporting and comforting sleepers, which is great for having a healthy night's sleep.


Big Fig's Durability

Like all items we buy, we as customers want things we buy to last. Sadly, with the current industry disruption that drives prices lower, expectations of quality changes. Even the blankets and nightware doesn't last as long as it used to. All that said, customers say that these mattresses are some of the most durable for the price. That means, that on average, they should be cozy for 7 - 12 years before breaking down. Furthermore, if you don't like the mattress feel in the short term, you have the option to replace because of the trial policy.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper reviews can be hard to understand from a high level -- especially with companies coming in and out of the market quickly. Sleepers, sadly, don't always feel comfortable from these mattresses. There are still folks that are content, but others who are really not. Learn more below to understand the specifics.


Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is important to all, but especially important for back and stomach sleepers. Side sleepers also need a responsive mattress for their bodies. These mattresses are above average when it comes to support. However, others had problems with the support so if you have a heavy build, make sure your choice aligns with your body.

Edge Support
Most agree with the edge support of these mattresses. Those that are heavier may find some dipping close to the edges.


Stearns And Foster's Durability

We all want a mattress that is going to last over a decade, and when our mattress causes us back pain after only a few months, we feel terrible However, now more than ever, it is getting harder to find lasting comfort. With more companies than ever, companies fighting for profit at the demise of quality. When it comes to these mattresses, unfortunately, they have some sleepers who have reported durability issues over a short time. It doesn't mean that durability issues will happen to you if you buy one of these, but make sure to read up on the warranty and return policies before buying.

Browse Big Fig Customer Reviews

Big Fig Queen Size Mattress
I like to sleep on my side and since I've had my new mattress, my shoulders don't hurt when I wake up. The mattress is working great. My only complaint is with the shipping company that delivered it. The box was a mess that the foundations came in. It looked like it had been opened then closed back up and it was smashed pretty good. The foundations were fine, but they didn't match. One was dark blue and one was black. I didn't make a big deal out of it since you can't see them anyway.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Support and comfort
I love the strength and support our Big Fig mattress provides while still being comfortable. Still no body indentations! It's a great investment!

Best Mattress Ever
This is the most high quality mattress (and boxspring) I have ever slept on. It's even better than more expensive mattresses I have owned. You can tell that every single part is high quality. I've slept on it about six months now and it is as new as day 1. It is very, very heavy and I can barely rotate the mattress on my own. Even the guys who delivered this were curious and impressed by it's build. I anticipate that this mattress will last a minimum of 10 years and quite possibly 20. I found it to be very firm and purchased a high quality 2.5 inch thick, 4.5 lb density memory foam mattress topper for it to make it super cushy. I did this because the cushy part of mattresses always wear out and I wanted it to be replaceable. The top of this mattress is fine, I am not saying it will wear out, but I need super duper softness. I also need a great and supportive mattress for the cushiness. So I searched and searched for the most high quality mattress I could find and took a chance on Big Fig. Glad I did. Now all my friends and family want one. They literally say, "This is the most amazing bed I've ever felt." And they are right!

Amazing matress
If you are undecided about what mattress to buy look no further. This is the most amazing matress. You can feel the strength to this mattress and yet it is soft and comfy to sleep on. My back pain has vanished and I wake in the same spot I fell asleep in no tossing and turning.

Finally a Mattress for Large People
I am 6'2" 300 lb football player type of guy that needed a new mattress as my old air mattress was over 20 years old. I did my online homework and then began shopping at the locally owned and national mattress stores. All promised a mattress that would work for me, but prices began at $2500 and worked up to $5000. I reviewed the online mattress manufacturers and based on reviews, ordered one of the name hybrid mattress (did not come folded in a box) that claimed to support "large" people for about $1500. After 4 weeks and trips to the chiropractor, I returned the mattress. Their customer support was excellent. After reviewing mattress designs, I elected to buy a natural latex mattress that would support "large" people for about $2200. It was far better than the hybrid but was too soft and I would sink resulting poor alignment of my back. After 4 weeks, I returned the mattress with again excellent customer support. I then read about Big Fig. After my previous experiences, I was skeptical so I called the company. I spoke to a very knowledgeable person that understood my needs. In fact, he may have been an owner. Since I had an adjustable bed, I only purchased the mattress. It has now been 8 weeks and I love the mattress. I did place a topper on the mattress that met my personal desires. In addition, it works well with the adjustable bed frame. The support is excellent...not too firm nor too soft. Upon lying on the bed, I quickly fall asleep and can only say "thank you" for making a mattress for "large" people.

Best. Matress. EVER!!!
I was skeptical about an online purchase, but after several attempts to find a good mattress from local stores and having them fall apart in less than a month, I was ready for something different. . When Allison (I'm pretty sure that was her name) called me to answer my questions, I was sold. Great customer service!!! The first night I slept on this matress, I was in heaven!!! The wife said it was too hard at first, but by the 3rd night she fell in love as well. I'll never buy anything but a Big Fig from now on!

Awesome bed
I've had my BigFig for about a month now. I could tell before i even got to sleep on it how well it was built. I don't feel exhausted when I wake up anymore. I'm a big guy and love this mattress. Couldn't be happier with my purchase.

Great Mattress
I am very pleased with my new mattress. It is medium firm as described. I found it a bit tall when combined with my beautiful bed frame. Despite the fact that I'm tall (5'8"), my feet don't touch the ground when I sit on the edge but the edge doesn't collapse. I may try it without the platform.

Its exactly what I expected. Thumbs up!!!
Well its been 2 weeks so far and I can not say anything but good things about the big fig mattress. Its well built and its a good firm mattress. I am a big guy whose struggled to find one that would hold up for me for any length of time. Will know for sure in the future but from all indications, its everything I expected it to be. Thanks for building a great product.

Great bed
We got what we expected! Took about 2 weeks to be broke in fully but we love the comfort and stability. Definitely happy with our purchase

Great Bed!
My husband and I have always struggled with back problems, and they've nearly disappeared since purchasing this bed. He's 6'3" and 250 lbs; I'm 5'6" and 120 lbs. Needless to say, it was difficult for us to find a bed that met our needs. Over the past 5 years we've purchased 2 other expensive mattresses that broke down. This is the 3rd and last purchase we'll be making in a long while. It feels sturdy and well-made. It doesn't sink in the middle, and I don't feel my husband or wake up when he moves at night. It's soft enough for me and firm enough for him. Couldn't recommend it more; absolutely love it.

Great Night's Sleep
The bed is just as described on the website. No sagging when sleeping or sitting. It is the best mix of firm and comfort. We had it delivered and the old bed hauled away. All went as expected. I would recommend for Big Figs, Small Figs, and any Fig in between! Thanks Big Fig mattress!!

GREAT BED
I have had our Big Fig bed for one month now and I love it! It seems to be made very well and is firm.

The best purchase I EVER MADE!
Would not have believed how comfortable this mattress was! Purchased other brands but they all fell short of expectations. Finally took the chance and purchased Big Fig. The best purchase I EVER MADE! From night one fell asleep immediately and it's been that way ever since! To all big and tall people "try it, you'll like it" if I could give it more stars... I would !!

Restful nights again !!
I was very skeptical, but I can actually say that this is the best mattress that I believe that I have ever slept on. I've had It now a little over 4 weeks , I love my new bed !!

FINALLY !!! WE FOUND A WONDERFUL MATTRESS!
My husband and I both are bigger people and beds break down so fast with us. We go through mattresses usually once or twice a year and that was really costing us some big bucks. Finally, this is what we've been waiting for. It feels supportive and strong enough to hold us both. We've slept on it for almost 100 nights now and it's definitely a keeper!!!

Mattress is very firm, but good so far
Occasionally my back hurts, as firm mattresses (like hotel mattresses) do that to me. However, it's not nightly and if the mattress holds up long-term, I'll be happy. Fairly comfortable just to sit or lay on and watch TV. Good so far.

Best Bed I Have Ever Owned
My Big Fig has so much support. I love it so much. I am 350 lbs and always have had problems with my back. This bed provides relief for my already injured lower back. I wake up refreshed and without pain. Thank you Big Fig for making a wonderful product.

Sleeping well...
So far so good! Love the firmness and the fact that we don't jostle each other when we move. It's early in our experience with the Big Fig, but we love it so far! Thanks for a great product.

A different kind of bed - not a trace of sagging!
I did a lot of research on beds before we bought the Big Fig. I wanted a bed that would last -- one that would not sag and develop the grooves I had become used to. The Big Fig was the first mattress company that seemed to care how their product held up over time. When the bed was delivered, I knew we made a good choice. This is a solid piece of furniture. (pay for delivery and install). It's heavy. It's also very firm, but somehow still soft and comfortable. We've had it for several months and it is still like new -- not a trace of sagging! We both sleep really well and are very pleased with this purchase.

Happy Big Fig Mattress Owner
I just wanted to say that buying our big fig mattress was one of the best decisions that we ever made. As a plus size couple this mattress is the perfect one for us so far. It is very comfortable. We bought a King Size mattress and we have a full bed with myself, my husband and Gretchen, our rotten basset hound. She snuggles in between us and makes it known that she is doing us a favor by letting us join her in "her" new bed.

So far so good!
Have had the mattress one month. I purchased a California King. So far I am very satisfied on all fronts. I am 6'8" 340 lbs. I am a back and side sleeper and my wife is a stomach sleeper. The Big Fig is a very solid (and firm) well made mattress. It's firmness level is supposed to be the best for sleepers like my wife and I. I wanted to try a memory foam mattress and after extensive research I decided I wanted (and recommended due to my size) a hybrid mattress. My research of mattresses showed most had maximum weight capacity of 300-350 lbs. I found the Big Fig which had a 1000 lb capacity. I took a chance (ZERO objective online mattress reviewers who are not compensated by the manufacturers in some fashion) and purchased the Big Fig based on very few customer reviews (all positive). The company's description of their product appears to be honest and accurate. The mattress is firm yet it allows you to sink in just enough to avoid pressure points. The edge is solid and you don't sink/slide when sitting on the edge of the bed. My wife's back pain she had prior to the purchase subsided after several nights of sleep on the Big Fig. I'm still getting used to it but every night seem better then the previous (I've slept on traditional medium firm pillow top mattresses for years). I must warn you that the mattress is tall so measure accurately for your individual needs. I am tall so it is not a problem but my wife has difficulty. I should have purchased the shorter foundation. Also be warned it is a heavy mattress so make sure you have a solid bed frame and I also recommend purchasing the white glove delivery. In conclusion, I have to give the Big Fig five stars and will definitely update my review if something changes.

Big Fig Matttress is THE REAL DEAL!
I wrote this review on my blog: https://lividlipids.wordpress.com/2017/07/05/review-big-fig-mattress/ My real life review is that the Big Fig mattress is THE REAL DEAL. Back in March we got a new @bigfigmattress. I’ve been waiting to sleep on it awhile before giving a review but was thinking now is about the time. This is a phone snap of my real life Big Fig – no models or made beds here. The baby is asleep in the crib four feet away and that card is covering a period stain on the sheet. I’m going to go from the bottom to the top, so first up: the frame. Big Fig offers a recycled railroad steel frame. I can’t budge it by myself. It’s seriously strong – I don’t think it’s going to move from where the delivery guys put it together. Our last bed frame was on plastic wheels that broke off; the Big Fig frame has nice sturdy feet with a little bumper pad on the bottom. We bought a king size, so we have two boxspring platforms that are pushed together underneath the mattress. They’re a gorgeous indigo color and if I’m honest, I haven’t much to comment on them besides that. I’m not a boxspring expert. The mattress is, in short, amazing. The firmness is startling after years on a lumpy, shitty mattress – but it is so wonderful. It’s soft and supportive. If you lie down on your back, it’s flat and firm enough that you can feel your spine start to settle down and straighten out. If you lie on your side, it gives enough to be comfortable but provides excellent support to your body. I tend to fall asleep on my back and roll to my side in the middle of the night. I’m five months postpartum, it’s been amazing to have the support after struggling with sciatica and a shitty memory foam mattress during pregnancy. It’s also been a real RELIEF for my hot flashes and postpartum sweats; the bed sleeps cool just like they say. I do NOT get hot in the middle of the North Carolina night where our thermostat sits at 77 while running constantly. The mattress helps my back – it’s comfortable – it’s cool – it’s solid. It seems like it’s legit gonna hold up to mine and hubby’s big butts over time. If for some reason it did not, I really like their warranty policy. Our last mattress was a Bed in the Box memory foam and had a separated foam top that buckled and body impression wallows 4″ deep in the mattress we sunk into, but the warranty didn’t kick in until there was a 6″ difference (can you imagine?). Big Fig’s 20 year warranty is superior; it only takes a 1″ body impression for them to repair or replace the mattress. I find it to be somewhat telling that since getting our Big Fig mattress, we’ve got a lot more photos taken on our bed. Like, three compared to none before. I think me and the kids may actually be spending more time just hanging out on the bed rolling around relaxing and snuggling. The only bad part of the Big Fig mattress is the price. It’s going to be in the range of “expensive” for most peers I know. It’s going to perhaps seem even more expensive when you’re comparing the price to all the blowout mattress store sales that might be in your area. If you listen to/read this piece by Freakanomics, you’ll be probably be thinking hell, why am I paying extra for this mattress then, if the market is inflated? Personally I think the extra testing of the mattress speaks well for Big Fig: better, more expensive materials means making and providing a better product to big-bodied customers at comparable prices. I would bet a good night’s sleep that Big Fig has smaller profit margins compared to other mattress makers in order to do it. “I guess that’s one benefit to an inflated market,” said my husband, as I explained this. AND HOW! They also seem to have really cute customer service. They reminded me that I’ve been wanting to write a review – they sent a little gift package with Bon Maman fig jam in it and a handwritten card. Talk about darling! (And tasty. I love Bon Maman.) If you’re big, get you a Big Fig! You won’t regret it.

We love our Big Fig
The Big Fig arrived at our home over 6 months ago. While we were a bit nervous to order a mattress online, after talking with customer service, we felt very comfortable with knowing they understood not everyone would love their product and how the return would work. Well, I am happy to report we love our Big Fig and did not return our mattress. The Big Fig is very sturdy. You lay on top of the mattress and do not sink into it. Six months later and still no sink to the mattress. My favorite thing to report is that I toss and turn a lot in my sleep which has always bothered my husband. I do continue to toss and turn but my husbands side of the bed does not move. I think it's easy to say this was one of the best online purchases we have made. Thank you Big Fig!

Real quality in this mattress
We've had our Big Fig mattress now for 3-4 months now. When I compare it to mattresses I have purchased in the past, I know that this mattress is built to last. It's definitely heavy duty -- you'll definitely need some help to rotate it. We bought the bed frame with it and it's rock solid -- as well as the foundation. All three together make a bed that will seems indestructible. And not a squeak or noise at all from any of it. We love it.

A GREAT night's sleep!
My husband and I are both plus sized, and have suffered through an array of inferior mattresses over the years. While doing some research to find a good mattress for the both of us, my husband found Big Fig. We have had our mattress for just over a month, now, and we couldn't be more pleased! We are both sleeping soundly, and actually resting well, for a change. My husband is a battle wounded veteran, and he is able to stay comfortable throughout the night, for the first time in years. We both wake up without all the back, shoulder and hip pains we used to have! It's really a great night's sleep! The customer service is also fantastic! We had an issue with our delivery, and the Big Fig customer service was great to deal with and did everything in their power to make the situation right. We could not have asked for more! Great people - great mattress!!

Dear Lord...
Thank you for Big Fig! A good night's sleep and a good night's play!

Best mattress ever
We did our research and ordered the Big Fig mattresses-- we expected a lot and they did not disappoint

My wife and I are loving the Big Fig!
My wife and I were really excited to get our Big Fig delivered. Right away, we noticed the difference in firmness compared to our last mattress. The Big Fig was firmer but in a good way. It's the kind of firmness that decreases back pain and increases our quality of sleep. We can tell this mattress is going to be with us for quite some time, which makes us happy because everyone knows how tedious mattress shopping can be!

Very Comfortable!!
We find the bed to be very comfortable and so far we are loving it. It is not losing its shape. And thank you very much for the jam. That was very sweet of you!

We're confident this mattress will last us a very long time.
We have been sleeping on our Big Fig Mattress for over a month now and are very happy! We noticed a difference right away as it was delivered. When our old $3,000 king size mattress was removed, it nearly folded in half almost like a taco. We couldn't believe we had spent so much money on it and it didn't last! There was no "folding" the Big Fig. Even with its sturdiness, it is incredibly comfortable and we are finally getting a good night's rest without waking up to our typical aches and pains from sinking into our old mattress. We purchased the king size bed because we also have 2 large dogs who seem to love it as well! We're confident this mattress will last us a very long time.

Back problem relief after many years!
After many years of sore back issues this bed has provided great relief and very comfortable sleep. The quality construction is apparent.

We love our new mattress!
My husband and I have been using our Big Fig mattress for over two weeks and absolutely love it. It is the deepest sleep that I have had in a long time. Our old mattress did not have much support so my husband and I would wake up every morning with some new ache or pain. He has back issues and I have a shoulder issue. So, it was difficult to sleep through an entire night. We started looking around at mattresses and quickly realized we were not memory foam people. Just did not like the feel of it. We needed something that was solid and firm, but still soft and comfortable. We have found what what we were looking for with the Big Fig mattress (Queen Size). I can't explain the technical details on how the bed is made. I just know that I have never slept on any thing so firm/sturdy before. The pillow top is just enough to make it very comfortable. We also ordered the White Glove delivery and was very happy with the service. They were there on time and quickly setup the bed. We are very happy with our purchase!

We both are Big & Tall
This is by far one of the sturdiest beds we've been in together. The sides of the mattress hold up better than any other mattress that we've had and recovers quickly. Looking forward to lots of good sleep on my Big Fig.

My Big Fig Mattress has transformed the way I feel about going to bed every night!
My Big Fig Mattress has transformed the way I feel about going to bed every night! I used to dread restless nights and now I find myself having my most restful sleep in years. The mattress itself is firm and substantial yet soft and comfortable. I feel like I've finally found a mattress that won't give me back pain or wear out in a few years.

We LOVE our Big Fig mattress. It's sturdy, firm and amazingly comfortable
We LOVE our Big Fig mattress. It's sturdy, firm and amazingly comfortable. Pocketed coils make movement in bed unnoticeable. We have been sleeping so much better since we made the switch. We recommend this mattress to anyone looking for an excellent sleep experience.

We’ve been sleeping on the bed the last few nights and we are in LOVE!
I love it. It's very firm and gives great support, especially in the lower back section.

I'm a very hot sleeper, so I expect to overheat throughout the night.
Something that has really surprised me is the fact that the mattress stays cool at night. I'm a very hot sleeper, so I expect to overheat throughout the night. So far, with the Big Fig, I haven't. We received the Big Fig, and have been using it for a week or so. I've been pleasantly surprised with the level of quality, and the fact that it does what it says it does on the website. It's been great for both my Wife and I so far.

I was impressed that I didn't immediately sink into the Big Fig.
When I initially got the big fig mattress the first thing that I noticed was how heavy it was. I was shocked and when I looked more at it I could tell that the heft was from the build quality. I'm used to the box springs that come with mattresses breaking after a bit of use, so it was great to see one built so well. When I initially sat on the mattress I was impressed that I didn't immediately sink into the mattress. It has been a long time since that has happened. I absolutely love sleeping on the big fig. It doesn't cave in or form weird crevices that usually come from a heavier person sleeping on them. I also noticed that the big fig sleeps cooler. I didn't wake up covered in sweat like usual. I have also noticed a decrease in the amount of tossing and turning during the night. It's really easy to get comfy and stay comfy on the big fig. It is a strong and supportive mattress. I highly recommend the mattress to everyone, I cannot rave enough about the big fig.

I’m plus size and my boyfriend is tall.
I’m plus size and my boyfriend is tall. It’s great to finally see a mattress that’s made just for us!

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss
Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Made for me!
The S&F Reserve No.2 is absolutely hands down the best mattress I have every layed on in my whole life!! As soon as you lay down on it, you are engulfed by a comfort second to none- sending you to dreamland immediately!!

Five stars
so far, like the product

Very comfortable so far...
We have the mattress for about 1.5 months and so far it's very comfortable. Much better than the last mattress that caved in the middle.

Best night sleep in years good quality
Great

Love the comfort
I have SI joiny dysfunction & was so afraid having a new bed but it did not make my situation any worse. Love the comfort, sturdiness & quality! Hope I can say that in a few years & there is no breakdown.

I love my new mattress best purchase made
The edges stay firm but the bed conforms to your body

Mattress Feels Bespoke
I have never slept better than on my Stearns & Foster Lux Estate Hybrid mattress. A complete restful night's sleep is so important and I had no idea what I was missing until I slept soundly on my new S&F mattress. I now look forward to going to bed and wake up each morning well rested, energized, and excited to greet the new day. I love my Stearns & Foster Lux Estate Hybrid mattress and recommend it frequently. It is a well-built, solid mattress designed to provide lasting comfort and stand the test of time. When my new mattress arrived, I was ecstatic. It was even better than expected. It is beautiful to look at, but is solid, strong, and durable. The hand-tufting, encased coils, edge protection, rich fabric - the precision and craftsmanship - all give this quality mattress a luxury feel. The mattress has a lot of heft and durability. It is a solidly built quality mattress and foundation that feel like they will stand the test of time. *This reviewer received a mattress at no cost as part of a product sampling program.

This mattress is exceptionally adequate
This mattress is a very recent purchase. So far, so good. My hope is it will withstand ordinary wear and tear and afford me a good night's sleep for years to come.

good mattress
very soft and comfortable, but seems to developed cavity over a period of time.

Yes i would buy gain
So far so good

good mattress
still getting used to it

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC
I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

Review from Mari of Beacon, NY
Purchased adjustable mattress from Sleepy's. I paid almost $4,000 for this mattress. A hole appeared in the mattress after two years. It is getting bigger. Stearns and Foster refuses to either repair this mattress or replace it. I am still paying off this mattress.

Review from Marcel of Farmingville, NY
I have to give Bedding 0 stars. I have the bedding for less than 5 years. My husband and I are senior citizens (72 and 75 years of age). We took the proper steps, according to the Warranty Claim. Which is a process consisting of taking numerous photos of the king size bedding: remove mattress, box spring take photos, measure sinkhole with a string etc. That being said - this was not an easy job. The photos did not show the sinkhole correctly due to our inexperience of performing this task. Our claim was denied. I wanted a representative to come to my home and take professional photos - that is not their policy. They would like us to retake the photos - they do not care that it would be basically a hardship for us to go through that procedure again. Do not buy Stearns and Foster Bedding. What good is the warranty.

Review from Debbie of Levittown, PA
I purchased the Beth Luxury Plush mattress on 5/27/2012 from Ashley Furniture Company. There is a sag in the middle and no matter how much I try not to roll into the sag I wake up in the middle of the night in the center where the sag is with back and hip pain. I read the reviews and realize I am in a hopeless situation. I am waiting for my appointment to have my sag measured but I already feel like it is a waste of time. It's really sad how this company is selling consumers very expensive mattresses and then have all these crazy loopholes in the warranty. Just from the number of consumers that have complained about the same issue I'm sure they realize that this is a major issue with their mattresses. I am already preparing myself to buy a new mattress because it is impossible to sleep on my Luxury Stearns & Foster. I am currently sleeping on a Futon bed in my spare bedroom as I wait for my measurement appointment.

Review from Sonya of High Point, NC
We bought a Stearns & Foster mattress about 3 years ago. We were told it would provide great support for our back. We were also told it would not sink in on each side. This mattress sinks on each side and there is obviously a big hump in the middle. This all started within the first 6 months. We have turned the mattress, stood it up, whatever we could think to get rid of the sunk in parts. We are extremely disgusted that we spent so much on this mattress and are currently shopping for a new mattress. My husband and I are tired of waking up with extreme sore backs. My husband a lot of times ends up on the couch to get a better night's rest.

Review from Yolanda of Washington, DC
I purchased a Stearns and Foster Cora Queen sized mattress from Sleepy's in Maryland in June 2014. After a year, I noticed indentation in the center and on the top corner. I noticed that my body aches and that it's hard to get out of the bed because of the center indentation. For the past six months, I noticed the back aches worsened. I put in a claim form to Stearns customer services on February 26th and have not heard from them. After reading complaints about the same exact thing regarding the Stearns and Foster mattresses, I see I'm not the only one. I paid a lot of money for this. My last mattress lasted the whole 10 years before needing a new one. After reading the complaints, it looks as though it's difficult to get your money back even though you are under warranty.

Review from Love of Fenton, MI
I'd like to start out by saying that I have loved and slept incredibly well on my S&F Thornwood Lux Firm mattress for several years. Additionally, everyone who has slept in my bed has commented on how comfortable it is (even now, admittedly). However, having said that we're at the 6 or 7 yr mark and it's definitely showing signs of wear. I'm a bigger girl, so I understand that takes a toll and can create indentations. I rotate my mattress a few times yearly in an attempt to delay wear, but now it's hard to find a spot without a dip. I tend to wake up in the morning with a sore lower back, and I can no longer sleep in past 7 or 8 hrs. I have read that mattresses tend to give you 7-10 yrs on average, and I was hoping that being a more luxurious and reputable brand I'd make it to the end of that time frame with this one. Although I was looking to possibly replace it with another S&F, some of the reviews of newer models make me question if that would be a wise decision.

Review from Chet of Myrtle Beach, SC
Please beware of a mattress from this Company. We are having the same issues as mentioned by most on this site - sagging and dipping of mattress where you sleep. Stearns & Foster will not do anything. Paid thousands for this mattress. Do not buy this product. Poor craftsmanship and very poor customer service. Beware Beware Beware!!! Would give "0" stars if it were an option. Shame on you Stearns & Foster.

Review from Annette of Boerne, TX
I purchased my third set of Stearns and Foster mattress in June 2014. Eight months after it started to sag. I filed a claim with the retailer, they sent their expert at my expense. Conclusion was that for the warranty to take place the mattress had to have 1-1/2 inch of measurable sag. Out of luck and out of $2,705.17 for the Emilia Rose PL Queen mattress. Needless to say that we cannot sleep on that bed any longer because it may not fulfill S&F's 1-1/2 inch requirement but the mattress sags and there is no good sleep on it, not as the retailer suggestion that the "mattress is conforming to your bodies". Very, very disappointed. I guess that we no longer be purchasing this brand.

Review from Wally of Alexandria, VA
Bought the Stearns & Foster because of thinking more money means better product. No way, it is the opposite with the Stearns & Foster firm baroque. It is very uncomfortable mattress compared to my Serta perfect sleeper. I own Serta perfect sleeper firm already and this Serta is much better for me than Foster. I'm in progress of returning back the Foster any day now just waiting to order another Serta perfect sleeper for half the price and much better comfortness. Now I know when people say more is not better and like channel designer said less is more.

Review from John@CannarsaDesign.com of Saugatuck, MI
I honestly can't believe how awful this mattress is, and I've purchased quite a few over the years. Like many before, I got this one from Art Van because they've always made the process easy, and have a good selection. I went through their mattress match-making system and really took my time selecting. I thought I made a good choice, and was very happy with it at first. Within a year, we both could feel a definite sag in the middle, developed worsening back and hip pain, waking constantly.

I called Art Van and they courteously sent a service rep out to "measure" by stringing a line across the top with weights on both ends. To meet the requirement for "failure" I learned that a mattress has to have a 1 1/2 inch measurable sag. The problem with this is that the plush top mattress can still have the foam and cushion stay "up" while the firm foundation under it has clearly weakened. Mine "measured" about 1 1/4 inches so it appears I'm out of luck. I sure wish I would have looked for reviews because it certainly is easy to find people who have had the same terrible experience. Let the buyer beware.

Review from Megan of Nine Mile Falls , WA
I've read the negative reviews about Stearns & Foster and agree with every one of them. My king mattress is a Queens Gate ultra firm, is five years old and is defective in the center. Of course the fine print in the "warranty" specifies the inches that it has to sag and says I'd have to pay for inspection and transportation. I couldn't figure out why my back and hip (I'm a side sleeper) were hurting and waking me up at night. Then I felt the center of the mattress, which is where I was sleeping, in a moment of revelation. And although you can't see a sag in the middle, you can feel the difference between that area and the parts of the mattress that would be the twin size areas. It's insidious and of course gives the manufacturer an out from giving me any consideration. So I'm sleeping on one side of the mattress, which will also obviously degenerate.

I'll never again buy this brand. I tried to call their customer service number, and was told via recording it'll be closed due to "unforeseen circumstances" and they don't know when it'll open. Lovely. Whatever happened to pride of manufactured product, or customer satisfaction? I'm not even trying to deal with Sears, which is not much better. I'm waiting for Sears to send me the credit card statements so I can send it on in another post.

Review from Jennifer of Mequon, WI
I've read the negative reviews about Stearns & Foster and agree with every one of them. My king mattress is a Queens Gate ultra firm, is five years old and is defective in the center. Of course the fine print in the "warranty" specifies the inches that it has to sag and says I'd have to pay for inspection and transportation. I couldn't figure out why my back and hip (I'm a side sleeper) were hurting and waking me up at night. Then I felt the center of the mattress, which is where I was sleeping, in a moment of revelation. And although you can't see a sag in the middle, you can feel the difference between that area and the parts of the mattress that would be the twin size areas. It's insidious and of course gives the manufacturer an out from giving me any consideration. So I'm sleeping on one side of the mattress, which will also obviously degenerate.

I'll never again buy this brand. I tried to call their customer service number, and was told via recording it'll be closed due to "unforeseen circumstances" and they don't know when it'll open. Lovely. Whatever happened to pride of manufactured product, or customer satisfaction? I'm not even trying to deal with Sears, which is not much better. I'm waiting for Sears to send me the credit card statements so I can send it on in another post.

Review from SUSAN of Fredericksburg, TX
So we received our 4th replacement from Stearns and Foster and decided to switch the type of bed all together. Sears was great to work with, they even credited us $890 on the difference of the upgrade so we paid an additional $300 to go with the lux estate ultra plush hybrid bed. This bed is soft as expected unless our other plush beds that were delivered were hard and felt cheap and the knobs were laying on top of the mattress instead pulled down. The adjustable base sometimes goes down on it own and smells weird still after 3 months. Smells like hay is the only way I can describe it. But I would recommend the lux estate hybrid ultra plush bed if you are looking for the softest bed!

Review from Zorina of San Diego, CA
I would give zero stars if possible. I purchased a high-end Stearns and Foster bed a couple of years ago. I noticed the indentations about a year after purchase. I thought my back and hips were hurting due to exercise, but I think it's this cheaply made bed. I can't believe they are allowed to stay in business with ripping people off. We had a bed before this one for about 20 years and no problems. I don't think beds should cost $3000 and last a year!

Review from Charles of Cedar Park, TX
We bought a Stearns and Foster in March 2013 at Sears in Columbus, OH. We now feel like we need to buy a new mattress because of the indentations and sagging causing us back pain. Will never buy another Stearns and Foster.

Review from jennifer of Dacula, GA
Have this Stearns and Foster high profile for just over a year. 14 mo. to be exact. I weigh approx. 130. Live alone! Stay home 6-8 mo. a yr. This mattress crapped out in about 6 mos.!!! I'm disgusted! 3 grand plus for the Lux! No! I've paid people to rotate, after a few weeks I'm in a rut. Just awful.

Review from Ina of Madison, AL
Bought a bed March 2015. The middle is already sagging. Called the customer service for Sleep Train. Erica informed me that all claims would be denied because I did not have a bar with a leg in the middle of my frame. Of course, I was not informed that was recommended when I first bought the bed for $1800. With all the bad reviews, on this site alone, I will STAY AWAY from any Stearns and Foster bed forever!!! The customer service was of no help. On a side note, as I was talking to the salesman about my problem, someone else walked in with the same problem. Guess what kind of bed that was??? Stearns and Foster.

Review from Rachel of Jacksonville , FL
We purchased a Stearns and Foster king Douglas House LXP with box springs for $2,500+. Clearly this is the worst mattress we have ever owned. Within a year the mattress sagged, though not more than 1 inch. But it was like sleeping in a wagon wheel rut. Hips, shoulders, back and knees ache every night. Stay away from this product.

Review from brad of East St. Paul, MB
We bought our king size mattress about 6 months ago and two months into it there were sagging spots on each side. The indentations are so bad that sleeping has become very uncomfortable. I feel cheated and taken advantage of. Will never EVER buy another S&F product.

Review from Georgia of Avon, IN
I bought the Stearns & Foster Queen mattress for $1500.00 and within 2 years the middle sagged so bad I had a hard time getting out of bed. I am physically fit, normal weight and swim laps regularly, walk and stay active. This bed made me feel tired and achy every morning. I finally replaced it with a Jamison for half the price and sleep great now. I put the S & F upstairs in the guest room but no one wants to sleep on it. It will go out on the curb.

Review from Laura of Brick, NJ
My Husband and I purchased a King Stearns & Foster Mattress/Box Spring from Ashley's Furniture. 22 days after sleeping on the mattress - deep sleep indentations started to incur on both side. I called Ashley's upset and scheduled a rep to come out to measure. 1" in deepest spot (after 22 DAYS!) and rep said warranty only replaces at 1 1/2". Again, why should we even have to call a rep after owning a mattress for 22 days?? I read reviews warning me about sagging issues prior to purchasing and I took a chance that it wouldn't happen to us. Just like other postings - I was also told to just keep having a rep come out until it reaches 1 1/2". Very disappointing that we replaced a good mattress that we had with this one. I will not be purchasing a S&F again.

Review from Byron of Glenmoore, PA
I purchased a Stearns and Foster queen size bed and box spring that was promoted by the sales representative as a superior bed set that was very firm. It was firm to my satisfaction when tested on the showroom floor, so I purchased it believing I was going to receive a very firm, high quality bed set when delivered..Shortly after delivery, the bed dramatically lost its firmness night after night. The normal body indentations you were to expect I read about on the Stearns and Foster website that were surpassed in the first two months.

Updated 12/16/2015 - I purchased a queen Stearns & Foster bed set, and after only a couple of months with just myself sleeping on it, the bed began to sag uncomfortably. But not to the satisfaction of the warranty requirements when measured by an individual Sealy sent out to my house to measure the bed in a place on the bed where it is impossible to sleep. Plus it was measured many hours after I had awaken and was off the bed, whereas any indentation that was there had risen to a perceived normal level. Customer service was unprofessional and unsympathetic when dealing with me and my concerns regarding the purchase of their product and the questioning of their warranty evaluation methods. If you are considering purchasing a Stearns & Foster bed, do your homework by reading the many reviews on the net, test many beds and research the ones you test. Good luck and happy shopping.

Review from Betty of Killeen, TX
I bought a Stearns and Foster Firm Luxury Mattress in March of 2014. I thought I was buying comfort, boy was I wrong. When waking up in morning, we find that our hips are extremely painful (we are both side sleepers). We also find that we roll to the center of bed. I called Ashleys (that's where I bought it from) with my problem. Appointment was made and craftsmen came out. He said that I did not have a depression of 1 1/2 inches and that there was nothing they could do. I said what about my warranty, he said I did not fall in the guidelines. I bought a firm bed not rock hard. So I'm stuck with a product that I cannot use without waking up in pain.

Review from Fernando of Plainville, MA
Paid over $2600 for a king-size Stearns & Foster mattress at Sleepy's. Came with a 10 year guarantee. After 2 years, terrible indentation on both sides where we sleep. After trying to use kit they send from Marshall Mattress and downloading pics, could not do. I am a senior and this was very difficult. Called and asked for representative to come do. After much begging, pleading and screaming they sent rep.

Received a call from Sleepy's only 3 days after this (before rep came) and they told me claim denied and mattress satisfactory. I could not believe my ears. When I said, "Oh really? They haven't even been here yet." Person on phone was speechless. After rep came and actually said to me, "THIS MATTRESS IS HORRIBLE" I got a call days later from Sleepy's telling me depression in worst spot was 1" and warranty Stearns and Foster puts out, depression must be 1 1/2". I told rep, "I am going to chiropractor regularly and what am I supposed to do???" She answered me stating I should call back in January and maybe sinkhole will reach 1 1/2." I could not believed my ears.

This is ridiculous and totally unacceptable. I will be calling back every single month demanding they remeasure. I am so disgusted with both Stearns and Foster and Sleepy's. After reading other reviews, I realize this is ongoing problem and horrible company and mattresses. DO NOT BUY STEARNS AND FOSTER!!!

Review from Tracey of Henrico, VA
I bought the Stearns and Foster Italian Garden mattress and right away it had deep body impressions. It was replaced and the new one only 2 months old has the same deep body impressions. For $2800 I expected more.

Review from Nicholas of Ipswich, MA
Always suspect companies that leave no way of contacting them on their website. At Stearns & Foster's website you can read all kinds of fancy writings, but no e-mail address to contact them. There is an 800 number and good luck trying to talk to alive person there. You can even see the "file a warranty claim" link on their website, but it does not work (broken link). It is a shame... The company sells mattresses for thousands of dollars and does not stand by their products. When it comes to warranty their defective items, it hides behind Sleepy's, Mattress Marshalls and the "fine print" on their warranty. My experience with Stearns & Foster was terrible in all aspects: the product - low quality, the support - none whatsoever, and the people there - always acting like I did something wrong and never at all interested in learning why their product failed.

Review from Dragan of Calgary, AB
Just like most people, our mattress started to get the sinkhole. I called the warranty department who sent us a "kit" so we could measure the sinkhole. It was a pain to take all the pictures with string. I put extra weight on the ends of the string which made a difference, BTW. While we were doing the pictures I discovered that the box spring had a huge sinkhole too. It was becoming a huge pain to get the pictures and do the warranty so we decided to try buying a new box spring for our King size bed which solved the problem. When we received our new box spring we took apart our old box spring and discovered that the metal frame bends super easy. I think the problem is in the box spring for a lot of these mattresses failing. It was cheaper to replace one of the box springs than a new mattress.