Big Fig vs Stearns And Foster

Get an Instant Discount for Big Fig $100 Off + White Glove - Code DREAM

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Big Fig

Big Fig is the premier mattress for those with a 'bigger figure.' They make a super durable and supportive mattress that is designed to support plus-sized sleepers. With capacity to withstand distrubuted weights of up to 500-1000lbs and a 20 year warranty, these mattresses are super durable and perfect for those that have suffered from a lack of support, hot sagging beds, or are looking for a firm mattress.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Big Fig in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Big Fig

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Big Fig: 9.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Big Fig: $1299-$1999
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Big Fig:
$100 Off + White Glove - Code DREAM

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Big Fig's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers report feeling very comfortable and satisfied with these mattresses, which means that based off of recent and overall customer sentiment these mattresses have great percentages of positive feedback. Now that this brand has a good foundation, read on to learn more about the specifics of what customers are saying.

Big Fig's Supportiveness

Mattresses that support you help with better spine health and restful sleep. These mattresses provide deep support for sleepers with customers and reviewers shouting praises.

Edge Support
Edge support is key to winning approval from customers. If you sit on the side of your mattress to put on socks in the morning, you'll want something that props you up rather than sinking downward at the edges. These mattresses are supportive and comfortable around the sides, which is excellent for all sleepers!

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are a good way to show the firmness and supportiveness of a mattress. These mattresses are great at supporting and comforting sleepers, which is great for having a healthy night's sleep.

Big Fig's Durability

Like all items we buy, we as customers want things we buy to last. Sadly, with the current industry disruption that drives prices lower, expectations of quality changes. Even the blankets and nightware doesn't last as long as it used to. All that said, customers say that these mattresses are some of the most durable for the price. That means, that on average, they should be cozy for 7 - 12 years before breaking down. Furthermore, if you don't like the mattress feel in the short term, you have the option to replace because of the trial policy.

Get an Instant Discount for Big Fig:   $100 Off + White Glove - Code DREAM

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper reviews can be hard to understand from a high level -- especially with companies coming in and out of the market quickly. Sleepers, sadly, don't always feel comfortable from these mattresses. There are still folks that are content, but others who are really not. Learn more below to understand the specifics.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is important to all, but especially important for back and stomach sleepers. Side sleepers also need a responsive mattress for their bodies. These mattresses are above average when it comes to support. However, others had problems with the support so if you have a heavy build, make sure your choice aligns with your body.

Edge Support
Most agree with the edge support of these mattresses. Those that are heavier may find some dipping close to the edges.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

We all want a mattress that is going to last over a decade, and when our mattress causes us back pain after only a few months, we feel terrible However, now more than ever, it is getting harder to find lasting comfort. With more companies than ever, companies fighting for profit at the demise of quality. When it comes to these mattresses, unfortunately, they have some sleepers who have reported durability issues over a short time. It doesn't mean that durability issues will happen to you if you buy one of these, but make sure to read up on the warranty and return policies before buying.

Browse Big Fig Customer Reviews

Big Fig Queen Size Mattress

I like to sleep on my side and since I've had my new mattress, my shoulders don't hurt when I wake up. The mattress is working great. My only complaint is with the shipping company that delivered it. The box was a mess that the foundations came in. It looked like it had been opened then closed back up and it was smashed pretty good. The foundations were fine, but they didn't match. One was dark blue and one was black. I didn't make a big deal out of it since you can't see them anyway.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.