Big Fig vs Southerland

Get an Instant Discount for Big Fig Get $200 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Big Fig

Big Fig is the premier mattress for those with a 'bigger figure.' They make a super durable and supportive mattress that is specifically designed to support plus-sized sleepers. With capacity to withstand distributed weights of up to 1100lbs and a 20 year warranty, these sturdy mattresses are perfect for those that have suffered from a lack of support, hot sagging beds, or are looking for a firm mattress.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Big Fig in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Big Fig

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Big Fig: 9.4/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Big Fig: $1399-$2099
Southerland: $399-2399

Big Fig:
Get $200 Off Mattresses

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Big Fig's Owner Satisfaction

Looking for a new mattress isn't easy, but finding one that has a good reception from customers is a good starting point in finding out if it is right for you. Reviewers score these mattresses very highly versus others. Read on below to learn more about the mattresses and see what customers are saying about their experiences.

Big Fig's Supportiveness

Even support is extremely important for sleeping well, and these mattresses offer that great kind of support. Supportive mattresses don't always have to be firm mattresses. The essential quality to a supportive mattress is whether it provides healthy resistance to align your spine. These mattresses are excellent at aligning the spine and providing that kind of support.

Edge Support
Do you sit on the side of your bed often? Thest mattresses are perfect if you have to put on socks or slippers because they have good edge support and provide a nice ledge to sit on.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Many reviewers like measuring mattress firmness by resting a bowling ball on the surface. The most important thing to see is if the supportiveness is clear across the mattress to align to your body properly. These mattresses give even support across the mattress for a properly aligned rest.

Big Fig's Durability

These mattresses are great when it comes to longevity. If you are large or small, these mattresses can take what you throw at them. these mattresses should be able to support customers properly for years., these mattresses should be able to support customers properly for years. In extremely rare cases, some extremely active or much larger in body type customers may experience quicker declining, but these mattresses should be excellent for everyone with such a great trial policy.

Get an Instant Discount for Big Fig:   Get $200 Off Mattresses

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers felt very comfortable with their new mattress, but others couldn't get comfy. Despite those that love these mattresses, these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Below you will find more information from customers on the specifics from these mattresses.

Southerland's Supportiveness

In terms of having comfortable support for all, these mattresses have mixed feelings. Some customers feel like these mattresses provide a cozy comfort, but others didn't feel comfortable while they slept. If you are someone who is above average in weight or has wide shoulders or hips, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress without discomfort. Some folks report this brand's mattresses are not evenly supportive and may dip for some.

Southerland's Durability

Mattresses that are very durable are great, but difficult to find. Unfortunately, customers don't tend to rate these mattresses well in terms of durability. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Browse Big Fig Customer Reviews

Big Fig Queen Size Mattress

I like to sleep on my side and since I've had my new mattress, my shoulders don't hurt when I wake up. The mattress is working great. My only complaint is with the shipping company that delivered it. The box was a mess that the foundations came in. It looked like it had been opened then closed back up and it was smashed pretty good. The foundations were fine, but they didn't match. One was dark blue and one was black. I didn't make a big deal out of it since you can't see them anyway.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.