Big Fig vs Shifman

Get an Instant Discount for Big Fig Get $200 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Big Fig

Big Fig is the premier mattress for those with a 'bigger figure.' They make a super durable and supportive mattress that is designed to support plus-sized sleepers. With capacity to withstand distrubuted weights of up to 500-1000lbs and a 20 year warranty, these mattresses are super durable and perfect for those that have suffered from a lack of support, hot sagging beds, or are looking for a firm mattress.

Shifman

Shifman is a handmade luxury mattress brand that has been around since the last 1800s and has a legacy of elegant design and is found in mattress retailers and at Bloomingdales. Their mattresses are very high priced, usually well over $5,000 to start. Though they are a status symbol for some and boast hand craftsmanship, there are those that find that they provide a bad value for the materials used.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Big Fig in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Big Fig

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Big Fig: 9.2/10
Shifman: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Big Fig: 9.4/10
Shifman: 7.4/10

Price:
Big Fig: $1299-$1999
Shifman: $2,598-$29,783

Big Fig:
Get $200 Off Mattresses

Shifman:
Get Yours Now

Big Fig's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses have high ranks for customer satisfaction versus competitors, which means that based off of recent and overall customer sentiment these mattresses have great percentages of positive feedback. This provides a good foundation to look deeper into this brand -- read on for more specifics and customer reviews.

Big Fig's Supportiveness

Mattresses that support you help with better spine health and restful sleep. These mattresses provide deep support for sleepers with customers and reviewers shouting praises.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely important for most sleepers. If you like to sit on the edge of your mattress as a transition in and out of your bed, you'll want something that props you up rather than sinking downward at the edges. These mattresses are just the thing to support you around the edges, which is ideal for sleepers and bed sitters alike!

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Folks love seeing bowling ball and density tests to see how firm and supportive a mattress is. These mattresses provide even support in their firmness range, which is terrific for having a healthy back and painless night's sleep.

Big Fig's Durability

Buying products that last is a big benefit of being a discerning buyer. That said, it can be challenging to find long lasting products now more than ever as companies fight for profits. This means that we have lots of products being launched, but not all of them deliver true value. That said, there are still businesses that put extra focus on durability. The customer feedback and material data shows these matttresses specifically are good on durability., and should last between 7 - 12 years for the average sleeper.

Get an Instant Discount for Big Fig:   Get $200 Off Mattresses

Shifman's Owner Satisfaction

Using customer reviews as a guide can be great for discerning shoppers. Sadly, customers don't always feel comfortable with these mattresses. Some are very satisfied with the feel, but others report discomfort. If you are thinking about buying, make sure to get more details about the mattress below.

Shifman's Supportiveness

These mattresses aren't the best in terms of support. Though some customers are happy with their purchase, others have had issues with spine alignment. If this brand is on your list, do additional research to ensure it works for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is always important to those who like sitting on the side of the bed. However, others don't really mind as long as they are comfortable sleeping. Edge support in these mattresses may not be excellent so make sure to do added research if it is important for you.

Shifman's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. Sadly, sleepers don't rate these mattresses well when it comes to durability. That said, some customers may find their mattress lasts longer than average, while other mattresses may become uncomfortable faster. If you are heavier in body type, you may want to do extra looking before buying.

Browse Big Fig Customer Reviews

Big Fig Queen Size Mattress

I like to sleep on my side and since I've had my new mattress, my shoulders don't hurt when I wake up. The mattress is working great. My only complaint is with the shipping company that delivered it. The box was a mess that the foundations came in. It looked like it had been opened then closed back up and it was smashed pretty good. The foundations were fine, but they didn't match. One was dark blue and one was black. I didn't make a big deal out of it since you can't see them anyway.

View More Reviews

Browse Shifman Customer Reviews

I bought my first Shifman Mattress...

I bought my first Shifman Mattress in Bloomdales in 2001. It lasted me over ten years and was only tossed out due to the impossibility of getting such a heavy, well-made mattress down my third floor tenement stairs. I switched brands to my regret and have never gotten the good night's sleep I had with my Shifman. I can't even turn the mattress over because it is a one-sided mattress, something I was unaware of. When this one bites the dust, I'm returning to Shifman. It is a costly product and worth every cent.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Level

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.