Bed In A Box vs Yogabed

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Yogabed

Yogabed is a relative newcomer to the factory-direct mattress category. Their Yogabed Classic mattress is made with a proprietary blend of foam that reacts faster and sleeps cooler than traditional memory foam. They also use the addition of gel-infused foam to whisk away heat through the middle layer of the mattress as well. If you are looking for a medium firmness option, take a look deeper into what Yogabed has to offer.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Yogabed: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Yogabed: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Yogabed: 7.2/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Yogabed: 6.2/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Yogabed: $649-$1049

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Yogabed:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

It isn't always easy to figure out customer satisfaction with companies doing lots of work cleaning their online reputations. That said, these mattresses are reviewed well by customers overall. But, there were some sleepers that disagreed with the feel. so make sure to research the below specifics to learn if this mattress will work for you!

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

Some customers have been satisfied with the supportiveness of these mattresses, but others have been less than pleased. For those that already have aches and pains, read the reviews to make sure the mattress works with your body.

Edge Support
There are positive and negatives reported about edge support. Some reviewers feel good about the support equalibrium across the mattress, but others felt like things were uneven along the side.

Bed In A Box's Durability

We all want to find a mattress that is durable and will last a lifetime, but that is sometimes easier said than done. That said, data on materials, customer reviews, and tests make things a bit easier. These mattresses, specifically, are more durable than average and should last between 5 - 7 years for most, but some heavier folks may experience them to be slightly less durable.

Yogabed's Owner Satisfaction

Not everyone feels positive about these mattresses. Some sleepers are happy with the feel, but others have had issues. One of these mattresses may be great for you, but it makes it harder to predict. Take a look below to learn more about the specifics and to see if the mattress will work for you.

Yogabed's Supportiveness

These mattresses don't fit the needs of everyone in terms of support. Though most report initial comfort and support of the spine, others have had issues with alignment long term. If this brand is on your short list, make sure to read more about it before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is always important to those that like to sit close to the edge of the mattress Others don't find it is to be a big concern. These mattresses may not be perfect when it comes to edge support so make sure to do added reading if it is an important item for you.

Yogabed's Durability

We all want a mattress that is going to last over a decade, and when our mattress is something that instead gives us pain over a short term, this is terrible. However, now more than ever, it is getting harder to find lasting comfort. With more products in the industry than ever and rife competition, companies are sacrificing quality to find profits. When it comes to these mattresses, some folks had issues with discomfort over a short period of time. It doesn't mean that durability issues will happen to you if you buy one of these, but make sure to read up on the warranty and return policies before buying.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Yogabed Customer Reviews

looks nice from the outside.

I order the yogabed through their website, which was a breeze and the customer service was excellent. The bed, not so great. Upon unpacking, I notice a VERY strong chemical odor, which is from the foam off-gassing VOC's (volatile organic compounds) It took much longer than 3 days to dissipate, more like one week, which is much longer than anyone should have to inhale such a scent. Initially, the bed felt amazing, the cover is soft and stretchy (probably the best part of the whole mattress) and the top layer felt very nice. Sleeping on it was a different story though. After a few weeks the foam begins to soften as you "break-in" the bed. The parts where me and my partner slept, began to feel softer than the middle of the bed (and we're only 150 lbs). As a stomach and side-sleeper this was not ideal as I began to wake up with lower back pain. So we returned the bed. This seems to be a common problem with many foam beds in this price range. There are other beds on amazon that use similar materials and are a fraction of the cost (dreamfoam, brentwood homes etc). As for me and my partner, we opted for a bed that uses latex (natural, non-toxic, more durable than memory foam and doesn't smell) and a higher density base/core foam (more than 1.8 lbs) which seems to be holding up better. Do your research on foam beds and the quality of their materials. I would not recommend this bed to people who weigh over 180lbs or who have a sensitivity to chemical odors.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.