Bed In A Box vs Therapedic

Get The Best Holiday 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Therapedic

Therapedic manufactures a variety of innerspring, hybrid, latex, and memory foam mattresses. They focus predominantly on innerspring and hybrid bedding. You may have heard of them or seen them in local mattress stores across the United States. Overall, they are known for their orthopedic bedding that is designed to provide better back support than others. Overall, Therapedic's bedding is middle-range in terms of product offering.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Therapedic: 8.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Therapedic: 8.7/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Therapedic: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Therapedic: 8.2/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Therapedic: $139-$1099

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Therapedic:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Online reviews are a great resource to discovering if a product will work for you. Overall, these mattresses have high ratings from customers, but there are some that didn't feel as positively. Do some looking below into the mattress specifications to see if it will work for you.

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

Support is a bit different than firmness. Great support is when a mattress cradles the hips and shoulders to align the spine. Overall, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews when it comes to support. Most customers are happy with the support right after purchase, but some have reported support issues as time as gone on.

Edge Support
For folks that sit or lay on the edge of their mattress, edge support is essential. For most folks, these mattresses do a good job with edge support at the beginning, but some found that it wasn't as supportive as they'd like

Bed In A Box's Durability

Longevity is key to budget-conscious mattress shoppers. However, with brands fighting over profits, it isn't always a clear story for customers. That said, with customer feedback and mattress specifications, these mattresses are better than average when it comes to durability and will remain comfortable for over 5 years for most. But, some folks who are heavier may find their mattress loses some durability.

Therapedic's Owner Satisfaction

Most sleepers gave these mattresses solid ratings and felt comfortable with their sleep. However, some sleepers didn't sleep as well. If one of these mattresses looks good to you, make sure to do some more research below to make sure it will work for your body.

Therapedic's Supportiveness

Support is important for aligning the spine and keeping things comfortable for years. These mattresses do a good job providing support for most folks, but some may have complaints if they are heavy or have wide shoulders or hips.

Edge Support
Edge support is a very important factor for those looking for a great mattress and for those that spend lots of time sitting on the edge of their bed. These mattresses provide good resistance on the edge of the mattress, but some who are heavier may experience some extra contouring when sitting

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are a great way to measure firmness and support. These mattresses provide good support overall, but there may be the rare few that don't experience the same evenness described.

Therapedic's Durability

Mattresses don't last as long as they used to in years past. If you are looking for a mattress that will last over 15 years, it is hard thing to find. Yet, finding a mattress that really remains comfortable that long can save you lots of money. These mattresses get mixed feedback when it comes to durability. Some customers report no problems, but others have issues with the durability over a shorter horizon than average.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Therapedic Customer Reviews

Good mattress

I love my therapedic mattress. I've had it for the past 6 months and I can't say enough good things. The only thing that I don't like is that I feel like it has fallen about an inch since I got it. I am worried that it will continue to sag.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.