Bed In A Box vs Symbol

Get The Best Holiday 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Symbol

Symbol mattress company was founded in 1961, focused originally predominantly on commercial mattresses including mattresses for schools and health care facilities. Over the past few years, they have used their commercial backing to release consumer products through retailers in the Midwest, Northeast, and South Eastern U.S. They boast American made fabrics and manufacturing and use certified Certipur-US foam (which is low in volatile organic compounds) on some of their mattresses. Most customers like their mattresses at first, but there are some that experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Symbol: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Symbol: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Symbol: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Symbol: 7.2/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Symbol: $189-$1259

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Symbol:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Reading online reviews and getting a sense of how people feel is a great way to figure out if a company is going to be a good fit for you. Overall, these mattresses are regarded highly by customers, but there are some that didn't feel as good with the mattresses. Research more below to see if one of these mattresses will work with your body type.

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

In terms of supportiveness, these mattresses get mixed reviews. Some have described them as supportive and report being comfortable, but others didn't feel that the mattress was equipped to provide comfort. If you are someone who is above average in weight or has wide shoulders or hips, you may want to do additional research to make sure these mattresses will work for you

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress. Some folks report this brand's mattresses are not evenly supportive and may dip for some.

Bed In A Box's Durability

Getting a durable mattress is essential to shoppers, but some companies don't put the same attention on durability. Luckily, these mattresses have good ratings when it comes to durability. Most folks will continue to be happy about their mattress after 5 years, but some who are heavy or use their mattress above average will find that their mattress is not as durable.

Symbol's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering one of these mattresses, make sure to read on for more information. They, sadly, get some low reviews from customers. Some folks were very comfy in their new beds, but others reported discomfort with the feel.

Symbol's Supportiveness

Most customers find these mattresses supportive, which means they cradle the body to align the spine for most sleepers. That said, a few customers have had complaints, so make sure to do research to align your pick with your sleeping position and body type.

Edge Support
Overall, these mattresses are reported as having good edge support, which means most sleepers don't notice a dip while rolling towards the edge or sitting on the side of the bed.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests that measure to see if a mattress has even support throughout the mattress, the support is even across the surface. However, some customers describe one-off support issues, so make sure your selection works for you before buying.

Symbol's Durability

These mattresses may not be as durable over the long term as you'd expect. Over a shorter than average time period, some sleepers have had issues with durability and feel. If you are have a larger body type and are looking for something with lasting support, these mattresses may feel good initially, but do some added reading of customer reviews before purchasing.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Symbol Customer Reviews

Symbol Mattress

We purchased our queen matress about a year ago. Loved it at first but now its broke down in the center. The place where u bought it tells me its not in warranty since i didnt buy the box springs with it. WELL I WASNT INFORMED OF THAT WHEN U PURCHASED IT or i would have got the box springs. Now im out 600 dollors on a 5 year warranty mattress. I will tell everyome i know about this. My company i work for purchases all its matresses from these people for campers. NOT ANYMORE

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.