Bed In A Box vs Spring Air

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Spring Air

Spring Air is a classic bed maker that has been crafting mattresses since 1926. One of their most recognizable brands is Chattam & Wells. Spring Air is a large mattress manufacturer with over 13 US factories and 22 factories internationally. They offer exclusively hybrid mattresses with latex and/or memory foam and pocketed coil innersprings. They also sell their mattresses at popular retailers such as Costco. Overall, their largest customer hurdle is around their warranty fairness and durability concerning sagging in the middle of the bed.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Spring Air: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Spring Air: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Spring Air: 7.3/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Spring Air: 7.8/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Spring Air: $899-1699

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Spring Air:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Customers give these mattresses high marks for comfort overall. This means that there is significant positive feedback from customers, but with a few caveats. There are some sleepers who had complaints about the comfort. Read on below to learn more about if the mattresses will fit you!

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

In terms of providing comfortable support for everyone, these mattresses get mixed reviews. Some have described them as supportive and report being comfortable, but others weren't able to get comfortable. If you are larger than average, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important item for anyone that likes to lounge on the side of their mattress or has mobility concerns. Some folks report this brand's mattresses are not evenly supportive and may dip for some.

Bed In A Box's Durability

Having comfort last for years and years is an essential factor for mattress buyers. Though there are some reasons, like dust, that would mean we wouldn't want to sleep on the same mattress for over 15 years, we would all be happier knowing our mattress could last that long. These mattresses do well overall when it comes to durability. Most folks will find they last over 7 years, but there have been rare complaints about feel. If you are a heavier person and concerned about longevity, make sure to review the specification before buying.

Spring Air's Owner Satisfaction

Not all sleepers like these mattresses. Some folks report feeling comfy, but others experience discomfort. Therefore, it is hard to understand if one of these will keep you totally comfortable. Continue reading below to learn if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Spring Air's Supportiveness

Getting good support from your mattress is important to getting a good night's sleep. If your mattress doesn't support you well, you are likely not getting the good sleep that you need. Overall, most customers resonate with the supportiveness from these mattresses, but some had issues with them.

Edge Support
These mattresses offer good edge support, which is well regarded by those that like to roll over to the side of the mattress. There still may be some dipping for those that have larger body types.

Spring Air's Durability

Discovering a durable mattress is really nice, but it's not always that simple. Unfortunately, customers don't tend to rate these mattresses well in terms of durability. That said, some customers may find their mattress lasts longer than average, while other mattresses may not last very long at all. If you are bigger in body type, take a look at the reviews before purchasing.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Spring Air Customer Reviews

Bought this 2 yrs ago

Unfortunately we have returned it due to both sides sinking Leaving a huge hump in the middle

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.