Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get The Best June 2024 Mattress Deals!
Unlock Today's Coupons

Bed In A Box vs. Sleepys

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Having started with a small selection of all-foam mattresses, they have added mattresses in a variety of design options and firmnesses over time including pocket coil hybrids and all-foam choices. With 6 mattresses to choose from, their mattresses range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, most customers report good experiences, but there were some complaints about durability and firmness for some.

Sleepys

Sleepy's Mattress is a wholly owned Mattress Firm brand, offering mattress in a box selections and mostly very competitive prices. With mattress varieties in foam, innerspring, encased coil, and hybrid designs, there is a wide range to choose from, both in-store and online. However, over the years there have been some disagreements about durability and perceived quality as well as sometimes lack of availability for certain models.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.7/10
Sleepys: 8.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Sleepys: 8.2/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Sleepys: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 9/10
Sleepys: 8.1/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Sleepys: $199-$3799

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Sleepys:
Get Yours Now


Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews is a powerful way to create a more targeted list of potential mattresses for you. Sleepers rate these mattresses well, but there were a few who didn't feel as happy. The below has more information about the feel of the mattress and a selection of customer reviews -- research on to make sure one of these works for you!


Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

There are mixed feelings from customers about the longevity of support of these mattresses. Though many find these mattresses comfy initially, if you are bigger than average, make sure to read the reviews before buying.

Edge Support
For those that need longevity in their edge support., some reviewers report that these mattresses may not have the kind of edge support over the long term that you may need.


Bed In A Box's Durability

Having a long lasting mattress is essential to everyone, but because of the influx of new companies in the space, it can be hard to shoppers to understand. That said, customers are quite responsive about what they like and what they don't like about many brands. These mattresses do a good job with durability for the average customer. Heavier folks may find these mattresses to be less long living.

Sleepys's Owner Satisfaction

Reviews are an excellent way to get at the benefits of a mattress. However, it can be a difficult thing to stay focused on after reading hundreds of reviews. Based on recent reviews and overall customer sentiment, these mattresses have some mixed emotions. Some report feeling comfy in their new bed, but others report not feeling as good.


Sleepys's Supportiveness

Most folks describe these mattresses as doing a good job supporthing their bodies, but others didn't always agree with the feel. For those with wider frames, take a look at the firmness ratings before buying as you'll want to make sure that you are supported well enough for your spine to be aligned.

Edge Support
For those that want a mattress they can sit comfortably on, most reviewers describe the mattresses as being supportive on the edges. However, some have had some issues so if you have mobility issues, make sure to review more.


Sleepys's Durability

Based on the materials that are in the mattress, the average durable mattress will stay comfortable for at least 7 - 12 years. Foam mattresses are less durable, while mattresses with springs tend to last longer if they are well made. That said, mattresses with less of a focus on durability can start sagging much faster, especially under the weight of heavier sleepers. Reviewers give these mattresses mixed ratings. Some have found comfort for the long term, but others have had complaints.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm
I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

I researched the best I could online
I'm giving this product 3 out of 5 for now. I suspect it will go down to a 2 unless it miraculously improves in comfort.

I researched the best I could online. SleepLikeTheDead.com appears to be, purports to be, a non-biased review organization. They rate this product higher than any other. And report 380+ customer reviews in part of their opinion.

"The ratings – based on 380+ consumer reviews gathered using an unbiased, accurate methodology – show how Bed In A Box mattresses compare to the average mattress."

Problem is, I can't find any customer reviews on the BedInaBox website. I can't find anywhere to leave a review on their website. I can't find any ling on the SleepLikeTheDead website to provide a review. So, I'll leave it here, with the other 5.

I purchased a twin for my son and a king fro myself. My son's mattress has no "off-gassing" smell. My mattress smells like it became moldy in the air vacuumed packaging, and is going on 5 days of a smell I can't sleep with. The smell has permeated my down comforter and I suspect I'm going to need to replace it.

My son says his mattress is fine and has no issues with comfort.

I have issues with my L5/S1. My previous mattress caused me discomfort. This mattress makes my back pain unbearable. I can't sleep through he night and have pain all day long. I am resorting to sleeping on the couch while I wait for the 60 day trial period to end.

The bed does not give in enough. My hips are raised while my L5 is forced down. It's basic physics. Even if you don't have L5 issues, this mattress will certainly encourage it. If I slept on my side, I'm sure it would not be an issue. I don't sleep on my side.

Not impressed. Not impressed with SleepLikeTheDead or BedInABox.

I can only hope that they don't expect me to ship this thing back to get the money back guarantee. I don't have the equipment to make it compact and vacuum packed that they do when they shipped it to me.

BEST BED FOR YOUR DOLLAR
I LOVE this bed!!!!!! While shopping for a new mattress I wanted to try a non traditional online mattress retailor. I first tried CASPER beds and that bed was so uncomfortable I could only sllep on it for 4 nights before my wife made we change back to our spring mattress. This was our next bed and after a week we decided we would keep it for good. The customer service during ordering was great . I really liked the try in home no risk policy but dont worry you wont need to use it cause this bed is amazing. It is just as comfortable as the Temper-pedic beds I tried in stores. Give this bed a try whats the worst that could happen.

Very satisfied.
Arrived in a very manageably sized package, I didn't have any off gassing issues, and the bed is every bit as comfortable as I'd hoped so far.

Excellent.. just what me and my wife needed
Excellent..just what me and my wife needed

Three Stars
Not as comfortable as I imagined

We recently ordered the PacBed Original...
We recently ordered the PacBed Original and a foundation, King, online. Ordering was straightforward and easy. Communication from Bed-In-A-Box was timely and done via email. Our mattress and foundation arrived within four business days. Set up for the foundation took about 20 minutes - directions were easy to follow and assembly was without hitch. Unboxing / unwrapping of the mattress was quick and again, easy, taking about 4 minutes. This king size mattress is a bit heavy and unweidly to move into place on the foundation but with two people it was done within 30 seconds. Total time to set up: 30 minutes! Note: There was no smell to the mattress.

The mattress feel is firm. You can barely feel another move, toss or turn, or get in or out of the bed. It did take a few days to adjust to the feel of the mattress and getting a quilted mattress cover helped in adding a bit of 'cushion'. The first few days my husband and I woke up stiff...though we believe that was due to staying in one position rather than tossing and turning or lack of support.

After two weeks sleeping on the mattress...we love it! It's comfortable. Neither of us toss or turn anymore. It provides quality support. When we need to replace our other mattresses, this will be the one we buy!

Bought this mattress to replace
Bought this mattress to replace a pillow top mattress that was showing some wear and not very comfortable any more. Very pleased so far. Our son recommended bed in a box after he bought one for himself 2 years ago.

Bed in a Box
We recently purchased a 'Bed in the Box', everyone thought I was crazy, but the online research and reviews were great so we decided to give it a try - we are very happy with the mattress, the ordering process and delivery.

King size Pacbed
Great price. Quick delivery. Super comfortable ! My husband is up by 6:30 AM having never slept better!! Customer for like!

The best!
My husband and I love this bed. It is extremely comfortable and supportive, without being too soft. The warranty plus the 120-day money back guarantee are unheard of and excellent. I am so excited to have this bed for a long, long time!

happy back
Our 8 year old Tempurpedic no longer did the trick. Sore backs for both of us every morning. Our new mattress is great, easy to move and unpack, no off-gassing, and so comfortable.

Good Buy
Been sleeping on the mattress for several weeks now. I would call it firm. It's very comfortable for me as a stomach/back sleeper. I thought it might be too firm for my wife as she is a side sleeper, but she is happy too.

So Far So Good...
I'm not sure what I was expecting at first, my initial shock was that it was literally a bed in a box. From visiting with others about a foam mattress, we were told to 'break' in the bed by walking/jumping on it. Now the bed has settled quite nicely. We are sleeping much more comfortably and soundly. I truly wake up with few to zero aches. Overall, BedInABox was extremely easy to purchase from, quick to ship and so far a great product! I only hope it continues to get better through the years!

Love it!
Very firm, very comfortable bed! No backaches! In fact, I like it better than our tempurpedic!

Nice mattress and cover, but it's firmer than I expected.
Comfortable, but a little firmer than I expected.

New Bed
Have only slept on it 3 night due to being out of town. Seems good so far. It is an adjustment from sleeping on a inner spring mattress for 50 years. The mattress was a little firmer than I expected. I want to give it a good month before I can truly give it a thumbs up or thumbs down.

I bought this to replace
I bought this to replace my old mattress. It is a little firmer than I expected but overall nice mattress. I do sleep better.

Too Early to tell
initially my pacbed felt far firmer than my tranquility I had before, and its supposed to be the softer bed. after 1 week I think I like the bed but I really need more time to know for sure.

Pretty Darn Good!
We've only had our mattress for 8 days, so it's a little difficult for me to give it a full 5 stars. I bought this mattress over my husband's mild objections, really worried it wouldn't work out. So far, it has. I'm sleeping much more comfortably than I have in a year. I'm a side sleeper and can only sleep on left side due to medical issues. I've developed arthritis in left hip. Happily, I'm not waking up in the night because of pain in my hip and feel rested and ache free in the morning. My husband is feeling more rested, too. The 2 things I'm not so happy about are the mattress seems concave. I actually feel like I could roll over to the middle when my husband gets in bed. I don't like that; what will happen in the future? Also, I can feel him move around. I was counting on this being motion free. I should have gotten a king and or a higher quality mattress. I've already recommended Bed in a Box to a friend.

Sleeping much better than before.
My wife and I are sleeping much better since we got this bed. I haven't had any of the neck pains I used to have with our old bed. Setup was pretty easy and was accomplished without problem.

Very firm
The bed came and was easy to assemble. We also bought the box spring which was fairly simple to assemble. The bed is firmer than I am used to

Extremely Firm, No Warranty
I explained that I was waking up every morning with back pain. For giving a company $1500, I would expect some kind of customer support. Instead I was told my mattress was past it's "try period" therefore there was nothing they could do. Many mattress companies offer a comfort guarantee. Not these guys. Regret my purchase 100%.

Tranquillium Mattress
The Tranquillium mattress is not at all a firm mattress, I strongly advise against it to those who really want a firm mattress. I can honestly say that is more near a medium -soft mattress . I don t understand why is a mattress #firm# I have to leave with that piece of crap since I can not returned because I have opened it when my furniture came after 3 months. That was my 4 a mattress( and last) bought from this Company. I am so disappoint when a company try to sell something that is not even closer at he reality.

Great buy!
I recently bought a King Original for home after having a Queen size for our travel trailer for 10 years. The one in the trailer is still doing great and looks new. We are Very pleased with our King at home. The Bedinabox replaces a Tempurpedic we have had problems with for a few years now. Back pain is gone and this bed feels great in whatever position I sleep in. The Bedinabox costs a fraction of what the Tempurpedic does. There is no chemical smell when first opened. The Tempurpedic stunk bad for over a week! Really. Very, very pleased with this purchase.

Truly satisfied AirBNB guests!
I run an AirBnB out of my home. I rent 4 rooms and every room now has BedInTheBox mattresses. Many guests have gone on to order their own for themselves. I ordered this Azul bundle for my last room. I always sleep on new mattresses before my guests do to be sure they are ok. This one may be my favorite yet. Always fast shipping and great customer service as well.

Mattress exchange
The first mattress I got was uncomfortable. But they made it right by sending me a different one and it's very comfortable. They even threw in a mattress case and a pillow. This is my second purchase with them. The first mattress lasted 20 years. Thank you

Browse Sleepys Customer Reviews

Great Mattress
Purchased Sleepys king size over a month ago. I have never had a more consistent quality sleep. I work a lot and have soreness in my back and legs (not injury pains) and used to only sleep around 5 1/2 - 6 hours a night. I sleep soundly now with the Sleepys mattress. I would recommend this to any and everyone that's looking for a new mattress. First time I've slept past 9am in many years.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Wonderful Mattress!!!
I bought this mattress 3 weeks ago and I have Fibromyalgia, arthritis, severe back pain, chronic pain for the last 18 years. Every mattress I had before caused some sort of pain, even with memory foam mattress toppers. I decided to try the Sleepy's Essential 8" Memory foam mattress and I'm so happy I did, I'm SO pleased with this mattress!!! it doesnt make you feel hot and it doesnt sag when you lay down on it; is a firm feel but its very comfortable. The first night I slept on this mattress I slept through the night and that is something I could never so before. My sleep is so much better since I purchased this mattress and I recommend this to any one who suffers from back pain or similar problems that I have. It was worth every cent I paid for it! Thank you so much Mattress Firm!

Great Purchase
I purchased this mattress and have been satisfied ever since. I love the feeling of sleeping on a firm mattress with a little cushion so this was perfect. I liked sleeping on the floor as a child because of the firmness, now I have comfort and firmness.

Essential 8" Memory Foam Mattress
I was surprised when they delivered it how it was compressed , After 2 hours of expanding it was ready to try in the comfort of our own home . It sits a lot lower than on the old matters ( felt like you would fall off a mountain with that one ) So far a delight to sleep on an we picked it out ourselves .

Great for spinal pain sufferers!
Sleeping so much better. Happy to have a great mattress.

Nice and firm
I slept on this for about 2 wk and a half. First 2 wk smelled, so I tried to air it out the first couple of days by taking off the cover/ wash/ keep upright w/ windows open, ventilate etc. After 2wk the smell is alright. I like mine firm, so this one is okay. I prefer slightly more firm but overall this one is alright.

Firm
Bought it for my son, he is very happy with it and sleeps well at night.

Love it
The price quality and service can't be beat great job Mattress Firm

Essential Firm
I brought this for my I Uncle who has mobility issues. After he got use to it, he was able to get in and out without any problem.

Awesome comfort
I received my bed on Jan. 25th, 2018 and it's just absolutely great.

Firm!
Is firm firm firm I love it!!! Just like I expected thank you so much

Excellent
My first night on this amazing mattress. I love my bed.

Bed is soft but does not return...
Bed is soft but does not return to it's original position well. I've been sleeping on one side and after about a week or two there is a noticeable difference in height between the side I sleep on and the other one.

Perfect comfort
I sleep so well on this mattress and that’s what count. Love this, love love love!

New mattress
My wife and I live the new mattress and the price was right...thank you

It is very good!
I’m very happy with my new Bed! The pillow top is great balance between plush and firm mattress!!

Love this bed
Just got our bed today and i love it my wife and i both have bad backs and its perfect

BEST MATTRESS EVER
This is the best mattress, hands down!! I did a lot of research and took a lot of different quizzes to figure out what kind of mattress works best for me, and this one came out on top. I have back problems and since I got this mattress last week, I haven't been any! It is plush yet firm and oh so comfortable. I also bought a mattress pad that has made sleeping so good. I 100% recommend this mattress to anyone and everyone!

Look elsewhere
I bought this mattress on 5/14/18 for $249.00 and I hate it! It is as stiff as a board and makes so much noise that even when the dog moves, It rests on a very expensive box spring that has never creaked before. I cannot exchange it without incurring another $100.00 fee. I have a back and neck ache that I did not have before sleeping on this horrible product.

Love this mattress!
My dad bought this mattress for my younger brother. He is very tall and is very active, he loves it! It's so supportive, not too firm or too soft, and very comfortable! I am surprised at how great the quality is for the price.

I love this mattress!
This is the first time i have bought this kind a Mattress, I had my doubts since my youngest daughter have one like this, i have two back surgery’s my doctor recommended me a firm mattress and said this is garbage mattress i said let me try it. I can’t be more happy! I got ut with the adjustable base, the best purchase ever. 5 days and 25more to go for. Since it takes 30days for your body to get used to a new bed.

Firm and comfortable!
The store clerk said we would not regret it if we went with our first choice on a firmer option. The queen arrived in a skinny rectangular box that we thought was the frame because it was so compact. Amazingly, over the next hour, it transformed from a pancake into a thick and luxurious mattress. We got the protective casing which makes me feel 10x better during everyday use that we will never have a problem with our warranty. So far, the bed is exactly what I wanted. When I go to sleep, I have a tremendous amount of support with enough give to make an indent where my body naturally curves. I'm about 125lb, and my husband is about 225. He says his indents do not as quickly rise when he changes positions, so it takes a minute until his side of the bed fills back in. It's only been a month, but I have confidence we are going to love and keep this bed for many years. I highly recommend the base with the header and footer rise. We always sleep with it flat, but the few minutes in an elevated foot/head position really relieve back tension. Thanks for a high quality product!! The bed is also beautifully stitched. I would come back. The deals at mattress firm are competitive for the quality you receive.

Great mattresses
I am sleeping so much better, it is cooler I am not turning as much , I find my self wanting to get in bed n useing the feet n head posture in stead of siting up in frount of the T v in family room get to to work on my I pad ,

Good mattress but not for us
We slept on this bed for over two months and it just did not soften up as much as we had hoped, really barely at all. It is a very firm mattress but is still comfortable to sleep on though it just causes back pain for me and my partner. The cooling is great but make sure you have breathable sheets or it will be just as hot as any other bed. If you are looking for a firm memory foam this is great, just dont expect it to get much softer than what you get the first day.

extremely comfortable
bought this weeks ago and now my son is getting a good nights sleep

Great Quality
I have had this mattress for a few weeks ago and I am glad I went with the Sleepy's cool. It is a bit on the firmer side but this is what I like. For the price you can not go wrong. They had a special and I got a free adjustable frame with my purchase and I could not be more pleased.

Very nice mattress at a fair price
I’ve been sleeping on the twin version of this mattress exclusively since it was delivered on 4/23/18. Some background: I had been experiencing a lot of morning mid-back and rib pain on my old mattress, and was not sleeping well. I am a mid-50s insomniac woman. I tried several models in the store, including Tulo and Serta iComfort memory foam, and chose this one due to its thickness, beefy feel and comfort during the 15 minutes or so of testing. Although it felt firmer than my preference, I figured it would be a good option for my back pain, and I decided to give it a try. I did not think to purchase a new foundation (“box spring”) at the time.

Best Mattress Ever...
I just purchased in store 3 days ago and I love the cool mattress temperature and the fact of it having no springs. It's plush firm like cuddles your body I have a knee injury and in the last 3 days of sleeping on this my knee has felt better.also I don't need a bunch of pillows anymore my back feels great .. I will never go back to springs. This is a great mattress Try it...

Different kind of bed
I bought this mattress a week ago. I have had Simmons and Serra inter-spring beds up until now. We tried it in the showroom and were hesitant as it was very firm but since it sort of confirmed to our body and the price was right we thought we would give it a try. I can say now that it is taking us a bit to get used to this type of bed but are overall very happy with it and are confident that over time it will soften up a bit. It is a well constructed bd and we are happy with our purchase


I am so pleased with this mattress the best thing I like about it is that it is so solid that you can't feel the next person moving on the bed when they toss and turn or get up or lay down it's very comfortable and just what I needed

For once i sleep through the night!
I bought this a couple months ago and love it! I sleep through the night!

Extremely Firm
Have slept in this mattress for 5 nights and was hoping I would get used to the firmness but unfortunately neither my husband or I sleep well in it. My children had a foam mattress and love it so we thought we would give it a try in our new beach condo. They obviously purchased something softer because this is extremely firm. Wake up each morning with a back ache. Going to call about exchanging it.

Great Product
We exchanged a tulo for this mattress and were very satisfied. My wife sleeps better that she has for years. thank you.

Best Mattresses!
I'm very happy with my purchase, the service and everything was great! I wouldn't trade my mattress for anything, and at unbelievable, affordable price, highly recommend them!

Great choice
I love my new mattress couldnt be happier only if i could stay in bed longer

Great product.
We bought our mattress a month ago and it was our best purchase ever. Can't wait to climb in bed every night. No aches or pains ever since our mattress was delivered. We give it a 5 star rating.

Cool Mattress
I had this mattress for about a month and although I love the feel of the mattress it seems hotter than a normalization

Feels like a more expensive mattress
Value was important to us and this mattress was a great purchase.

Very comfortable releived most of my aches & pains
You wouldn't think it but my old mattress was killing me! After one night of sleep on this mattress my left shoulder and back had no pain. Which hasn't been the case for almost a year. I thought I was just getting old turns out is was my bed! Sleepy's cool mattress me and my wife thank you its been over a month and we can't say enough to thank you for such a great Mattress and for relieving what felt like years of pain. I do have one question for you do you make pillows?

Sleepy’s Cool
Too early to tell ... so far I like it. No recommendations yet.