Bed In A Box vs Serta

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Serta Perfect Sleeper

Serta offers innerspring and hybrid mattresses and are common at many mattress big box and retail outlets. You have likely heard the brand name on the radio. Serta has been in the mattress business for a long time and offers both classic innerspring designs and innovative all-foam and hybrid mattresses. While most customers find Serta's branded products to be initially comfortable, there are some concerns about durability for some sleepers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 8.2/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Serta Perfect Sleeper: $299-$3499

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Serta Perfect Sleeper:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Customers give these mattresses higher than average customer satisfaction ratings. This means most customers leave positive ratings for this brand, but there were some caveats. Some folks didn't like the overall feel. Read on below to learn more about if the mattresses will fit you!

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

Some customers report that these mattresses are well supported, but others have had problems with the support. For those that have tender backs already, make sure to read the reviews to make sure the mattress works for you.

Edge Support
These mattresses have mixed reviews when it comes to edge support. Some folks have reported good amounts of comfort throughout the mattress, but others felt like things were uneven along the side.

Bed In A Box's Durability

Having a mattress that is durable is very important to shoppers, but some brands don't put the same kind of attention on building quality that lasts. That said, these mattresses get high marks from sleepers on durability. Most customers are happy with their mattress for 5 to 7 years, but some folks that are heavier may find that there mattress doesn't last as long.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, read more below for added specifics. Unfortunately, they get poor ratings from some customers. Some were extremely happy with their purchase, but many others were not as excited.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses may leave something to be desired in terms of lasting support. Though there are those that like what these mattresses offer them, others have had issues with spine alignment. If you are considering these mattresess, make sure to take a look further before buying.

Edge Support
Edge support is essential to those that like to lay close to the edge of the mattress. However, others don't really mind as long as they are comfortable sleeping. These mattresses may not be perfect when it comes to edge support so make sure to do added reading if it is an important item for you.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Durability

Mattresses that are very durable are great, but difficult to find. Sadly, sleepers don't rate these mattresses well when it comes to durability. That being said, some may provide comfort for years and years, while other customers may have much faster discomfort. If you are bigger in body type, take a look at the reviews before purchasing.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Serta Perfect Sleeper Customer Reviews

Really nice when warm. Hard as a brick when cold.

Have a cabin where the bed room temp is around 60 in the winter. The upper 3 inches of gel memory foam is really ridgid when cold. Climb into a cold bed is more like climbing onto a piece of plywood. After about 10 minutes, your body temp softens the foam and it is really comfortable... until you roll over too far onto a cold slab and you are back on the plywood.

I sure hope summer is more comfy.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.