Bed In A Box vs Oso

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Oso

Oso is an online foam mattress in a box company owned by Reverie, which makes lines of luxury foam mattresses and adjustable bases. Where Oso is different than other brands is that it has Dreamcell™ foam springs, which are made of latex foam and provide added support in the base layer, while being ventilated and cushioning the body without pressure points. Most folks like their Oso mattresses!

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Oso in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Oso


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Oso: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Oso: 8.9/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Oso: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Oso: 8.8/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Oso: $700-$1000

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Oso:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

With reputation management, finding out customer satisfaction isn't terribly easy for the average shopper. That said, these mattresses are reviewed well by customers overall. However, there were some folks that didn't feel the same way about the feel. so make sure to research the below specifics to learn if this mattress will work for you!

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

Some customers report that these mattresses are well supported, but some have had issues with support over the long term. For those with achy backs that need spine alignment, read the reviews to make sure the mattress works with your body.

Edge Support
There are mixed signals about edge support on these mattresses. Some find these mattresses to have even support, but others had issues with sagginess towards the sides.

Bed In A Box's Durability

Good durability when it comes to comfort is one of the best factors in selecting a new mattress. Though there are some things, like dust mites, that would inhibit us from having a mattress for more than 15 years safely, we could all sleep easier if it was a guarantee our mattress would last that long. These mattresses are good overall when it comes to longevity. Most folks will find they last over 7 years, but there have been rare complaints about feel. If you are a heavier person and concerned about longevity, make sure to review the specification before buying.

Oso's Owner Satisfaction

Reading customer reviews is a great way to create a pinpointed list of mattresses. These mattresses do great on customer satisfaction, but some didn't like the feel as much. The below has more information on the mattress and a selection of reviews -- study on!

Oso's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress will help with back problems and keeping things comfortable over the long term. These mattresses do a good job providing support for most folks, but some may have complaints if they are heavy or have wide shoulders or hips.

Edge Support
Edge support is a popular metric of success for mattress makers and for those that like spending time on the side or bottom of their mattress. These mattresses should do well with edge support, but some heavier folks may experience more contouring along the sides.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are a great way to measure firmness and support. These mattresses offer solid support for most customers, but there may be the rare few that don't experience the same evenness described.

Oso's Durability

Having a mattress that is durable is very important to shoppers, but some companies care more about profits than they do about quality. Luckily, these mattresses are above average when it comes to durability. Most folks will find that they are happy with their mattress after 5 to 7 years, but some who use their mattress more than average will find that it doesn't last as long.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Oso Customer Reviews

Amazing mattress

Amazing mattress and Amazing company! I am a professional athlete who competes for TeamUSA and I can't believe the difference this mattress has made in my performance and recovery! If you are looking for a new mattress I highly recommend this one!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.