Bed In A Box vs Ortho

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Ortho

Ortho mattress is a southern Californian mattress retailer that sells their own brand of mattresses along with name brands like Serta and Tempur-Pedic. Their mattresses are made predominantly for the budget conscious shopper and come in either innerspring, hybrid, or memory foam options. Most folks like their Ortho mattresses, but some have had issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Ortho: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Ortho: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Ortho: 7.4/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Ortho: 7.3/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Ortho: $149-$2539

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Ortho:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Online reviews are a great resource to discovering if a product will work for you. Overall, these mattresses have high ratings from customers, but there are some that had mixed experiences. Look over the below details to discover if one of these mattresses will fit your body.

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

Some of the customers don't feel that the mattresses support them well enough. Though some customers are pleased with these mattresses, if you are bigger than average, take a look at the mattress specs before buying.

Edge Support
For customers looking for good edge support, you may want to take a look at the reviews as these mattresses have mixed reviews about edge support.

Bed In A Box's Durability

Good durability when it comes to comfort is one of the best factors in selecting a new mattress. Even though there are some factors, like dust mites, that mean having a mattress for 15 or 20 years isn't the best, we all would hope that our mattress would last longer if we still wanted it. These mattresses do well overall when it comes to durability. Most folks will find they last over 7 years, but there have been rare complaints about feel. If you are a heavier person than average and worried about durability, do some additional research to make sure your selection works with your body.

Ortho's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be sometimes difficult to find and make sense of -- especially with some companies moderating reviews. Customers, unfortunately, don't always feel great about these mattresses. There are still customers that are very satisfied, but many others who are not. Research more below to learn about the specifics of the mattresses.

Ortho's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress isn't always a very firm mattress. Great support is when your mattress aligns the spine and leads to a better night sleep. Unfortunately, these mattresses have some negative feedback around support. Most customers are comfortable with the support right after purchase, but some have had issues with support over the long term.

Edge Support
For folks that sit or lay on the edge of their mattress, edge support is essential. At first, these mattresses do a good job with edge support, but some didn't think that it was as comfortable long term as they had wished.

Ortho's Durability

We all want a long lasting mattress, and when our mattress causes us back pain after only a few months, we feel terrible However, finding lasting comfort nowadays is a real challenge. With more products in the industry than ever and rife competition, companies are sacrificing quality to find profits. With these mattresses, some reviewers had problems with longevity That doesn't necessarily mean that durability issues will happen to everyone, but make sure to read up more before buying.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Ortho Customer Reviews

Great experience buying a mattress

Great experience buying a mattress. Knowledgeable, helpful, and not sales-y at all. There's a huge selection, but Johnny was able to help us narrow it down quickly based on our preferences and needs. Prices are reasonable (especially when you buy when there's a deal going on). We made our purchase at the end of the day, and the mattress was delivered (free) the next day without a hitch. Highly recommend!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.