Bed In A Box vs Nectar

Get an Instant Discount for Nectar Get $100 Off & 2 Premium Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Nectar

Nectar is one of the most popular mattress brands. They have great differentiators - their memory foam mattress is a perfectly cozy medium-firm (both supportive and pressure-relieving), which most customers find desirable versus others. Also, they offer a full year trial and a 'forever' warranty, which is really generous compared to other brands. With CertiPUR-US foams, optional white glove delivery, a competitive pricepoint, and 'Buy Now, Pay Later' financing through Affirm, this is definitely a brand to consider. Live in the UK? See our review for the UK version too.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Nectar in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Nectar

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Nectar: 9.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Nectar: 9.7/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Nectar: 9.8/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Nectar: 9.4/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Nectar: $499-$999

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Nectar:
Get $100 Off & 2 Premium Pillows

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews are a powerful resource for finding out if a product will match your needs. Sleepers have positive things to say about these mattresses and their comfort, but there are some that had mixed experiences. Do some looking below into the mattress specifications to see if it will work for you.

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

In terms of having comfortable support for all, these mattresses have mixed feelings. Some customers feel comfortable with these mattresses and that they provide good support, but others had issues with discomfort. If you are above average in weight, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is extremely important for those that want to sit on the side of their mattress without dipping down or becoming uncomfortable. Unfortunately, some may experience dipping while putting weight on the edges of these mattresses.

Bed In A Box's Durability

Having a long lasting mattress is essential to everyone, but due to new companies and products, it can be hard for shoppers to find out the truth. That said, with all of the data on tests, customer feedback, and materials, we've been able to estimate. These mattresses provide above average durability for the everyday sleeper. Some folks that are heavier may find these mattresses don't last as long.

Nectar's Owner Satisfaction

Reading customer stories about a product is a great way to choose a new bed because it can help increase the probability that you will love your purchase. These mattresses receive some of the highest accolades from customers in regards to comfort. So, you can feel good researching this brand as a consideration.

Nectar's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is important to those of all body types. Even if you like a mattress that isn't super firm, a mattress that gives you a healthier back and spine is very important. Overwhelmingly, these mattresses provide a good level of support to their customers.

Edge Support
Lots of folks are looking for mattresses with good edge support. These mattresses offer good quality edge support, which means sleepers notice good support when they roll to the sides.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is a fun test to measure the firmness of the mattress and it is a great way to measure even support too. These mattresses offer good evenness throughout the sleeping surface to help with better spine alignment.

Nectar's Durability

It's always difficult to find products that last over 10 years. Brands, for the most part, rather make repeatable revenue than make something that lasts a lifetime. That said, there are still remarkable products to be found. These mattresses, specifically, provide a good element of durability to most sleepers. Most sleepers will experience them lasting between 7 - 12 years, though some who are on the heavier side may experience them to falter a bit sooner.

Get an Instant Discount for Nectar:   Get $100 Off & 2 Premium Pillows

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Nectar Customer Reviews

Wow - Renee H.

This mattress changed our lives for the better! It is absolutely the perfect firmness and temperature. We had a queen bed for so long and desperately needed a king since our baby sleeps with us. We couldn’t afford the insane prices out there so we took a chance on Nectar and boy did it pay off.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.