Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get The Best June 2024 Mattress Deals!
Unlock Today's Coupons

Bed In A Box vs. King Koil

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Having started with a small selection of all-foam mattresses, they have added mattresses in a variety of design options and firmnesses over time including pocket coil hybrids and all-foam choices. With 6 mattresses to choose from, their mattresses range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, most customers report good experiences, but there were some complaints about durability and firmness for some.

King Koil

Founded in 1898, King Koil got its start selling traditional innerspring mattresses. Today, their mattress lineup includes foam, latex, hybrid, and even smart mattresses. King Koil mattresses are sold across the globe in local retailers, though some of the mattress models may be advertised under different names than those found below. Overall, they make comfortable mattresses in a range of price points, but there have been some concerns about durability with some models.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.7/10
King Koil: 8.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
King Koil: 8.5/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
King Koil: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 9/10
King Koil: 8.5/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
King Koil: $999-$7599+

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

King Koil:
Get Yours Now


Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Most sleepers feel excellent with their mattresses and reviewed them well. Some customers, though, didn't feel as positively. If you are considering buying one of these mattresses, make sure to read more below to make sure it will work for your body type.


Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

There are mixed feelings from customers about the longevity of support of these mattresses. Though some folks agree with the comfort of these mattresses, if you are heavier in build, make sure to do more research before purchasing.

Edge Support
For those that want quality edge support, some describe these mattresses as having lacking edge support over the short term.


Bed In A Box's Durability

Durability is one of the most important factors for mattress shoppers, but due to the overwhelming amount of choices, it can be hard for shoppers to find the truth. That being said, reviewers and customers respond similarly when you can see all of the reviews. These mattresses offer above average durability for the average sleeper. Some folks that are heavier may find these mattresses don't last as long.

King Koil's Owner Satisfaction

Each of us need to read up on what customers are saying before we buy a product worth hundreds or thousands of dollars. However , it can be a task extracting the key takeaways from all of the reviews you read. Based on our analysis of customer reviews and sentiment, customers review these mattresses better than average. However, some had disagreements about overall feel. Make sure to study the specifications to make sure one of these mattresses will work for you.


King Koil's Supportiveness

Having mattress support is important to having a healthy night sleep. These mattresses provide an above average amount of support for sleepers. It is important to note for those that suffer with spine alignment or tossing and turning. Most customers respond that these mattresses provide proper support.

Edge Support
Edge support is the measure of how much support there is along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses offer good edge support overall, but some may experience sinking or contouring along the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is good at measuring mattress firmness. It is also a great test for measuring evenness of support across the surface. Overall, these mattresses will provide an even surface to sleep on.


King Koil's Durability

Mattresses with longevity will last between 7 - 12 years based on the materials in them. Foam mattresses are generall not as durable long term, while mattresses with springs tend to last a bit longer, but only if they are well made. That said, mattresses that don't have good durability will start sagging much quicker no matter the materials. Sleepers give these mattresses mixed emotions. Some have had complaints, but others have found comfortable sleep.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm
I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

I researched the best I could online
I'm giving this product 3 out of 5 for now. I suspect it will go down to a 2 unless it miraculously improves in comfort.

I researched the best I could online. SleepLikeTheDead.com appears to be, purports to be, a non-biased review organization. They rate this product higher than any other. And report 380+ customer reviews in part of their opinion.

"The ratings – based on 380+ consumer reviews gathered using an unbiased, accurate methodology – show how Bed In A Box mattresses compare to the average mattress."

Problem is, I can't find any customer reviews on the BedInaBox website. I can't find anywhere to leave a review on their website. I can't find any ling on the SleepLikeTheDead website to provide a review. So, I'll leave it here, with the other 5.

I purchased a twin for my son and a king fro myself. My son's mattress has no "off-gassing" smell. My mattress smells like it became moldy in the air vacuumed packaging, and is going on 5 days of a smell I can't sleep with. The smell has permeated my down comforter and I suspect I'm going to need to replace it.

My son says his mattress is fine and has no issues with comfort.

I have issues with my L5/S1. My previous mattress caused me discomfort. This mattress makes my back pain unbearable. I can't sleep through he night and have pain all day long. I am resorting to sleeping on the couch while I wait for the 60 day trial period to end.

The bed does not give in enough. My hips are raised while my L5 is forced down. It's basic physics. Even if you don't have L5 issues, this mattress will certainly encourage it. If I slept on my side, I'm sure it would not be an issue. I don't sleep on my side.

Not impressed. Not impressed with SleepLikeTheDead or BedInABox.

I can only hope that they don't expect me to ship this thing back to get the money back guarantee. I don't have the equipment to make it compact and vacuum packed that they do when they shipped it to me.

BEST BED FOR YOUR DOLLAR
I LOVE this bed!!!!!! While shopping for a new mattress I wanted to try a non traditional online mattress retailor. I first tried CASPER beds and that bed was so uncomfortable I could only sllep on it for 4 nights before my wife made we change back to our spring mattress. This was our next bed and after a week we decided we would keep it for good. The customer service during ordering was great . I really liked the try in home no risk policy but dont worry you wont need to use it cause this bed is amazing. It is just as comfortable as the Temper-pedic beds I tried in stores. Give this bed a try whats the worst that could happen.

Very satisfied.
Arrived in a very manageably sized package, I didn't have any off gassing issues, and the bed is every bit as comfortable as I'd hoped so far.

Excellent.. just what me and my wife needed
Excellent..just what me and my wife needed

Three Stars
Not as comfortable as I imagined

We recently ordered the PacBed Original...
We recently ordered the PacBed Original and a foundation, King, online. Ordering was straightforward and easy. Communication from Bed-In-A-Box was timely and done via email. Our mattress and foundation arrived within four business days. Set up for the foundation took about 20 minutes - directions were easy to follow and assembly was without hitch. Unboxing / unwrapping of the mattress was quick and again, easy, taking about 4 minutes. This king size mattress is a bit heavy and unweidly to move into place on the foundation but with two people it was done within 30 seconds. Total time to set up: 30 minutes! Note: There was no smell to the mattress.

The mattress feel is firm. You can barely feel another move, toss or turn, or get in or out of the bed. It did take a few days to adjust to the feel of the mattress and getting a quilted mattress cover helped in adding a bit of 'cushion'. The first few days my husband and I woke up stiff...though we believe that was due to staying in one position rather than tossing and turning or lack of support.

After two weeks sleeping on the mattress...we love it! It's comfortable. Neither of us toss or turn anymore. It provides quality support. When we need to replace our other mattresses, this will be the one we buy!

Bought this mattress to replace
Bought this mattress to replace a pillow top mattress that was showing some wear and not very comfortable any more. Very pleased so far. Our son recommended bed in a box after he bought one for himself 2 years ago.

Bed in a Box
We recently purchased a 'Bed in the Box', everyone thought I was crazy, but the online research and reviews were great so we decided to give it a try - we are very happy with the mattress, the ordering process and delivery.

King size Pacbed
Great price. Quick delivery. Super comfortable ! My husband is up by 6:30 AM having never slept better!! Customer for like!

The best!
My husband and I love this bed. It is extremely comfortable and supportive, without being too soft. The warranty plus the 120-day money back guarantee are unheard of and excellent. I am so excited to have this bed for a long, long time!

happy back
Our 8 year old Tempurpedic no longer did the trick. Sore backs for both of us every morning. Our new mattress is great, easy to move and unpack, no off-gassing, and so comfortable.

Good Buy
Been sleeping on the mattress for several weeks now. I would call it firm. It's very comfortable for me as a stomach/back sleeper. I thought it might be too firm for my wife as she is a side sleeper, but she is happy too.

So Far So Good...
I'm not sure what I was expecting at first, my initial shock was that it was literally a bed in a box. From visiting with others about a foam mattress, we were told to 'break' in the bed by walking/jumping on it. Now the bed has settled quite nicely. We are sleeping much more comfortably and soundly. I truly wake up with few to zero aches. Overall, BedInABox was extremely easy to purchase from, quick to ship and so far a great product! I only hope it continues to get better through the years!

Love it!
Very firm, very comfortable bed! No backaches! In fact, I like it better than our tempurpedic!

Nice mattress and cover, but it's firmer than I expected.
Comfortable, but a little firmer than I expected.

New Bed
Have only slept on it 3 night due to being out of town. Seems good so far. It is an adjustment from sleeping on a inner spring mattress for 50 years. The mattress was a little firmer than I expected. I want to give it a good month before I can truly give it a thumbs up or thumbs down.

I bought this to replace
I bought this to replace my old mattress. It is a little firmer than I expected but overall nice mattress. I do sleep better.

Too Early to tell
initially my pacbed felt far firmer than my tranquility I had before, and its supposed to be the softer bed. after 1 week I think I like the bed but I really need more time to know for sure.

Pretty Darn Good!
We've only had our mattress for 8 days, so it's a little difficult for me to give it a full 5 stars. I bought this mattress over my husband's mild objections, really worried it wouldn't work out. So far, it has. I'm sleeping much more comfortably than I have in a year. I'm a side sleeper and can only sleep on left side due to medical issues. I've developed arthritis in left hip. Happily, I'm not waking up in the night because of pain in my hip and feel rested and ache free in the morning. My husband is feeling more rested, too. The 2 things I'm not so happy about are the mattress seems concave. I actually feel like I could roll over to the middle when my husband gets in bed. I don't like that; what will happen in the future? Also, I can feel him move around. I was counting on this being motion free. I should have gotten a king and or a higher quality mattress. I've already recommended Bed in a Box to a friend.

Sleeping much better than before.
My wife and I are sleeping much better since we got this bed. I haven't had any of the neck pains I used to have with our old bed. Setup was pretty easy and was accomplished without problem.

Very firm
The bed came and was easy to assemble. We also bought the box spring which was fairly simple to assemble. The bed is firmer than I am used to

Extremely Firm, No Warranty
I explained that I was waking up every morning with back pain. For giving a company $1500, I would expect some kind of customer support. Instead I was told my mattress was past it's "try period" therefore there was nothing they could do. Many mattress companies offer a comfort guarantee. Not these guys. Regret my purchase 100%.

Tranquillium Mattress
The Tranquillium mattress is not at all a firm mattress, I strongly advise against it to those who really want a firm mattress. I can honestly say that is more near a medium -soft mattress . I don t understand why is a mattress #firm# I have to leave with that piece of crap since I can not returned because I have opened it when my furniture came after 3 months. That was my 4 a mattress( and last) bought from this Company. I am so disappoint when a company try to sell something that is not even closer at he reality.

Great buy!
I recently bought a King Original for home after having a Queen size for our travel trailer for 10 years. The one in the trailer is still doing great and looks new. We are Very pleased with our King at home. The Bedinabox replaces a Tempurpedic we have had problems with for a few years now. Back pain is gone and this bed feels great in whatever position I sleep in. The Bedinabox costs a fraction of what the Tempurpedic does. There is no chemical smell when first opened. The Tempurpedic stunk bad for over a week! Really. Very, very pleased with this purchase.

Truly satisfied AirBNB guests!
I run an AirBnB out of my home. I rent 4 rooms and every room now has BedInTheBox mattresses. Many guests have gone on to order their own for themselves. I ordered this Azul bundle for my last room. I always sleep on new mattresses before my guests do to be sure they are ok. This one may be my favorite yet. Always fast shipping and great customer service as well.

Mattress exchange
The first mattress I got was uncomfortable. But they made it right by sending me a different one and it's very comfortable. They even threw in a mattress case and a pillow. This is my second purchase with them. The first mattress lasted 20 years. Thank you

Browse King Koil Customer Reviews

Great Quality for Price
This mattress is comfy! It's not too firm and not too soft. I love it! I was a little nervous before I bought it because the price is so low. Once I went in the store and tested it out, I knew I was going to get my monies worth. Granted I've only had it for about a week now, even my boyfriend has confirmed it's super comfortale. Get it while it's on sale.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Buyer Beware - Not a standard sized bed!
I bought the twin mattress and much to my dismay there was about a 4 inch gap between the mattress and my bed frame. After measuring the mattress I realized it was only 36 inches wide, not the standard of 39 inches (despite the website listing it as 39 inches wide). I finally got a hold of the manufacturer and they said that their twins are "intended" to be 38 inches wide but that each one can differ by up to two inches. So you're basically left with a mini-twin. I will be returning this.

Ok
It's pretty comfy for the price but honestly I could have gotten cheaper at another matress store, definitely shop around more. It's not very thick and the euro top seems like it will be flattened very easily I give it maybe a year before it starts losing its comfort completely

Guest room
My first set of guests found this to be very comfortable. I slept in the guest room to try it out and found it very comfortable. I am very pleased with this purchase and will purchase future items.

Cheap Mattress for College Kid's Appartment
Nice product at the right price. My child needed a mattress for a new college apartment. We saw many options and even ran into a manufacturers rep at the store who helped us with good advice. As usual, the experience was great

Great
love this mattress very comfortable the never disappoint

Instant Comfort
Great price and such an amazing mattress. The level of comfort is undeniable. I'm very happy with this product and would recommend it in a heartbeat.

Great mattress
This mattress was purchased for a bedroom that is only used for guests and when child is home from college. The mattress is very comfortable and the price is perfect for this situation. We have had it about a week and my kid loves it, it's 12:20 pm now as I write this review and she is still sleeping.

Incredible mattress!
Buying this mattress was an amazing investment. Such a comfortable bed to sleep on and the service and delivery was very prompt and professional.

Very satisfied
Very happy with what I bought slept like a baby. The delivery guys came set it up fast. Very happy with the service.

My husband and I are sleeping so much better...
My husband and I are sleeping so much better since purchasing this mattress. It's not too firm or too soft, so you get support without feeling like you're sleeping on a board.

King Coil Mattress
We love our new Mattress! The comfort and quality is unbelievable and for what we paid for it...we just love it!!

LOVE IT!
I purchased two of these mattress for my boys, without them being there to try them, and they just love it. They said it's so comfortable that it just conforms to their bodies. Mind you my 15 year old is 262lbs and said the bed is like a giant blanket. So hats off for a great product at a reasonable price...

Superb Buy
I recently stayed in a bed in a breakfast in Maine--and loved the mattress I slept on. (I've got neck and shoulder issues to the mattress is often crucial.) I found a similar King Koil mattress and Raymour and Flanigan. The price was right; the delivery was prompt. "For this relief much thanks." Happy with my purchse: feels good!

Supper Happy With Our King Koil Mattress Purchase
When choosing a bed we needed a firm mattress with back support for me but yet some cushioning for my husband and the King Koil Perfect Response Elite Lakeside Pillowtop was "the perfect" choice. Very pleased with our decision and we even received next day FREE delivery - very nice!

great buy
I love my new mattress -and the service that came with it.

Great Delivery Time
The bed is great. It came when they said it would and the sales person was wonderful in working with our family.

Just right
Bought this for my guest bedroom and it was given an A plus By my first guest. She couldn't believe it was a firm mattress. Would highly recommend.

WE NEEDED A FIRM MATTRESS...
WE NEEDED A FIRM MATTRESS AND THIS IS PERFECT! NOT ONLY IS IT EXACTLY WHAT WE WANTED THE INSTALLATION WAS WONDERFUL. WE NEEDED SLATS FOR SUPPORT AND THE DELIVERING TECHS DID IT ALL WITH NO PROBLEM. SALES PERSON WAS WELL INFORMED AND ANSWERED ALL OF OUR QUESTIONS. FLO L

Hello my new Mattress
I have a California King Mattress and it is the best.... I was not sure of down sizing to a Queen Mattress, but I must say that it was the best choice I love the way my body rest and the best part is that my husband and I are know closer....

A PLESANT EXPERIENCE
THE MATTRESS AN BOX SPRING I PURCHASED WAS JUST EXCELLENT. ITS MEETS ALL MY STANDARDS FOR COMFORT .THE SALES PEOPLE WERE JUST GREAT HELPING ME FIND THE RIGHT ONE . I HIGHLY RECOMMEND MY CHOICE.AND THE STORE LOCATION ON CROPSEY AVENUE

Sleep in comfort
It's hard to get out of bed after sleeping on this very comfortable mattress. You look forward to relaxing at the end of the day. I like it very much. Keep in mind, coupled with the box spring, it is very high. Can't go wrong with this one, unless you like it extremely firm. It has the right kind of firm but soft too.

Queen King Koil
Very happy with our purchase! Bed is comfortable. Not too firm, not too soft. Great quality for a great price!

Cloud 9
The mattress is very comfortable. It's the best sleep I've had in a long time. It is a 5 star hotel quality mattress. I'm in love. I must stress that the hubby that works at night and have Insomnia also agreed that his sleep has been much better. Thumb's up.

Absolutely love my mattress
I absolutely love my new bed. Best experience it's comfortable for my back after I come home from work cause I work 19 hours of the day doing labor and I just needed a new way to sleep. This is one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in and I highly recommend it to everyone.

new Matress
The store was great the product was well priced and it was a convenient purchase. Loved the salesmen [Associate name removed].

Highly recommended
This mattress has just enough firmness topped with a pillow top that has just enough softness! The price is perfect and the customer service was out of this world. No one trying to force me to the most expensive products in the store.

Very Happy
I am very much enjoying my new mattress. I was afraid it might be too soft but I'm glad I went with the softer mattress over the more firm mattress. While this is soft, it is still very supportive. This mattress is great quality for a good price.

great mattress...
great mattress sleep like a baby love it so much it is great

Excellent & good quality
Best decision i made for my son he loves his new bed. Raymour and flanigan alway have good quality furniture which last a long time. I know when i shop with them im getting good stuff.

Just right for the spare room!
I needed a mattress for my fathers spare bedroom so I had a place to sleep when I visited. I didn't want to spend a lot but I wanted something that was nice and comfortable. This mattress is it! I have slept great when visiting him now and the Sales associate Tom P. in Clifton Park listened to my needs and took care of everything! Thank you Tom!

Wonderful comfort!!
very comfortable but still with support!! Very happy!!

Mattress
This mattress was purchased for a guest room and has only been slept on once with a report that is was very comfortable. The salesman was very helpful and polite. The delivery team were very helpful and delivered quite timely

Fantastic!!!
I really like this mattress. It's really comfortable and it feels like I'm sleeping on a cloud.

Welcome to a restful night's sleep
My old mattress was still in good looking shape, but had outlasted the years I needed an extra firm mattress. My new King Koil plush is so comfortable, I sleep right through the night. Both my husband and I are well pleased with this purchase.

Mattress is unbelievably comfortable...
Mattress is unbelievably comfortable. My wife and I love it so much.

Great price
So far so good! Great price for the quality. I'll write another review after about a month or so

Great mattress
I am so happy with my purchase. I haven't slept this well in a long time. I definitely Recommend this mattress. The salesman was very knowledgeable and he listened to my needs.

Comfort
I am very happy with my king coil mattress purchase. In the past I have always bought Sealy's. It is very comfortable and I am happy with it. Also the service at the store and the delivery was very good. I am also very happy with the guarantee on the mattress.

Not what I expected mattress already had an indentation after sleeping on it for the first time.
Mattress after the first night of sleep had a indentation in it already. Was or is not as comfortable as I expected.