Bed In A Box vs Jamison

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Jamison

Jamison has been in the mattress business since 1883. They have changed with the times and now offer two lines of mattresses - one innerspring and another memory foam. They often co-brand with other companies or hotels, like Mariott to sell the hotel feel to consumers. Overall, their mattresses are mid-priced, but there are some complaints about the mattress durability over the life of the bed.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Jamison: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Jamison: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Jamison: 7.2/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Jamison: 6.9/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Jamison: $1495-$2250

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Jamison:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

It isn't always easy to figure out customer satisfaction with companies doing lots of work cleaning their online reputations. That said, customers report feeling comfortable with these mattresses overall. However, there were some folks that didn't feel the same way about the feel. so look below to see if the mattress specifications will work for your body type!

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

Some of the customers don't feel that the mattresses support them well enough. Though most find these mattresses comfortable initally, if you are larger or have wide hips or shoulders, take a look at the mattress specs before buying.

Edge Support
For those that are looking for long-term edge support, some describe these mattresses has having declining edge support.

Bed In A Box's Durability

Finding a mattress that is durable in comfort is essential to buyers. However, with mattress businesses competing firmly for profits, it is not always easy to find. That said, with feedback from customers, material quality, and craftsmanship, these mattresses are rated well for durability and should give sleepers over 5 years of comfort for most. But, those that are heavier may find them to be less durable.

Jamison's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this one, do more research below to learn if this mattress will work for you. Unfortunately, not all customers give them good ratings. Some folks were cozy in their new mattress, but others reported trouble getting comfortable.

Jamison's Supportiveness

Customers have mixed reviews about the support found in these mattresses. Though there are some folks that find comfort and support, others have reported discomfort. If this brand is on your short list, make sure to read more about it before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely a concern for those that struggle with mobility. Others don't mind a slight dip on the side when they sit on the edge. Overall these mattresses aren't as supportive over the long term so if edge support is important, make sure to do extra research.

Jamison's Durability

Getting a mattress which has lasting comfort is what buyers are after. We all wish our mattress will last a decade or more and still provide us with cozy comfort. Sadly, not all sleepers agree that these mattresses are durable, and some have had issues with longevity after a short time. If you are considering buying for nightly use, make sure to review the specs against your body type to make sure it will work for you.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Jamison Customer Reviews

I have read the reviews..

I had visited a store and was looking at buying the Resort Hotel Collection The Pinnacle or the English Garden Collection Wisteria, they both seemed very comfortable but so does a lot of mattress at first. I have had an Original Mattress factory 100% latex bed and a Kingsdown bed and they both were terrible, had body impressions and cause back pain.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.