Bed In A Box vs Ethan Allen

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Ethan Allen

Ethan Allen sells their own brand of hybrid and foam mattresses at their retail and online locations. At well over $1,000 for a queen, their prices are only competitive against high end name brands. They have multiple firmness options in their lineup and most customers have described their mattresses as comfortable. Some customers had issues with the durability of some of the mattresses.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Ethan Allen: 7.7/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Ethan Allen: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Ethan Allen: 7.6/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Ethan Allen: $599-$8996

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Ethan Allen:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

With brands doing lots of work on their online reputation, it's pretty hard for an average shopper to get to the bottom of customer satisfaction. That said, customers feel comfortable on these mattresses overall. However, there were some complaints from sleepers that didn't feel as comfortable. so keep reading below to check your body type with the specifications of this mattress!

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

Some of the customers don't feel that the mattresses support them well enough. Though most find these mattresses comfortable initally, if you have a heavier body type, do some added research before buying.

Edge Support
For those that want quality edge support, you may want to read more reviews as some are unsatisfied with the edge support.

Bed In A Box's Durability

Getting a durable mattress is essential to shoppers, but some brands don't care as much about long term quality as they do with immediate profits. Luckily, these mattresses have good ratings when it comes to durability. Most customers are happy with their mattress for 5 to 7 years, but some heavier people may discover that their mattress breaks down faster than average.

Ethan Allen's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers felt very comfortable with their new mattress, but others couldn't get comfy. Even though there are those that like these mattresses, overall they have lower customer satisfaction than average. Read on if you are considering buying for more information on the mattresses.

Ethan Allen's Supportiveness

In terms of support, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews. Some folks have described them as supportive and report sleeping soundly throughout the night, but others had poor comfort. If you are someone who is above average in weight or has wide shoulders or hips, you may want to do additional research to make sure these mattresses will work for you

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress. Some may not find these mattresses to be evenly supportive along the sides and may dip more than usual.

Ethan Allen's Durability

Long lasting mattresses are wonderful, but not always simple to discover. These mattresses are not reviewed highly by customers when it comes to durability. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you are bigger in body type, take a look at the reviews before purchasing.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Ethan Allen Customer Reviews

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress

Like many people, a back ache prompted me to buy a new mattress. After much research, I selected a bed offered by Ethan Allen and was willing to drive a long distance to purchase it. When the bed arrived at the local warehouse, I was told there would be approximately 7-10 days for delivery to my home. My back ache and sleep were worsening so I called the store and asked if there was any way to expedite the delivery; I didn't expect this special service but tried anyway. To my surprise, the store manager cut some red tape and had my bed delivered in two days. The bed is great, sleep is great, back ache gone. Thank you, Ethan Allen.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.