Bed In A Box vs Dream Bed

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Dream Bed

Dream Bed and Dream Bed Lux are all-foam mattresses similar to some of the newer arrivals to the online mattress space. The big difference is that rather than being a mattress startup, Dream Bed is a brand by Mattress Firm, which is one of the largest mattress companies on the market with retail stores Sleep Train, Mattress Discounters, and 1-800-MATTRESS as part of their enterprise. Their mattresses get good ratings from customers at first, but some had issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Dream Bed: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Dream Bed: 8.4/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Dream Bed: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Dream Bed: 8.2/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Dream Bed: $699-$1199

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Dream Bed:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers are satisfied with their mattresses. This means that most customers give this brand positive reviews, but there are some caveats. There are some folks that don't agree with the feel for them. Learn more about the mattresses below to learn if it will work for you!

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

Some have described these mattresses as being supportive, but others have had problems with the support. For those that already have aches and pains, read the reviews to make sure the mattress works with your body.

Edge Support
There are mixed feelings about edge support for these mattresses. Some feel that there is evenness in support across the surface, but others felt like things were uneven along the side.

Bed In A Box's Durability

It is extremely important for shoppers to find a durable mattress, but some brands care more about selling their products than focus on long term quality. These mattresses are above average when it comes to durability. Most customers are happy with their mattress after 5 years, but some who use their mattress more than average will find that it doesn't last as long.

Dream Bed's Owner Satisfaction

These mattreses have mixed emotions from buyers. Many sleepers report feeling comfortable with their decision and enjoy their new mattress, but there were others that didn't feel as positively. Read about the mattress specifics and browse customer reviews in the section below.

Dream Bed's Supportiveness

Whether a mattress is supportive or not is the difference between comfort and pain for stomach and back sleepers. Side sleepers also need a supportive mattress that keeps their spine, hips, and shoulders aligned. These mattresses do well overall with support. However, others had issues with the support so if you have a heavier body type, make sure that your selection is right for you.

Edge Support
Most agree with the edge support of these mattresses. That said, there were some mixed reviews about the edge support.

Dream Bed's Durability

Brands that have good quality control and materials will likely also have good durability. Companies that don't focus on these things may have issues for some sleepers. Unfortunately, customers give these mattresses mixed ratings on durability. There are reports by some of issues about comfort over a short term, but others that have lasting comfort. Make sure to do some extra research before buying.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Dream Bed Customer Reviews

As advertised

This was easy to setup and came quickly as advertised. It's comfortable and I can't feel my spouse move in the night as well!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.