Bed In A Box vs Comfort Tech

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Comfort Tech

Comfort Tech is a mattress brand made popular by its inclusion in Costco's mattress lineup. They make a variety of foam mattresses such as the popular Comfort Tech Aurora and Comfort Tech Serene. Their mattresses are inexpensive versus many competitors and most find them comfortable overall. However, some folks describe them as sleeping too warm for comfort and others had issues with the durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bed In A Box in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bed In A Box


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Comfort Tech: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Comfort Tech: 8.2/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Comfort Tech: 8.1/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Comfort Tech: 8.2/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Comfort Tech: $199-$599

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Comfort Tech:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers feel great in their mattresses and rated them well. Some customers, though, didn't feel as positively. If one of these mattresses is up for your review, make sure to read on to make sure it will work for your body.

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

In terms of support, customers give these mattresses mixed reviews. Some customers feel comfortable with these mattresses and that they provide good support, but others didn't feel entirely comfortable. If you are someone who is above average in weight or has wide shoulders or hips, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential item for those that like to lay close the edge of their mattress without dipping or rolling off. Some folks report this brand's mattresses are not evenly supportive and may dip for some.

Bed In A Box's Durability

Longevity of comfort is one of the most important factors in selecting a new mattress. Though there might be some factors, like our bodies, that would mean that we would still want to a new mattress after 15 years, we could all sleep easier if it was a guarantee our mattress would last that long. These mattresses are competitive when it comes to durability. Most folks will find they last over 7 years, but there have been rare complaints about feel. If you are a larger person, you may want to do a price analysis to make sure these mattresses are for you.

Comfort Tech's Owner Satisfaction

Researching customer satisfaction is a perfect way to narrow down your search. These mattresses have mixed emotions from customers. Some customers complained about comfort, but others were happy with the way the mattress made them feel. Research more below to learn what customers say and how one of these mattresses will react to your body.

Comfort Tech's Supportiveness

Based on the reviews, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is great when you've been looking for a mattress to support your spine. That said, some reviewers have mentioned support issues in reference to their bodies, so make sure that the firmness range is aligned with your body type.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of resistance there is for sleepers along the side of the mattress. These mattresses do a fine job, but heavier folks may experience less than ideal edge support.

Comfort Tech's Durability

These mattresses get mixed feelings from sleepers on their durability. Everyone wants to find the comfy mattress that stays that way for 10 years or more, but sadly, not all are built to last. If you are considering buying a mattress with mixed reviews on durability, make sure to take an extra look at the policies on return to make sure you are protected.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Comfort Tech Customer Reviews

The price is right!

After being deeply disappointed in an overpriced Beautyrest mattress we thought we would try a memory foam as these seem to be the highest rated and with $100. off the price, it was worth a try. It was (surprisingly) firm to us, a little too firm. The next night I put a 3 inch memory foam topper ( already had it) on and it is perfect for us now. Our previous mattress had sagged after a few months and the manufacturer replaced it as guaranteed, but only with the same exact mattress! What is the use of that?? At least if this happens I have Costco's return policy and it was only $400 bucks not $2000. So far so good. I will follow up in two months.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.