Bed In A Box vs Classic Brands

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Classic Brands

Classic Brands offers a variety of mattresses including memory foam, hybrid, innerspring, and latex options. Overall, one of their big differentiators is there wide variety of products that you can buy. They offer their products in many low price online retailers including Amazon, Jet, Walmart, Overstock, and Wayfair. Also, you may find them in Macy's and Home Depot.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both Bed In A Box and Classic Brands in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Classic Brands: 8.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Classic Brands: 8.6/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Classic Brands: 8.9/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Classic Brands: 8.5/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Classic Brands: $139-$1299

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Classic Brands:
Get Yours Now

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers feel great in their mattresses and rated them well. However, some sleepers didn't sleep as well. If one of these is one your list, make sure to read on to make sure it will work for your body.

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses may leave something to be desired in terms of lasting support. Though there are some folks that find comfort and support, others have had issues with alignment long term. If this brand is on your short list, make sure to read more about it before purchasing.

Edge Support
Overall, edge support is extremely important to those with mobility issues. Others don't mind a slight dip on the side when they sit on the edge. Some folks feel strongly about support issues so make sure to do added reading if edge support is an important item for you.

Bed In A Box's Durability

We all want to find a great mattress that offers good durability and lasts forever, but that is sometimes easier said than done. That said, data on materials, customer reviews, and tests make things a bit easier. These mattresses, specifically, are more durable than average and should last between 5 - 7 years for most, but some who are heavier may find them less durable.

Classic Brands's Owner Satisfaction

With brands investing in managing online reputation, it's difficult for the average shopper to get to the truth of customer satisfaction. That said, these mattresses are reviewed well by customers overall. However, there were a few complaints from customers that didn't feel as cozy so make sure to research the below specifics to learn if this mattress will work for you!

Classic Brands's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is key for getting a good night's sleep. If your mattress does a poor job supporting you, a mattress that does better would mean a much deeper sleep for you. All in all, these mattresses do offer good support at first, but some had issues with lasting comfort.

Edge Support
Most folks will find these to do well on edge support, which is good for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress. Some that are heavier and have larger builds may still experience some sagging along the edges.

Classic Brands's Durability

Mattresses with good durability last between 7 and 12 years based on the materials. Foam mattresses are generally not as durable, while mattresses with springs last longer if they are well made. That said, mattresses without good durability or that are not prepared for larger sleepers can start sagging on a much shorter horizon. Sleepers give these mattresses mixed emotions. Some report lasting comfort, but others report quicker than average degrading.

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Classic Brands Customer Reviews

This is the best mattress for the best price

There are reviews here for both the Classic Brands 11'' and 14''. This is for the 14'' Cool Gel. For years we slept on a traditional inner spring mattress with memory foam topper for comfort. I found that the memory foam traps heat. So while the topper made the mattress more comfortable, the heat was unbearable. We bought a Sealy memory foam mattress for our guest bedroom. I found it more comfortable than the old inner spring, but a bit too firm and too hot. The Classic Brands Cool Gel Ultimate 14'' Plush was the answer. As plush as an inner spring pillow top, but without the eventually troublesome springs that soon cause lumpy mattress syndrome. And, the cool gel works - keeping the mattress from overheating. I e-mailed Classic Brands before the purchase, asking them about foam density. I had read to avoid the low density memory foams as they don't hold up well. Classic responded quickly that they use 2'' of 4 lb cool gel memory foam on top on 2'' of 4 lb memory foam. The article I read recommended 4 lb foam and that sealed the deal for me. The mattress was made in China and Amazon estimated 1-3 months for delivery. We got it in 3 weeks. When I saw the box sitting on my patio where the delivery man left it, I was horrified. The box was badly damaged and the plastic inner cover was ripped open. These things are tightly compacted and rolled for shipping and once unwrapped expand from a few inches thick to the full 14''. Since the inner wrapper was torn, one end of the bed had already begun to expand. With one end still compressed, this thing looked like a giant mushroom. I contacted Classic and they said to inspect the cover and the foam for damage. If the foam was not damaged, we could keep the mattress and they would send a new cover if needed, or we could exchange it for a new one. The cover was smudged and the foam seemed undamaged, so we unwrapped it. Soon, the mattress had expanded to it's full 14''. We put it in the living room, under the windows for a day to expand. The chemical/foam smell was strong but dissipated after a day or so. Then we moved it to our bedroom and were able to clean the smudges from the cover. Despite the horrible package/shipping, the bed seemed in good condition. But the best part is sleeping on it. It's the perfect combination of firm-enough support and plush, soft comfort. And the cool gel really does work.. For the first time in a long time, I didn't wake up in the middle of the night overheated. When morning came, I got out of bed without the accustomed aches and pains. And my wife loved it as well from the first night sleeping on it. It comes with 2 cool gel memory foam pillows, which are quite firm compared to the old feather pillows I was used too. By putting an old feather pillow on top of the foam pillow, I got the perfect combination of firm support and plush comfort - just like the mattress, with no overheating. Very impressed with the responsiveness/communication from Classic Brands.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.