Bed In A Box vs Big Fig

Get an Instant Discount for Big Fig Get $200 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bed In A Box

The original BedInABox® is one of the original trend-setter brands to sell mattresses to customers in a box. Since starting, they have added mattresses in a variety of firmness options and pricepoints. With a focus on memory foam mattresses, their offerings have multiple layers of foam and range from 9'' to 13'' thick. Overall, customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability reported by some.

Big Fig

Big Fig is the premier mattress for those with a 'bigger figure.' They make a super durable and supportive mattress that is designed to support plus-sized sleepers. With capacity to withstand distrubuted weights of up to 500-1000lbs and a 20 year warranty, these mattresses are super durable and perfect for those that have suffered from a lack of support, hot sagging beds, or are looking for a firm mattress.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Big Fig in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Big Fig

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bed In A Box: 8.6/10
Big Fig: 9.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Big Fig: 9.2/10

Price Value:
Bed In A Box: 8.9/10
Big Fig: 9.2/10

No Back Pain:
Bed In A Box: 8.8/10
Big Fig: 9.4/10

Price:
Bed In A Box: $399-$2598
Big Fig: $1299-$1999

Bed In A Box:
Get Yours Now

Big Fig:
Get $200 Off Mattresses

Bed In A Box's Owner Satisfaction

Reading customer reviews is a great way to create a pinpointed list of mattresses. These mattresses have some great reviews by sleepers, but there were a select few that had complaints. Found below are customer reviews and more specific information on the feel -- study on!

Bed In A Box's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress isn't always a very firm mattress. Deep support and spinal alignment is essential to a healthy night's rest. Sadly, not everyone thinks these mattresses are truly supportive. Most customers are happy with the support right after purchase, but some have had issues with support over the long term.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on the side of their beds, edge support is key. For most, these mattresses do a good job with edge support, but some found that it wasn't as supportive as they'd like

Bed In A Box's Durability

We all want a comfy mattress that lasts a long time, but some brands focus more on shipping product than they do about quality. Luckily, these mattresses are above average when it comes to durability. Most customers will continue being happy about their mattress after 5 to 7 years, but some heavier people may discover that their mattress breaks down faster than average.

Big Fig's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses are provided great scores from sleepers versus others, which means when we investigated the current customer data from across the net, these mattresses were ranked highly based on sentiment. This is a good place to start to find out if one of these mattresses is a good pick for you -- read on for more specifics.

Big Fig's Supportiveness

Giving the right depth of support is something customers appreciate about these mattresses. These mattresses help with spine alignment while not sagging or providing discomfort.

Edge Support
If you prefer a mattress that allows you to sit comfortably on the side, this mattress gives you even comfort along the sides, which means it is rated as an edge support winner.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
These mattresses do great at showing off their even support in tests. Although the surface will provide a comfortable surface for sleeping, the bottom layers offer amazing support for your back, hips, and shoulders.

Big Fig's Durability

Like all technology, we as customers want products that will last. Sadly, with the current industry disruption that drives prices lower, expectations of quality changes. Even our clothing and bedding doesn't last as long as it used to. However, for the price, the data shows these products are highly durable. Based on that and current averages, these mattresses should last a minimum of 7 - 12 years for most sleepers. Also, if you the mattress doesn't work for your body in the short term, you could get a refund because of the trial policy.

Get an Instant Discount for Big Fig:   Get $200 Off Mattresses

Browse Bed In A Box Customer Reviews

Too firm

I had great hopes for this bed; however, it is just too firm. Our former memory foam mattress lasted about 7 years, and my husband and I were beginning to have lower back pain because the bed had broken down and was too soft. Prior to that happening; however, we were very happy with the bed. Unfortunately, the manufacturer was no longer in business or we would have just purchased another.

After lots of research of reviews, etc., on the internet, I settled on the pacbed original 11." I was a little concerned about the only complaints being that the bed was too firm, but I thought we would try it and we could also buy a topper if it was too firm. First, the gel memory foam on the pacbed is different from our former bed, which conformed to your body. The gel memory foam simply depresses where you lay, more like a traditional spring form mattress, instead of enveloping your body. In addition, the three inches is not sufficient because you end up depressing through to the support foam, which is very hard. For reference, I am 5'7" and 145 lbs. Both my husband and I have had hip pain since purchasing this bed, and I can no longer sleep on my stomach. I have forced myself to sleep on my side with a pillow between my legs, which is the only way I can sleep comfortably and not wake up in pain.

We bought a 3" memory foam topper that was returnable (through another vendor) to get us through the 60 trial period, but it has made our bed ridiculously high (14") and while it does help relieve the pressure points, it just does not measure up to our old bed as far as comfort goes, and I still have issues with my arms falling asleep when I sleep on my stomach. Sigh. Unfortunately, this is going back when our trial is up in 30 days.

I also find it odd that I cannot figure out how to leave a review on their site. Perhaps they don't let you review until the full 60 days has past.

View More Reviews

Browse Big Fig Customer Reviews

Big Fig Queen Size Mattress

I like to sleep on my side and since I've had my new mattress, my shoulders don't hurt when I wake up. The mattress is working great. My only complaint is with the shipping company that delivered it. The box was a mess that the foundations came in. It looked like it had been opened then closed back up and it was smashed pretty good. The foundations were fine, but they didn't match. One was dark blue and one was black. I didn't make a big deal out of it since you can't see them anyway.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.