Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get an Instant Discount for Bear Mattress
Get 35% Off + Gifts | Code slumber35

Bear Mattress vs. Simmons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bear Mattress

Bear offers 5 top-rated mattresses. Their Bear Original memory foam has won acclaim with athletes on a budget. For those looking for a pressure-relieving feel, the Star Hybrid and Pro Hybrid are great options. Sleepers looking for the responsive feel of natural latex will enjoy the Bear Natural hybrid mattress. Lastly, their Elite Hybrid, features both cooling foams and zoned support to provide sleepers with a luxurious sleep experience. From the Celliant® fibers to copper cooling, customers love these mattresses for their superior cooling, muscle pain relief, and balanced back support.

Simmons Beautyrest

Simmons Beautyrest® is a very well known brand that has invested in big advertising over the past several years. They have worked closely with major mattress retailers for generations and offer popular in-store options. With a variety of designs like the Beautyrest Black and Silver lines, Beautyrest is a brand to consider for many. However, not all Beautyrest models are equal, with some of their models having reports of durability issues and their newer online-direct models potentially offering more value.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Bear Mattress in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Bear Mattress

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bear Mattress: 9.5/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bear Mattress: 9.5/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.5/10

Price Value:
Bear Mattress: 9.4/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.5/10

No Back Pain:
Bear Mattress: 9.6/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.6/10

Price:
Bear Mattress: $786-$4996
Simmons Beautyrest: $599-$5799

Bear Mattress:
Get 35% Off + Gifts | Code slumber35

Simmons Beautyrest:
Get Up To $1200 Off


Bear Mattress's Owner Satisfaction

Reviews can be a helpful way to find out if a new mattress is going to fit your needs. They do a great job uncovering shortcomings and demonstrating good selling points. However, trying to find the perfect brand for you by wading through all of the reviews isn't always easy. But, by researching all of the customer data across products -- these mattresses get some of the best owner satisfaction scores for their comfort.


Bear Mattress's Supportiveness

Providing a perfect amount of support is one of the things people love about these mattresses. Folks report that these mattresses help align the spine while still being extremely comfortable.

Edge Support
If you sit on the side of the mattress in the morning, this mattress will hold you properly and provide good resistance, which means it is superb for those that enjoy putting on socks in the morning.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
On support tests, there is a lot to love about the even support these mattresses possess. Although the comfort layers provide a nice and cozy surface, the support layers are built to give you lasting support for your hips, shoulders, and back.


Bear Mattress's Durability

It is a tough prospect to find great products that last a long time. Brands, for the most part, rather make repeatable revenue than make something that lasts a lifetime. However, there are still great products to be found. These mattresses, specifically, do a great job with durability for most sleepers. They should do well up to a decade for most customers, though some that are heavier may find them break down a little bit faster.

Simmons Beautyrest's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers are happy with their mattresses, but others are not as happy and have had complaints about comfort. Despite those that had a good experience, overall these mattresses have lower than average satisfaction from customers. Look on below for more information if this mattress will work for you.


Simmons Beautyrest's Supportiveness

Support isn't the same as firmness. Good support means that it lines up your back and spine -- leading to a healthier night sleep. Overall, these mattresses have some negative reviews when it comes to support. Most folks find the mattress to be supportive at the beginning, but some have had issues with support over the long term.

Edge Support
For those with mobility concerns or like to lay close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. At first, these mattresses do a good job with edge support, but some may find that it doesn't work for them over time.


Simmons Beautyrest's Durability

Finding a highly durable mattress is great, and when our mattress is instead something crummy that causes us pain after only a year, this is the worst. That said, it is much more difficult to find the right durable mattress nowadays. With more products in the industry than ever and rife competition, companies are sacrificing quality to find profits. When it comes to these mattresses, unfortunately, they have some sleepers who have reported durability issues over a short time. Not every customer experiences durability problems, but do some extra reading to make sure that your choice works for your body.

Browse Bear Mattress Customer Reviews

Sleeping like on a cloud!
This mattress is simply amazing! I immediately fell asleep and woke up nice and rested, no back pain what so ever! Like I said - amazing! I recommending this to everyone!

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Perfect fit for me, maybe not for others
Took me a week to get my body use to the new bed, now it is amazing, I would suggest giving this bed some time before you make a final decision

The best!
My girlfriend and just got a Cal King and love it. Shipping was fast and the mattress is amazing. I should have done this years ago.

Great for her/bad for me
I was so excited to get my new Bear mattress, I know 2 people who have them and so I thought if they love them I'll get one. Worst 2 1/2 weeks ever. Woke up all night with a sore back and pain in my hips. But on the other hand my wife loved it. That's why I'm giving this a 3 star and not a 1, because I guess I like soft mattresses. This has about ...Read Morea 6 1/2 out of ten on the firmness scale which I thought was soft (it's not). I'm returned it and exchanged it for a softer mattress... Which I love. Best night sleep I've ever gotten, and she still loves it too. Read Less

Best Mattress for Anyone
My fiancé and I are not athletes by any means, but I'm a light sleeper and he moves around A LOT. We loved the fact that this bed had almost zero motion transfer. It's done wonders for me in getting a full nights sleep, and my fiancé loves it too. The only thing I'd say is that we wouldn't have probably found this company without watching review videos first. They seem to market to athletes a lot, but honestly this will work for anyone. Also the upgrade from a queen to a king is incredible. Thank you bear! We are customers for life.

Don't know that I believe in the Celliant technology
But after owning this for around 3 months, I have to say that this is the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on. I used a Tempurpedic for a while, and I find the firmness of this mattress to be much better. This mattress may be too firm for some and too bouncy for others (I wouldn't want to try the bowling ball and wine glass test), but for me it seems to be just right.

Best sleep in months
We were hesitant to try the box memory foam mattresses at first, but after doing some research we decided on the bear mattress. The purchasing and delivery process was informative and quick. Setting up the mattress and foundation was very easy. My husband and I have slept very well since getting the mattress. I used to wake up in the middle of the night and toss and turn for hours before falling back asleep. I have slept through the night in a deep sleep for the entire month that we've had our bear mattress. We are very satisfied customers!!

Great nights sleep!
I am so glad gave this mattress a try! It took me about a week to adjust, but have been sleeping better than I have in a long time. Just the right blend of firmness, support and it really does conform to your body.

Good night sleep
As advertised this is a very comfortable bed. The only thing I have trouble with is that I lay too long in one position on my back it can be uncomfortable but I don't think it is the bed

Very comfortable bed! Relieved my
Very comfortable bed! Relieved my shoulder and back pain within a month

Excellent
Great mattress! Especially for the price. Sleep soundly and can’t tell when my husband gets out of bed. Mattress is firm yet molds to your body! Love it!

Ease and comfort
Bear mattress has been a great experience. It was so easy to order, came in just a few days and was very easy to set up. Now the mattress- super comfortable - just the right firmnes. I would definitely recommend and buy again!

Awesome!
Love this mattress. I am a very warm person and I have to say I love being cool all night long. We even bought the pillows and they are amazing. I would have to say I feel the mattress for me is a bit on the firm side, so it did take some getting used to. But overall it has exceeded my expectations. And what's even better is its wife approved..... She loves it!

BestEver
Great mattress, comfortable and supportive. I love it

Great mattress
Great, comfortable bed.

Amazing!
To be honest, after the first night I was ready to get rid of it! It was extremely firm and my husband urged me to give it time. Now after a few weeks, it’s great! I didn’t think a mattress that came out of a box would be that comfortable. It feels firm to the touch, but once you lay down you’re transported to a cloud. Love it!

Supportive nights sleep!
I've loved my bear mattress! It does not sleep warm at all. Sleeps cooly like a traditional mattress. The mattress is soft to the touch but very supportive and firm. I have not woken up aching since I got my Bear. Worth every penny!

Awesome
exceptional mattress/foundation. Has helped my sleep immensely

Bear Mattress
I bought my son the Bear Mattress and he is so happy he hates to get out of bed to start the day. I think the bed is amazing also and may get one for myself.

Great!
Great mattress! Sleeps really well and I love how cool it sleeps. I hope it never wears out but if it doesiwill buy another Bear!!

It's a little firmer than
It's a little firmer than I expected at first, my wife too. But after a few days you adapt to that and it really is a comfortable mattress. Love how it give that memory foam contour without that memory foam grab.

Bear Mattress- King
We love our Bear Mattress! It was super easy to set up, and super comfortable. It took a week to get used to, but after that we have never slept better.

New Mattress
We were looking for an affordable memory foam option mattress and wanted to upgrade to the king size! Definitely very happy with our purchase! Easy to set up and comfortable from the first night. My husband I noticed we slept a little “hot” the first few nights we had the mattress. We got use to it in about a week or so and have been enjoying it s...Read Moreince! (we live in San Diego so the weather doesn’t change too much) Good price and great quality! Read Less

Too firm for me
If you like a firm mattress, this one is for you. I was very pleased with the price and delivery. The mattress is also very nice, it's just too firm for me. Unfortunately, I will be returning it.

Very impressed with my Bear Mattress
The mattress has been great. The best mattress I've ever slept on. My big thing was the ability to dissipate heat while I sleep. if it could live up to that promise, I knew it would be perfect for me, and they actually pulled it off. Who needs a $3-5k Tempur Pedic? Get a Bear and you will not regret it. Evander Smart Founder of Bitcoin University

Hibernation Station
I used to prefer sleeping on a rock hard Select Comfort mattress. The Bear Mattress felt a little soft initially, but I got used to the memory foam feel. It provides good lumbar support and sleeps relatively cool.

Awesome!
I don't really know what I expected honestly, but I'm not disappointed! For the first time in years I woke up and walked to the bathroom. I didn't hobble. I didn't take a few minutes to work through the soreness. There was no soreness!! I've also been on the hunt for a good pillow for years and this is it! No neck pain and keeps me cool. I have a very physically active job and crossfit at least 3 days a week. This mattress totallt aids in recovery

Great Mattress
Found this mattress by luck online. Purchased it for my son after many failed attempts and he loves it; hasn’t slept this comfortably in a while. Highly recommend the company and the mattress, trying to convince my wife to get one for us.

Love it!
I’ve been sleeping on this mattress for a month or so now, and I love it! I originally got it for our spare bedroom, but we loved it so much that we moved it into the master bedroom! Very easy delivery, fun to open up, and the mattress is awesome! Did I say that I love it?

Bear mattress review
Love it!!!! Haven’t slept this great in a long time!!

Sleeping Great
We're very happy with our bear mattress so far! Sleeping great and it doesn't hold the heat like our old Tempurpedic did.

fine
I haven't had an amazing experience, but I'm still hanging on. My other mattress was giving me back pain every night. Since I have slept on the Bear it has only slowly been getting less painful to sleep at night. I don't love how the edges completely sink when I'm sitting on the edge of the bed -I practically slide right off. I'm still waiting thi...Read Mores one out to see if it holds up or improves more long term. ??? It's fine, but not great. Read Less

My Bear mattress is the
My Bear mattress is the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. It definitely helps with my chronic lower back pain. The price is also so much less expensive than comparible mattresses

Sleeping Cool Now
I purchased the king size Bear mattress and have been sleeping cool. I have always been a hot sleeper. Wake up sweaty and hot. Restless nights as a result. Not anymore. Since getting the Bear I have slept cool! Sleeping cool means better nights sleep for me. Very comfortable too. A great product at a great value. Sleeping cool and sleeping longer now! Loving it!!

Believe it's a nice mattress, although perhaps not right for me
The mattress seems to be of high quality and good feel. I would put it in the same class of other mattresses of the same type (Casper or Leesa). While I'm not sure it's working for me (personal feel only), there is nothing about this experience that was particularly negative up to this point; I knew there would be a chance for this to happen buyin...Read Moreg a mattress sight unseen. 3 star rating simply because I don't believe I will be keeping it, although I think I'd have similar results with the other ship to home style foam mattresses. Read Less

Firm yet comfortable!
This is the first mattress I’ve ever invested in. It took me a couple days to adjust to it and now it feels like a perfect match. I’m use to mattresses being really bouncy so it’s a nice change. Definitely worth it. I also purchased the bear box and mattress protector.

With minor customization it’s perfect for me
I love my bear! As a side sleeper I determined I needed a bit more cush so I added a 2” foam latex topper and a quilted mattress pad. With these minor adjustments I now have the bed perfect for me. The firmness level of the mattress is probably perfect as-is for back and stomach sleepers. With this purchase I upgraded from a traditional spring, queen size to the Bear cal king. I’m tall - 6’2” - and I am celebrating that my feet no longer dangle over end of bed. I find the foam technology far superior to the spring type. I made my own platform out of pine boards.

We like our new mattress.
We like our new mattress. However it says its a queen size and it is smaller than our queen bed frame fairly significantly. It is comfortable and a little softer than I thought.

Great bed for in between
Great bed for in between soft and firm!

Fantastic!
The bear mattress is extremely comfortable. I have no complaints so far. It’s a perfect mix of firm and plush. Before the bear mattress, I was waking up with backaches. These backaches have completely disappeared and I look forward to a great night sleep every evening.

Browse Simmons Beautyrest Customer Reviews

Five Stars
Outstanding mattress at an unbeatable price. Mattress Firm wanted $1k for the same exact mattress!

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

This mattress felt great at first but after only 1 year started to ...
This mattress felt great at first but after only 1 year started to sag on both sides, leaving a "hill" in the middle.
Now we are having back problems and so are replacing it after only a little more than a year. This is a horrible investment,
don't make this mistake.

One Star
Way too soft!!

Mattress is ok for few years but when it does ...
Mattress is ok for few years but when it does go back, forget about the 10yrs warranty. Simmons will no honor it.. they will try to charge you as much or more for "upgrading the mattress" with no warranty on the replacement! I have filed complaints with BBB but they don't care.
Please file complaints if you have had any warranty issues so they are force to take of the customers!

Three Stars
Wished it was thicker

Steer clear of this mattress!
We just received this mattress today, and it is TERRIBLE! I am writing this review at 1:30am because I can't sleep on it. I have given up and am now lying on a foam topper placed on the bedroom floor, and I am much more comfortable here on the floor than I was in the bed.
The fabric on the mattress is stiff and of very low quality. This shouldn't be a problem because it's covered with a mattress pad and sheets anyway, but it still doesn't "give" for that plush feel. You sink into the mattress, which could be good, except you are met with hard springs and awful pressure points. My husband, a back sleeper, is already having terrible back pains after just a few hours. I'm a side-sleeper, and my shoulder and hip are killing me. I know they say a mattress needs time to settle, but I can't tolerate this bed for a few hours, much less a whole night. I will be returning this mattress.

On my 3rd replacement!
The cheapest made mattress we have ever purchased. I have now had 2 of these mattresses, the first was ripped and sagged in the middle right out of the package. They (nationwide retailer) replaced it with another and it is as bad, if not worse. It squeaks so bad and is so cheap. I paid over $1,300 for a king set and it is completely useless to us. It makes so much noise and racket every time you move. I will never buy anything with the Beautyrest name.

Four Stars
Met expectations

This is the Worst worst worst bed ever
This is the Worst worst worst bed ever!!!!!
The worst purchase we ever made. If you have back or hip issue potential, this bed will bring it out! I hate this miserable, awful bed!
If Stephen King were to write about a pain inflicting bed, this bed would be it!!!

Big item no problems !
Beautiful comfortable bed delivered thru Amazon just as easily as ordering a small item
Delivered fast and easily. We are quite happy. Excellent quality !

Five Stars
Outstanding mattress at an unbeatable price. Mattress Firm wanted $1k for the same exact mattress!

Hills and valleys
Had this restored spirits five years.the last three years were hell. My husband wouldn’ Sleep on it. Contacted Simmons for inspection and replacement. No go. I have spent weeks reading reviews. I am sleeping on this any longer. Moved to guest room until I find new mattress. I will never buy another beauty rest.

A little too firm for me
Thought I ordered the plush mattress, but received the firm. Trying to adjust to this mattress. Good price and good quality.

Comfortable mattress that does not sag.
I could not be happier with the pillow top mattress that I recently purchased. The pillow top seems to help me sleep better and is better for me to sleep on since I have arthritis. The mattress fabric is of excellent quality.

Good mattress.
This mattress is nice and comfortable. Good deal. I picked this mattress out online. I've never bought a mattress online before. Fortunately, it worked out. Good choice.

This is a fabulous mattress
The mattress is nice and firm, pillow top just as I ordered. I was very surprised at the excellent quality of the mattress. Have got no response to the advertised gift card. It was supposedly mailed separately 2 weeks ago

Love, Love, Love this mattress.
I tried many mattresses in 4 different stores one Saturday and most were fine but as soon as I lay on this Simmons Beautyrest, something felt different. I walked around and tried a few more then came back to the Beautyrest. I knew it was the one - perfect pillow top yet firm as I like it. No more sleepless, tossing and turning nights!

Not for a person with a bad back
Purchased the Silver but only kept it 3 weeks. Was good the first week but by the second week started to break down. By the third week it was squishy and made my back worse. If you have a bad back don't buy a pillow top. They tell me now that I am returning the mattress. Penney's does not refund your money so am having to buy a different mattress. Originally told I had up to 100 days but that is no longer true, it is now 48 hours. Who can tell if a mattress is right for you in 48 hours. Wish I had not purchased my mattress from Penney's. Buyer beware.

Not what I expected
VERY DISAPPOINTED. NOT WHAT I EXPECTED. THIS QUEEN SIZE MATTRESS COULD NOT POSSIBLY BE WORTH APPROXIMATELY 1800.00(I DID NOT PAY THIS PRICE) BUT IT'S NOT WORTH THAT PRICE! JUST NOT SATISFIED. SEEMS CHEAP, NOT TOO COMFORTABLE. DOES NOT FEEL LIKE YOU'RE SLEEPING ON A CLOUD, NO WAY! I PURCHASED ONLINE, BIG MISTAKE! GO TO STORE PERSONALLY TO CHOOSE YOUR MATTRESS.

Excellent product, I just love the firmness!
I think this is an excellent mattress. The only thing was the delay in getting the mattress whic paritally was my fault since I ordered the wrong one at first. Oerall I am very pleased with it!

Great mattress
I thought it would be a little softer on the top but I still sleep great.

This product is not as firm as I expected.
This product is not as firm as I expected. I was hoping it would get better as i get used to with it but have not seen the result as of yet.

NOT AS FIRM AS I WOULD LIKE
It seems to be very well made; movement dampening is good. If you want something firm, this probably isn't what you want. I am a stomach sleeper and the plush doesn't really support the arch of your back.

Best Bed
This bed is very comfortable. It's like sleeping on a cloud. Great buy.

Not a good value
Mattress feels like its years old already with height changes that make it uncomfortable

the first 2 weeks has been great !
Most mattress start out great, the real test is over time. We hope it last years as it should with out sagging or breaking down

Great product, great value!
I love this mattress! Quality is great and the opportunity to use coupons and earn rewards is awesome! The company that delivered the mattress was great also.

This Mattress Is Better Than Advertised, It's So Comfortable!
I was looking for a firm mattress, and found it in this Simmons Beautyrest Silver Snowhaven Luxury Firm Mattress! It's A Five Star Rated Bed, That I Guarantee Will Give You A Five Star Night's Sleep!!

Not as hoped for
Problems with delivery, didn't get it until over a month after ordering even though we're home 4 days out of the week. After only a couple of months with the new mattress, it already has 2 slightly sunken spots where we lay, and we are not overweight people. I've heard that Simmons makes a better mattress if you are willing to pay a lot more, but this apparently isn't one of those.

Best sale price available at the time.
previous mattress was a Beautyrest plush king. Wanted a little more firmness but full firm was too much. The luxury firm was just right. Took a week or so to get used to the extra firmness but now we love it. Also, this mattress is nice and thick so it works well on a platform style frame without the need for box springs.

Wonderful Mattress!!!
For the first time in months I slept like a baby the very first night I got this mattress. Firm yet extremely comfortable. I just love it. I tried a Saatva brand luxury firm mattress and it was terrible. I had to come back to Beautyrest and I'm glad I did.

Very comfortable
The salesman was so easy to work with. And the delivery men were great.

Very comfortable bed
This is my first bed purchase without actually trying the specific bed first, I tried a few out at the local store and then saw this described online. I was nervous but the product is actually good. Only complaint is it took over two weeks for delivery

This mattress is great buy.
This mattress is great buy. I originally planned to get a tempur pedic. I then switched to a Stearns and Foster. In the end this was the best mattress at a great a price. It was more in my budget.

Nicely made mattress..perfect for a good nights sleep!
We finally chose this new mattress after much research. We were scared of so many choices available, but not a lot of positive reviews on most of them. With backaches every morning for my husband for awhile now, & now mine starting to hurt, we knew it was time to take the leap & buy a new one. I was shopping at Penney's for towels while my husband waited in car, when I seen the mattress sale. So I went & got him & made him lay on a few. He chose this one & the very first night he slept like a baby, & has ever since. We both wake up with no soreness already. It is a tall mattress & we bought a new box spring as well, so we have to slide down out of bed. But we love the height of it right now. And maybe as we get older we'll have to get a step on each side, or go with the standard bed frame. We have a lovely vintage oak bed with side rails, so both pieces had to sit on that. So it is tall now! So if you need lower, suggest buying just the mattress & sitting it on the plywood (as suggested for warranty)..I would still like both pieces even if I had the lower frame. So we love it & would recommend it. Pretty too! Love the navy blue sides.

Great Decision
It is so difficult to choose a mattress that you have confidence in, but this mattress is great! It is firm but well cushioned. It is also beautiful. The excellent delivery and set-up service is also appreciated. Virginia Jones

My daughter loved it!
My daughter loves her new mattress. She actually took her thousand stuffed animals off the bed so she could really enjoy it.

Great
This bed is very comfortable, I would recommend to anyone.

this product has simple and easy features
simple only need 1 no need for box spring and comfort is amazing .. fits to you.. feeling someone else kicking is very mim.

Delivered when quoted.
Price was great, had to wait on delivery, but received when quoted by very nice employees an they removed old one. Mattress is firm but must be covered by mattress cover for warranty i believe.