Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get an Instant Discount for Brooklyn Bedding
Get 30% Off Sitewide - Ends 5/27

Bear Mattress vs. Brooklyn Bedding

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Bear Mattress

Bear offers 5 top-rated mattresses. Their Bear Original memory foam has won acclaim with athletes on a budget. For those looking for a pressure-relieving feel, the Star Hybrid and Pro Hybrid are great options. Sleepers looking for the responsive feel of natural latex will enjoy the Bear Natural hybrid mattress. Lastly, their Elite Hybrid, features both cooling foams and zoned support to provide sleepers with a luxurious sleep experience. From the Celliant® fibers to copper cooling, customers love these mattresses for their superior cooling, muscle pain relief, and balanced back support.

Brooklyn Bedding

Brooklyn Bedding is a quality-focused mattress maker that produces a variety of mattresses with different firmness options. Manufacturing all of their mattresses in their own Arizona based factory, Brooklyn Bedding is able to pass on competitive prices and value to their customers. Also, read about their specialty brands: ultra-firm Plank Mattress, plus-size friendly Titan Mattress, and eco-friendly Ecosleep.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Brooklyn Bedding in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Brooklyn Bedding

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Bear Mattress: 9.5/10
Brooklyn Bedding: 9.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Bear Mattress: 9.5/10
Brooklyn Bedding: 9.4/10

Price Value:
Bear Mattress: 9.4/10
Brooklyn Bedding: 9.5/10

No Back Pain:
Bear Mattress: 9.6/10
Brooklyn Bedding: 9.5/10

Price:
Bear Mattress: $786-$4996
Brooklyn Bedding: $274-$2665

Bear Mattress:
Get 35% Off + Gifts | Code slumber35

Brooklyn Bedding:
Get 30% Off Sitewide - Ends 5/27


Bear Mattress's Owner Satisfaction

Reading customer reviews can be a great way to get a clarity on choosing a new mattress because it makes it more likely that you will find a mattress that works for you. Based on recent and overall reviews, these mattresses get some of the best ratings for owner satisfaction. So, you can feel good researching this brand as a consideration.


Bear Mattress's Supportiveness

Getting support at night makes everyone happy -- it is the difference between restless tossing and turning from back pain or waking up refreshed and pain-free. These mattresses provide some of the best support for the spine available on the market.

Edge Support
Great edge support is the difference between sleeping anywhere on the mattress or having to sleep only in the middle of your bed. Luckily, these mattresses offer great and lasting edge support.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Some reviewers like to use bowling balls to measure mattress firmness. In addition to firmness alone, the bowling ball test is great for measuring even support across the surface. Customers and reviewers note that these mattresses do a great job providing even support, while remaining comfortable and supportive for shoulders and hips.


Bear Mattress's Durability

These mattresses are very competitive when it comes to durability. Having a durable mattress can mean years of comfortable nights. while one that fails quickly can mean endless back pain. These mattresse will last between 7 - 12 years for most sleepers, which is aligned with good contemporary mattresses. Those that use their mattresses more than average or have larger builds may experience a slight decrease in longevity.

Brooklyn Bedding's Owner Satisfaction

Customers are highly satisfied with these mattresses over others, which means when we did an investigation of the current data from customers, we found these mattresses were ranked highly. Now that you know what customers think in total, read on to learn more about specifics.


Brooklyn Bedding's Supportiveness

Good mattress support is what you need to wake up feeling good in the morning. You don't want a mattress that hurts you at night. These mattresses do a good job providing support for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is always important to those that want to lay close to the edge of the mattress, desire sitting on the edge, or have mobility issues. These mattresses are supportive along the edges and don't suffer from too much contouring versus the center.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Popular among reviewers, the bowling ball test provides a good indication of firmness while also showing evenness of support across the mattress. If the mattress doesn't provide even support, some people may experience discomfor if it doesn't work with their body. Luckily, these mattresses have good ratings here and shouldn't have that as a problem.


Brooklyn Bedding's Durability

Every mattress shopper is looking for a mattress that will last. However, with some companies focusing more on profits and less on quality, this can be more and more difficult to find. However, even with this, thhese mattresses specifically do well when it comes to durability. Most customers should have them last up to a decade. If you are heavier or use your mattress more than nightly, then you may expect a little less durability.

Browse Bear Mattress Customer Reviews

Sleeping like on a cloud!
This mattress is simply amazing! I immediately fell asleep and woke up nice and rested, no back pain what so ever! Like I said - amazing! I recommending this to everyone!

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Perfect fit for me, maybe not for others
Took me a week to get my body use to the new bed, now it is amazing, I would suggest giving this bed some time before you make a final decision

The best!
My girlfriend and just got a Cal King and love it. Shipping was fast and the mattress is amazing. I should have done this years ago.

Great for her/bad for me
I was so excited to get my new Bear mattress, I know 2 people who have them and so I thought if they love them I'll get one. Worst 2 1/2 weeks ever. Woke up all night with a sore back and pain in my hips. But on the other hand my wife loved it. That's why I'm giving this a 3 star and not a 1, because I guess I like soft mattresses. This has about ...Read Morea 6 1/2 out of ten on the firmness scale which I thought was soft (it's not). I'm returned it and exchanged it for a softer mattress... Which I love. Best night sleep I've ever gotten, and she still loves it too. Read Less

Best Mattress for Anyone
My fiancé and I are not athletes by any means, but I'm a light sleeper and he moves around A LOT. We loved the fact that this bed had almost zero motion transfer. It's done wonders for me in getting a full nights sleep, and my fiancé loves it too. The only thing I'd say is that we wouldn't have probably found this company without watching review videos first. They seem to market to athletes a lot, but honestly this will work for anyone. Also the upgrade from a queen to a king is incredible. Thank you bear! We are customers for life.

Don't know that I believe in the Celliant technology
But after owning this for around 3 months, I have to say that this is the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on. I used a Tempurpedic for a while, and I find the firmness of this mattress to be much better. This mattress may be too firm for some and too bouncy for others (I wouldn't want to try the bowling ball and wine glass test), but for me it seems to be just right.

Best sleep in months
We were hesitant to try the box memory foam mattresses at first, but after doing some research we decided on the bear mattress. The purchasing and delivery process was informative and quick. Setting up the mattress and foundation was very easy. My husband and I have slept very well since getting the mattress. I used to wake up in the middle of the night and toss and turn for hours before falling back asleep. I have slept through the night in a deep sleep for the entire month that we've had our bear mattress. We are very satisfied customers!!

Great nights sleep!
I am so glad gave this mattress a try! It took me about a week to adjust, but have been sleeping better than I have in a long time. Just the right blend of firmness, support and it really does conform to your body.

Good night sleep
As advertised this is a very comfortable bed. The only thing I have trouble with is that I lay too long in one position on my back it can be uncomfortable but I don't think it is the bed

Very comfortable bed! Relieved my
Very comfortable bed! Relieved my shoulder and back pain within a month

Excellent
Great mattress! Especially for the price. Sleep soundly and can’t tell when my husband gets out of bed. Mattress is firm yet molds to your body! Love it!

Ease and comfort
Bear mattress has been a great experience. It was so easy to order, came in just a few days and was very easy to set up. Now the mattress- super comfortable - just the right firmnes. I would definitely recommend and buy again!

Awesome!
Love this mattress. I am a very warm person and I have to say I love being cool all night long. We even bought the pillows and they are amazing. I would have to say I feel the mattress for me is a bit on the firm side, so it did take some getting used to. But overall it has exceeded my expectations. And what's even better is its wife approved..... She loves it!

BestEver
Great mattress, comfortable and supportive. I love it

Great mattress
Great, comfortable bed.

Amazing!
To be honest, after the first night I was ready to get rid of it! It was extremely firm and my husband urged me to give it time. Now after a few weeks, it’s great! I didn’t think a mattress that came out of a box would be that comfortable. It feels firm to the touch, but once you lay down you’re transported to a cloud. Love it!

Supportive nights sleep!
I've loved my bear mattress! It does not sleep warm at all. Sleeps cooly like a traditional mattress. The mattress is soft to the touch but very supportive and firm. I have not woken up aching since I got my Bear. Worth every penny!

Awesome
exceptional mattress/foundation. Has helped my sleep immensely

Bear Mattress
I bought my son the Bear Mattress and he is so happy he hates to get out of bed to start the day. I think the bed is amazing also and may get one for myself.

Great!
Great mattress! Sleeps really well and I love how cool it sleeps. I hope it never wears out but if it doesiwill buy another Bear!!

It's a little firmer than
It's a little firmer than I expected at first, my wife too. But after a few days you adapt to that and it really is a comfortable mattress. Love how it give that memory foam contour without that memory foam grab.

Bear Mattress- King
We love our Bear Mattress! It was super easy to set up, and super comfortable. It took a week to get used to, but after that we have never slept better.

New Mattress
We were looking for an affordable memory foam option mattress and wanted to upgrade to the king size! Definitely very happy with our purchase! Easy to set up and comfortable from the first night. My husband I noticed we slept a little “hot” the first few nights we had the mattress. We got use to it in about a week or so and have been enjoying it s...Read Moreince! (we live in San Diego so the weather doesn’t change too much) Good price and great quality! Read Less

Too firm for me
If you like a firm mattress, this one is for you. I was very pleased with the price and delivery. The mattress is also very nice, it's just too firm for me. Unfortunately, I will be returning it.

Very impressed with my Bear Mattress
The mattress has been great. The best mattress I've ever slept on. My big thing was the ability to dissipate heat while I sleep. if it could live up to that promise, I knew it would be perfect for me, and they actually pulled it off. Who needs a $3-5k Tempur Pedic? Get a Bear and you will not regret it. Evander Smart Founder of Bitcoin University

Hibernation Station
I used to prefer sleeping on a rock hard Select Comfort mattress. The Bear Mattress felt a little soft initially, but I got used to the memory foam feel. It provides good lumbar support and sleeps relatively cool.

Awesome!
I don't really know what I expected honestly, but I'm not disappointed! For the first time in years I woke up and walked to the bathroom. I didn't hobble. I didn't take a few minutes to work through the soreness. There was no soreness!! I've also been on the hunt for a good pillow for years and this is it! No neck pain and keeps me cool. I have a very physically active job and crossfit at least 3 days a week. This mattress totallt aids in recovery

Great Mattress
Found this mattress by luck online. Purchased it for my son after many failed attempts and he loves it; hasn’t slept this comfortably in a while. Highly recommend the company and the mattress, trying to convince my wife to get one for us.

Love it!
I’ve been sleeping on this mattress for a month or so now, and I love it! I originally got it for our spare bedroom, but we loved it so much that we moved it into the master bedroom! Very easy delivery, fun to open up, and the mattress is awesome! Did I say that I love it?

Bear mattress review
Love it!!!! Haven’t slept this great in a long time!!

Sleeping Great
We're very happy with our bear mattress so far! Sleeping great and it doesn't hold the heat like our old Tempurpedic did.

fine
I haven't had an amazing experience, but I'm still hanging on. My other mattress was giving me back pain every night. Since I have slept on the Bear it has only slowly been getting less painful to sleep at night. I don't love how the edges completely sink when I'm sitting on the edge of the bed -I practically slide right off. I'm still waiting thi...Read Mores one out to see if it holds up or improves more long term. ??? It's fine, but not great. Read Less

My Bear mattress is the
My Bear mattress is the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. It definitely helps with my chronic lower back pain. The price is also so much less expensive than comparible mattresses

Sleeping Cool Now
I purchased the king size Bear mattress and have been sleeping cool. I have always been a hot sleeper. Wake up sweaty and hot. Restless nights as a result. Not anymore. Since getting the Bear I have slept cool! Sleeping cool means better nights sleep for me. Very comfortable too. A great product at a great value. Sleeping cool and sleeping longer now! Loving it!!

Believe it's a nice mattress, although perhaps not right for me
The mattress seems to be of high quality and good feel. I would put it in the same class of other mattresses of the same type (Casper or Leesa). While I'm not sure it's working for me (personal feel only), there is nothing about this experience that was particularly negative up to this point; I knew there would be a chance for this to happen buyin...Read Moreg a mattress sight unseen. 3 star rating simply because I don't believe I will be keeping it, although I think I'd have similar results with the other ship to home style foam mattresses. Read Less

Firm yet comfortable!
This is the first mattress I’ve ever invested in. It took me a couple days to adjust to it and now it feels like a perfect match. I’m use to mattresses being really bouncy so it’s a nice change. Definitely worth it. I also purchased the bear box and mattress protector.

With minor customization it’s perfect for me
I love my bear! As a side sleeper I determined I needed a bit more cush so I added a 2” foam latex topper and a quilted mattress pad. With these minor adjustments I now have the bed perfect for me. The firmness level of the mattress is probably perfect as-is for back and stomach sleepers. With this purchase I upgraded from a traditional spring, queen size to the Bear cal king. I’m tall - 6’2” - and I am celebrating that my feet no longer dangle over end of bed. I find the foam technology far superior to the spring type. I made my own platform out of pine boards.

We like our new mattress.
We like our new mattress. However it says its a queen size and it is smaller than our queen bed frame fairly significantly. It is comfortable and a little softer than I thought.

Great bed for in between
Great bed for in between soft and firm!

Fantastic!
The bear mattress is extremely comfortable. I have no complaints so far. It’s a perfect mix of firm and plush. Before the bear mattress, I was waking up with backaches. These backaches have completely disappeared and I look forward to a great night sleep every evening.

Browse Brooklyn Bedding Customer Reviews

Wife is sleeping well on
Wife is sleeping well on new mattress.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Love a firm mattress and
Love a firm mattress and this one is PERFECT!!!!!

This truly is the Best
This truly is the Best Mattress Ever! I got the soft mattress for my 12 year old son, and he is in love with his new bed! He told me it feels like sleeping on a cloud. Thanks for an amazing product at a great price. You guys rock!

Very comfortable, stays cool, good
Very comfortable, stays cool, good thickness, super supportive, and a great price. We love it.

Love love this king bed
that we bought for our bedroom so much so that we got rid of our sealy posturepedic and bought another king for a guest bedroom, We will be doing the same for the other guest room with a queen size. Nice that they give you sheets and pillows with the purchase also.

Amazing mattress The medium firmness
Amazing mattress The medium firmness is more firm then expected but I rather enjoy it.

Great experience
We had a great experience through the whole process. Marcell and the rest of the staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. We were very happy with our purchase!

It definitely is the #bestmattressever!
It definitely is the #bestmattressever! I purchased the medium firm one in Queen. It does feel like it isn’t all that firm at first but after a few hours it worked out. I don’t wake up with pain in my back and hips anymore and I finally achieved the restfulness feeling I was looking for. Goodbye dingy old mattress!

I shopped around for a
I shopped around for a mattress that was non-toxic and didn't break the bank. I finally decided on Brooklyn Bedding. I love my mattress! I'm a side sleeper and I chose the medium firmness level. The ordering process was easy and the mattress was delivered quickly. One thing I will note is that the mattress did have an odor which dissipated in about 10 days. I recommend it!

I spent a long time
I spent a long time looking for a new mattress and decided on Brooklyn Bedding and I am grad I did. Customer Service replied very quickly to answer all my questions. I decided on med/firm and it is a little firmer then I thought, but it has been only 3 weeks so I feel it is getting softer.The quality of the mattress is excellent for the price and feels great. My wife and I are sleeping a lot better now then we slept on our old spring mattress. We don't get that 'stuck in the bed feeling', you sink in but not to much so it's very easy to move around. We definitely enjoy sleeping on this bed so far. They use new foam layers now not latex so hopefully it holds up.Thanks Brooklyn Bed for a great mattress.

Very comfortable mattress. Skeptic about
Very comfortable mattress. Skeptic about buying online but glad I did.

Great pricing- a good deal
Great pricing- a good deal with free pillows and sheets. Fast delivery! Happy to see Brooklyn Bedding here in Phoenix. Support a local business and choose Brooklyn Bedding!

I love the mattress so
I love the mattress so far, no complaints.

Great product and great customer
Great product and great customer service. Truly a satisfying experience! I haven't had any back pain as a side sleeper on bb mattress for a month now. Thanks so much.

Seriously I don’t know how
Seriously I don’t know how I slept on anything before this!!!! Thank you so much!

Excellent in every way.
Excellent in every way.

Awesome mattress! I bought a
Awesome mattress! I bought a king with medium firmness and it is absolutely perfect. I also got 2 shredded foam pillows and sheets. The pillows are really comfortable, not too firm and not too flat. My package arrived faster than expected and was easy to set up.

This item was never received
This item was never received

First Foam Bed, Very Happy!
My wife & I are replacing a 10+ year old King Koil that has served us well, but is probably past it's useful life. And as we get older, a softer mattress seemed appealing. Seems the hottest trend in bedding these days is the mattress in a box concept. So, thought we'd give it a try. After a month or so of online research, I was amazed at all the new companies pushing these. They all seem to have good reviews, and the independent review sites also seem favorable to them. Where to start? First elimination was beds that did not offer different levels of firmness....took about half the field out right away. from there, I researched the company's themselves, to get a feel for them. Brooklyn took the lead by virtue of their time in the business, and the fact they are also the mfg'r, apparently making beds for other sellers. The price was also a factor, and Brooklyn was strong here too, along with the solid warranty. (To be fair, all the brands seems to back their beds very well.) Based on all this, we decided to try Brooklyn, with the King/Soft model. We went with soft based on other reviews indicating actual feel was firmer than the name might imply. Wife & I are also not large people, and wanted a softer feel. Order was placed, and the bed arrived about 5 days later. This is our first venture into non-traditional (coil) bedding, so we were a bit apprehensive at the sight of this rolled up thing we pulled out of the box (also got the pillows & sheet set, more on those later) We pushed it up the stairs, placed it on our old foundation (King Koil box spring from the old mattress), and began cutting plastic. Once it was free, we positioned it somewhat properly, and stood back & watched. Within minutes, it looked like a bed! Crazy! Overall quality of the inflated mattress was very nice, appeared to be well made. The handles on the side are handy for final positioning. We put on the included sheets, which were also of good quality, and covered the pillows, which are crazy heavy, btw. This was all in the middle of the day, so we figured on letting it completely fill with air through the rest of the day, so it would be ready to sleep on that night. So, how was it? I resisted writing a review the next morning, as I woke up quite thrilled with the experience. I think it truly was one of the best nights of sleep ever! The combination of softness & support is nearly perfect for us. Feels amazing as the soft top layer sinks in, and the underlying support takes hold. Feels very luxurious. Motion transfer is somewhere between spring & memory foam (our son has a memory foam), we found to be just fine. The new Titan foam does indeed sleep very cool, I think even more so than our old spring mattress. So, it's been almost 2 weeks now, and we both love the new mattress. We are 110% happy. The jury is still out on the pillows....they may just be a tad to "fat", but are otherwise very supportive, and also sleep cool. I may try to remove some stuffing, see if that helps. Otherwise, this is just an awesome bed, especially at the price point it is offered. Longevity is also a bit of an unknown, since this is a new material....hopefully it be comfortable for it's 10 year warranty. Since this is the only (foam) brand we've tried, can't really compare to anything else. But we can whole-heatedly recommend Brooklyn if you are considering a foam bed. For us, it is indeed the Bestmattressever!

Connie
We bought two twin xl #bestmattressever's in firm for adjustable bases for my husband and I about 18mos ago. We had a sick dog so I never started sleeping on mine until July of 2017 because I was sleeping downstairs on a futon for the dog. After our dog passed, I started sleeping on the new Brooklyn Bedding mattress and was have terrible lower back pain. We suspected I didn't weigh enough for a firm mattress. I gave BB a call and explained what was going on and they suggested the soft or medium mattress based on my weight, height, and the fact I was a side/back sleeper. I was well outside their 120 return policy but they told me they would give me a % off a new soft or medium mattress! They are excellent to their customers!! I got a new soft mattress today and I have to say it is perfect!!!! I couldn't be happier and will forever be a Brooklyn Bedding customer because they care about their customers!

The best sleep I've ever
The best sleep I've ever had. I remember my first night. I was nervous. Opened the wrapper. Got the covers on and slid in. I barely remembered what happened next cus I slept so hard and deep that I almost called in the next day to sleep some more. The pillows are glorious. The sheets are so soft. I feel so supported by the mattress. Wish I would have made the purchase sooner.

So far, so good -
So far, so good - very comfortable mattress!

The best night sleep I
The best night sleep I have ever had. Medium is perfect for me a side sleeper and my husband a stomach sleeper. I love the way you don’t fully sink in to the bed. It has a good bounce back to it!! Love love love this bed!

good mattress
good mattress

This bed is AMAZING!!!!
This bed is AMAZING!!!!

Fantastic mattress! I purchased a
Fantastic mattress! I purchased a queen soft, because i am a side sleeper and need better comfiness. Received in about 4 days from purchase date which was great. There was only a little smell with it but by the end of the day it was subtle enough to sleep in. It truly unrolls and inhales air QUICKLY! so fun to watch =) This mattress is about 80lbs+ i am guessing, so for my 5'2" frame its a bear to move to the bedroom to set up. I LOVE plushness in my mattress so the feeling foam was not quite what i was originally hoping for but i think its great now (coming from a spring mattress). In spite of all that I still think I am going to go find a plush mattress topper to give it a little more of that amazing i-am-sleeping-on-a-cloud feeling. //side note, i received a deal on my mattress that included pillows and microfiber sheets. the pillows were WAY too firm so i took out some of the stuffing and its better. The sheets are not as incredible as they made it sound- not as cooling for sure- but they are decently comfortable, they are my back up pair now. Dont expect egyptian cotton but they are nice!

We have had the mattress
We have had the mattress about 3 weeks. We ordered the firm. Reason being, all beds soften up after about a month or 6 weeks and end up too soft. We wanted back support and we got it. The bed is very firm but is already softening up to perfect. Firm but there is still a comfort layer. We have tried other online companies and this is our favorite so far.

One of the best decisions
One of the best decisions I ever made !

Bed is great, still only
Bed is great, still only a month old, but love it.

A guest who has this
A guest who has this same mattress at home, was the first to sleep on this. She gives it 5 stars

Extremely comfortable. Back feels great
Extremely comfortable. Back feels great

It is the first time
It is the first time in a long time we have not tossed and turned. We are certainly starting to feel a good nights rest.

Its definately firm. I'll give
Its definately firm. I'll give it 30 days, then decide how i like it. It does sleep cool & edge support is good

So far everyone that have
So far everyone that have slept on it in the guest room have liked it.

Wonderful bedding, price and service!
Wonderful bedding, price and service! Recommending to my family & friends.

Love this bed
Love this bed

love this mattress! both my
love this mattress! both my wife and i prefer firm. This fits the bill perfectly. been almost 3 months now and we still do not have a furrow forming which is a good sign. I spent about a week trolling the internet finding out as much as i could about mattresses and checking reviews etc. And this is the one i ended up with. As an aside, we just went on vacation recently for 10 days - half way through we were both wishing we were home again just to get a good nights sleep!

Love it, shipped fast and
Love it, shipped fast and straight up to my apartment and unwrapped and in position nn in less than 5 min. Very comfortable .

Have had it less than
Have had it less than a month; but, so far so good. I'm sleeping well on it.

loving it!
loving it!