Banner vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Banner

Banner Mattress is a southern Californian mattress company that is popular in LA and surrounding locations. They also sell mattresses online, through their online store. They offer a variety of name brand mattresses, such as Beautyrest, Stearns & Foster, and Tempur-Pedic brands. They also manufacture their own mattresses for low pricepoints versus name brands.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Banner in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Banner


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Banner: 8.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Banner: 8.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Banner: 8.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Banner: 8.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Banner: $119-$3349
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Banner:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Banner's Owner Satisfaction

Everyone wants to look at customer responses before we buy such a pricy product. However, it isn't that simple trying to condense the most important parts after browsing a bunch of brands. We did an examination of reviews and sentiment and discovered that sleepers rate these mattresses above average overall. However, some couldn't get as comfortable. Read more below on the mattress specifics.

Banner's Supportiveness

These mattresses are better than average when it comes to support, which is hopeful for those that are looking for something to align their spine at night. That said, some people have reported that they don't feel well supported, so make sure to figure out if the firmness and overall specifications are for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much a mattress props you up along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do well here, but some may exerience some dipping along the sides.

Banner's Durability

Durable mattresses will last between 7 and 12 years based on the materials that are in the mattress. Generally, foam mattresses will be less durable, and coils mattresses that are well made will last longer. However, unprepared mattresses will break down much faster no matter the materials used, especially for larger customers. These mattresses get mixed reviews from sleepers. Some find them to be fine when it comes to durability, but others have had issues.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a sense of how customers feel about mattresses can direct shoppers towards good options. Sleepers, regrettably, don't always repond positively towards these mattresses. Some report being comfy, but there are some who have had bad experiences. If you are considering, make sure to read on to figure out if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Experts agree that a supportive mattress is very important for having a good night's sleep. Over the first few months of use, these mattresses have high marks for support, but there are some reports of problems with support over the long term. This is one reason to really do your research to make sure that these mattresses will fit your body type.

Edge Support
Edge support is very important for most sleepers and makes it easier to get out of bed in the morning. These mattresses are okay in terms of edge support, but some sleepers may experience more dipping over time.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In bowling ball tests that measure the supportiveness of a new mattress, these mattresses have fairly even support. That said, there are some that have experienced issues with support over time.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Getting a mattress which has lasting comfort is what buyers are after. We all want to find a mattress that is just as cozy as it was day 1 on day 1001. Unfortunately, not all customers regard these mattresses highly overall on durability, and some have had some problems over the short term. If you are considering using as your full time mattress, read through the customer reviews and return policies to make sure that you are secure in your purchase.

Browse Banner Customer Reviews

Definitely recommend going here if you're looking for a mattress

Definitely recommend going here if you're looking for a mattress! My husband and I were helped by Misty and she was so pleasant and genuinely wanted to help us. Misty was very knowledgeable about the products and my favorite part about her was that she wasn't pushy and knew when to walk away and let me and my husband discuss our options. She even got our 5 month old son to enjoy himself! Towards the end of our visit Julian stepped in to help us while Misty was busy and he was also a pleasure and super helpful and VERY honest. Overall we had a great experience and walked away with a mattress we can't wait to try out!

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.