Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get an Instant Discount for Awara
Get Up To 50% Off

Awara vs. Birch Living

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Awara

Meet Awara, maker of 2 pressure relieving latex hybrid mattresses, featuring a GreenGuard Gold certified design and a sustainable mission for a price point that comparatively carries much more value for its 10'' and 12'' thick mattresses than many other latex mattress companies. Whether you are sensitive to chemicals or enjoy the invigorating feel of latex, you can rest easy that your purchase is eco-conscious since Awara holds a certification with the Rainforest Alliance and a partnership with Trees For The Future that plants trees for every mattress purchased. With one firmer and one responsive soft feel, Awara brings a comfy sigh of relief to sleepers.

Birch Living

Birch Living is an organic mattress brand by Helix, which is one of the most popular mattress in a box companies. After merging with popular mattress company Brooklyn Bedding at the end of 2021, Birch Living mattresses are now made in a Arizona and feature all-natural and organic comfort layers with pocketed coil support systems. With a focus on back support and 'ergonomic pressure relief,' there is a lot to love about these natural mattresses.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Awara in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Awara

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Awara: 9.4/10
Birch Living: 9.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Awara: 9.3/10
Birch Living: 9.3/10

Price Value:
Awara: 9.6/10
Birch Living: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
Awara: 9.4/10
Birch Living: 9.3/10

Price:
Awara: $1099-$2099
Birch Living: $1373-$3123

Awara:
Get Up To 50% Off

Birch Living:
Get 25% Off + 2 Free Pillows


Awara's Owner Satisfaction

It is important to have great customer review ratings from sleepers. Customers give this brand great ratings over most competitors, which should give you a good starting point to learn more. Research on below to discover if this mattress will work for you!


Awara's Supportiveness

Good mattress support is what you need to wake up feeling good in the morning. You want a mattress that makes you feel refreshed and doesn't cause back aches. These mattresses are well supportive.

Edge Support
Edge support is really important for those that like to dangle their feet over the side of the mattress. These mattresses do a well with edge support and don't sag too much on the edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Popular among reviewers, the bowling ball test does a good job showing firmness and contouring, but also evenness of support. If the mattress doesn't provide even support, some people may experience discomfor if it doesn't work with their body. Luckily, these mattresses offer good support and don't have many problems here.


Awara's Durability

These mattresses do a good job with comfort longevity versus competitors. Having a durable mattress can mean comfortable sleep for years while one that quickly falters can mean immediate discomfort. These mattresses will last up to a decade, which is good for mattresses today. Folks may experience slight decreases in durability who are of heavier builds or spend more than average in bed.

Birch Living's Owner Satisfaction

Having a mattress that works well for customers is a good place to begin before learning if it will work for your specifically. These mattresses have high marks for customer satisfaction based on the online customer review data. Customers report feeling comfy in their mattresses and have had good experiences overall with the company itself. Keep reading below to discover if one of these mattresses will work well for your body!


Birch Living's Supportiveness

These mattresses are solid in terms of their support. These mattresses are good at supporting the back and keeping things well aligned for the hips and shoulders.

Edge Support
These mattresses also keep things competitive in regards to edge support, which is how a mattress keeps even support along its sides. For people that like to sit on the edge of the mattress, these mattresses should do a fine job keeping things comfortable.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Resting a bowling ball on your mattress is a good indicator of firmness, and it is can help in seeing how the firmness changes throughout the mattress. In this way, it can show if there is an even or uneven surface. Based on this, these mattresses will do well in their even support of the spine.


Birch Living's Durability

Finding a durable mattress can means thousands in savings for you and your family. And that totally connects to why durability is such a big factor for mattress buyers. However, unsurprisingly, there are lots of brands that are more concerned with their immediate bottom line. In spite of that, there are still some great brands that make durable products. These mattresses are very well rated when it comes to durability. These mattresses should do a great job for up to a decade for those of average builds. Those who are heavier may have slightly time.

Browse Awara Customer Reviews

THE BEST PIECE OF FURNITURE I OWN
From right before making my purchase to coordinating a set up time, Awara and their team of customer support staff has been truly magical. Extremely helpful and easy to work with, I have nothing but good things to say about the Awara staff and company overall. Their customer support is reason enough to purchase from them, but it doesn’t hurt that their mattress is now the best, most comfortable piece of furniture I own.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

MY WIFE LOVES IT
For years my wife has complained about bad sleep. We’ve spent money on going to see an herbalist and doctors. One appointment her doctor recommended that she try using a new mattress. The thought had literally never occurred to us because I always slept so well. We like the idea and ease of a mattress in a box, so we chose Awara after hearing about it through the grapevine. Lo and behold, after a few weeks of adjusting, my wife hardly ever wakes up unhappy anymore, and actually we’re both much happier because of it.

I’M SHOCKED!
I am completely shocked at how much I love this mattress. Generally when you read reviews I’m kind of cynical about whether someone else can tell me about my sleep. What really sold me with Awara, though, is the 365 day trial. I figured if I bought it and really hated it that I could just send it back and get all of my money back with no hassle or anything. I was pretty shocked to be honest that I actually slept extremely well, the best I’ve slept in years, for weeks in a row with this mattress. It lives up to the reviews for sure. I’d recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable and affordable mattress with an excellent trial and warranty.

EXCELLENT COMPANY
Awara seems like such a hip company that really focuses on their customer service. I had to make a phone call to the company about a return because I decided that I wanted to save my money (nothing to do with how wonderful the mattress was), and I was pleasantly surprised at how completely easy the whole process was. I wasn’t even pressured into keeping it at a lower cost. I didn’t feel any guilt about returning, and that’s exactly how it should be.

BREAKFAST IN BED ON MORE THAN THE WEEKENDS
My girlfriend and I love our new Awara mattress so much that we spend as much time on it as we can, including breakfast in bed during the weekdays. We both work from home so we’re lucky that we can sleep in a little longer during the week and soak up the comfort of this beautiful new bed.

MY HUSBAND DOESN’T SNORE AS MUCH
So it’s not a 100% miracle cure for snoring, but wow, it’s really helped to reduce my husband’s snoring! It’s not completely gone but it’s way way less than what it used to be, and I’m sure it’s because of the new Awara mattress we got. It’s just so much more comfortable and we are both getting much better sleep and feeling so much better in the morning. Thank you to Awara for making such a great product!

IF YOU’RE A STUDENT YOU NEED AN AWARA
If you’re a student, you know how important it is to get a good night of sleep. Some wear their sleep deprivation like a badge of honor, but I learned early on (after collapsing from sleep deprivation from study for 2 days straight) that prioritizing sleep was essential. That’s why I asked for a new mattress for my birthday from my parents. They thought it was a boring gift, but I’ve felt the rewards tenfold since sleeping on this mattress and it’s definitely changed my life for the better.

GREAT PRICE AND GREAT QUALITY
I trusted my friend when she told me to get the Awara mattress and I cannot thank her enough. I think I’m eternally in debt to her because of how great a recommendation it was! Excellent price and excellent quality!

LOVE THE BOUNCE BACK OF LATEX
Looking into which mattress to buy was extremely OVERWHELMING for my boyfriend and I. We knew that we wanted something to replace our old Full size mattress that we got as a hand-me-down when we moved into our place. After a few weeks of research I stumbled upon Awara, and the all natural latex materials it was made out of really caught my attention. After trying it out for a few weeks we knew that we wanted to keep it forever. It was extremely comfortable and we love the quick recovery and bounce back that this mattress has.

SO HAPPY I DISCOVERED THIS MATTRESS
An excellent choice for anyone in need of a newer more comfortable mattress.

YOU’LL LOVE THIS MATTRESS
What’s not to love about Awara? Honestly. The free shipping, 365 night trial period, and warranty that lasts forever. I’m surprised these guys haven’t sold out!

LOVE IT!!!!
Was recommended this mattress from my parents who bought one a few months back. Thanks to my mom and dad. Best recommendation they’ve given me in my life. Looks like I still have a lot to learn from them!

BOUGHT THESE AS CHRISTMAS PRESENTS
I’ve been sleeping on the same mattress for 20+ years and needless to say it was time for something new. I bought a Queen sized Awara mattress for me and my girlfriend recently and we loved it so much that we decided to buy them as Christmas presents this year for her parents and my parents. My siblings are going to hate me for it, but I think we just won Christmas.

FEELING GREAT
I’ve been feeling amazing recently and I know that a large part of that has to do with the Awara mattress. I am sleeping soundly and comfortably and not tossing and turning as much as I used to. It feels like a miracle.

NO MORE STIFFNESS
Finally know what it feels like to wake up without soreness and annoyed that I can’t touch my toes even though I do yoga. I could get used to this.

WELL WORTH THE PRICE
Normally it would have taken me months to decide on an item that is a big investment, such as a mattress, but with Awara I felt confident to make a purchase. I was recommended this mattress from a friend and I am very happy. I’ll be recommending this to other friends as well.

KIND OF EXPENSIVE BUT WORTH IT
The Awara mattress was definitely a bit on the pricey side for my budget but I am so glad that I bought it. It was honestly worth every penny. I struggle from a chronic sleep disorder that got worse once I started my new job so I was desperate for something to help. I had heard about the Awara mattress and was really interested to try a hybrid. So glad I did. I’ve been sleeping like a baby!

CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS INCREDIBLY HELPFUL
My husband and I were having a really difficult time trying to coordinate a mattress purchase from another online mattress company and we got fed up. We were about to start looking in stores until my mother in law told us about the Awara mattress. We are an eco friendly couple looking to find something made from natural materials, so she knew that this was right up our alley. We decided to go with Awara, and were pleasantly surprised at how easy the process was and how easy it was to communicate with the customer service team. So much better than our first attempt, we would definitely recommend Awara.

MY NEW NEST
This is the best, coziest, comfiest mattress I have ever owned! It’s dangerous how comfortable it is and how well I’m sleeping because of it! My work might suffer...

WOW
Honestly, I am so happy that I decided to get this mattress, that all I can say is 10/10 would recommend.

SLEEPING IS SUCH A GREAT THING
If you’re like me, you struggle with sleep and you know how terrible it is after you’ve gone for 3, 4, or more days with little to no sleep. It’s so bad that it bleeds into other aspects of your life and you’re unable to to your best work, be as social as you’d like, or be as present for your friends and family as you’d like to. This is why it was important to me to find a mattress that really helped to improve my sleep, and I am happy to report that I found it with the Awara mattress. It’s incredible, I am sleeping much, much better than I ever used to and I finally feel less like a zombie during the day. So grateful to have found this amazing product.

AFFORDABLE AND EXCELLENT QUALITY
It can be difficult, especially in the world of mattresses, to find something that doesn’t cost a fortune but is made with high quality materials and is still extremely comfortable to sleep on, but Awara hits this intersection of criteria perfectly. We’d tested out another online mattress and were extremely disappointed, but decided to give Awara a try after hearing about friends of ours who bought one and loved it. So glad that we did. Been getting amazing sleep since.

I WOULD GIVE THIS A TRY
If I were you and reading these reviews and wondering if you should choose Awara, I say just go ahead and do it. Delivery, shipping, and returns are all free, plus you have an entire year to sleep on it before deciding for sure whether or not you want to keep it. Even if you don’t, Awara will come and pick it up for you if you want to return it. It’s so easy. I’m saying all of this because it’s worth trying out if you’re afraid that it’d be too much of a hassle. It’s not. It’s also a truly incredible mattress, so don’t wait. Try it for yourself and enjoy better sleep.

. LAYERS AND LAYERS OF COMFORT
One of the most comfortable things I have ever slept on! Seriously. Do yourself a favor and get one of these mattresses.

BUY IT AND TRY IT
Buying a mattress online is not for the faint of heart. It’s kind of scary because you’re not really able to try it before hand! You’ve really just got to trust your gut from the website and other reviews, and the reviews are exactly why I chose to go with Awara. It seems like people really love it, and now I see why!

. IT’S ALL ABOUT THE AFFORDABILITY
I wouldn’t have chosen this mattress if it wasn’t for the amazing financing option. I can pay small, monthly payments but I was still able to order and receive my mattress right away. Love it.

I LOVE IT
Got my mattress a few days ago and my sleep has already improved! Since night one I’ve woken up much more easily in the mornings, sometimes even before my alarm. I am actually feeling rested during the day too. It’s great.

I FEEL LIKE A REAL LIFE GOLDILOCKS
I’ve tried multiple mattresses already and was never able to find one that had that just right feeling for me, until I tried the Awara mattress. It’s not too soft and not too firm, it really is just right! I’d recommend this mattress to anyone looking for something that is soft yet perfectly supportive without being stiff or lumpy.

AMAZING!!
We absolutely adore our new Awara mattress and can hardly imagine sleeping on anything else. Don’t know why it took us so long to buy something new but we’re so happy with this purchase.

FINALLY HAPPY WITH A MATTRESS
I’ve spent years unhappy with my mattress, even resorting to sleeping on an air mattress because I couldn’t afford a real one. Finally, I saved up my money, and invested in the Awara mattress. I had heard really good things about hybrid mattresses and was interested in trying something made from latex because it’s an all natural material. It’s been three weeks and I am never looking back. Plus the lifetime warranty makes the price a steal! All around I am a very happy camper.

DO YOURSELF A FAVOR, GET AN AWARA MATTRESS
Was nervous at first about purchasing from an online store but the super long trial period made me feel a lot better about it. Loved this mattress so much I bought one for my mom for Christmas and I cannot wait to give it to her.

EXCELLENT FOR NEW PARENTS
My husband and I are very new parents (we have a 6 week old) and just before the baby came my parents bought us an Awara bed. We did not realize just how generous of a gift this was until after the baby came and sleep became a precious commodity. I think if it wasn’t for how comfortable that new mattress was, we would have actually gone crazy from how little sleep we were getting! I’m sure all new parents feel that way, but even though we were getting little sleep I know that I was getting a deep sleep, because I definitely would wake up feeling very refreshed.

OMG - THIS IS FANTASTIC
I am OBSESSED with this mattress! I honestly cannot say enough good things about it, from the incredible customer service team that answered my questions super quickly, to the incredible COMFORT of this bed. I have been sleeping so well and I don’t even hear my husband when he gets out of bed in the morning because I’m sleeping so deeply. It also helps that this bed has really low motion transfer so I don’t feel him when he gets up either. It’s truly perfect for couples.

ALL AROUND HAPPY
Great product, great service. Enough said.

LIKE NO MATTRESS I’VE EVER EXPERIENCED
Sleeping on Awara has been unlike any other mattress I’ve experienced. I love going to bed every night knowing that I’m going to wake up feeling refreshed. It’s a vastly different experience than my old mattress and I want to tell everyone about it! Stop living sleep deprived and start living a luxurious life and it doesn’t even cost too much!

BETTER THAN OUR OLD MATTRESS TIMES A MILLION
Okay so OBVIOUSLY this one is better than our old mattress. We only bought a new one because our old one was so bad. But the thing is, I think there are so many people out there who just don’t realize exactly how bad their mattress really is until they experience a new mattress. The difference is mind boggling. If you have even the smallest inkling that it’s time for a new mattress, make the investment and buy an Awara. You have nothing to lose.

CHOOSE AWARA AND CHOOSE HAPPINESS
I’m excited to get out of bed each morning because that is how good I feel after sleeping on this new mattress. On top of how amazing it feels and how amazing I feel, can we talk about this company for a second? They deserve a medal for their customer service, because the woman I talked to when I had a concern about my delivery was so helpful that I wrote this review specifically so I could talk about my extremely positive experience with the customer service team. 10/10.

WASN’T SURE AT FIRST BUT NOW I LOVE IT
When my partner and I bought the Awara mattress, we weren’t sure we were going to keep it. After a few weeks, we completely changed our minds because we began to adjust to it. Now we are sleeping soundly throughout the night and feel extremely comfortable. If you don’t like it right away, definitely take advantage of the trial period and keep sleeping on it. It may just take your body a bit of time to adjust.

YOU NEED ONE OF THESE THINGS
It’s such a strange but wonderful feeling to like, actually feel awake when I wake up in the morning. For so many years I would wake up and just want to go straight back to bed, but for the first time in a long time I’m actually waking up before my alarm! I’m getting excellent sleep and I know it’s because I switched my mattress. Much love and thanks to the Awara team.

VERY COMFORTABLE
This is a cushy and cozy mattress that everyone should try. It’s not too soft though, and would definitely say that it has a medium firmness because it’s still very supportive in all of the right spots. I never thought I’d like anything other than a memory foam mattress, but this hybrid has totally converted me. I love everything about the Awara mattress and will definitely be recommending it to friends and family.

Browse Birch Living Customer Reviews

great mattress and service
It's only been a few weeks, but I love the mattress so far. I had some questions and customer service was a great resource.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Best purchase!
This our first time ordering a mattress that comes in a box - but we are pleasantly surprised!!

we shall see
to be determined!

natural mattress
I knew I wanted an organic mattress because I get worried about the smell from a lot of the foam beds out there. We stumbled on Birch and wanted to give it a try. So far it's been really good - zero smell. Feel is medium / medium firm.

No-brainer
It's my new favorite thing in my apartment.

Just what we needed
A lot more affordable than some of the other natural mattresses we saw in stores and just as comfortable.

Great customer service
I spoke with an agent who was very helpful. Steered me towards adding the pillwo top to help make the bed more plush.

Yassssssss!
OMG...this mattress is awesome

Best sleep
My girlfriend and I both really like the mattress so far. And I must admit I like the social cause too.

Unclear
I've had back pain for a long time and finding the right mattress has always been a big struggle for me. When the bed is too soft, I get pain in my lower back every monring. When it's too firm, I get pain in my upper back. Feels like a no win situation. I wanted to try the Birch mattress because I hadn't tried a bed with these materials yet. So fa...Read Morer it's been fairly good, but I'm holding on judgmenent for a few more weeks. Read Less

Side sleeper
I like the pressure relief on my shoulders

Dan
We got this mattress to replace our old dingy bed we had for years. It has a good amount of support on my back, and my wife enjoys it as well.

Super plush with the topper
Feels like a mattress you'd find in a fancy hotel with the topper. Really like it so far.

A little firm
It started off a little firm.

It's awesome.
Can I never leave bed again? Like, seriously?

Good so far
Great mattress, but also great company. Love the 1% donation policy. I've been sleeping on the mattress for a few weeks and it has the right amount of bounce, but also plushness.

Enjoyable
I like it so far, but need to give it a bit longer.

No more pain
Just the right amount of support for my back

Great quality
Transparency is key for me - it's not just about the mattress, but also the supply chain. I love that they are Rain Forest Alliance approved.

Support.
It has really good support and sink for a bigger guy like me. Heavy to carry up the stairs.

Love it
Holy wool - this mattress is insanely comfortable. You can really feel the wool as compared to other mattresses I've tried.

Love it!
Very comfy!

Thick enough to relieve nerve
Thick enough to relieve nerve pain in my leg.

Very comfortable
Very comfortable

Not for me
The mattress did not work for me. Thanks for trying.

Comfortable, but a bit firm
Full, disclosure, my prior mattress had a built in pillow top, so that’s what I’m used to. I do like this mattress a lot, but as a relatively small person (about 130 lbs) I don’t sink in as much as I’d like. It does seem to be getting better with time though.

Very happy
Noticeable improvement in my comfort level at night after getting this. Minimal odor which quickly dissipates. Very happy with purchase and would recommend to others.

Super organic!
The mattress did not smell at all when I opened the package! It's comfy, supportive, and breathable. Every time I have friends over I show it off to them and have them lay on it. The responses are always the same. "Wow!"

Best mattress I have tried
This is very comfortable with the added topper. Would buy again

Peaceful Sleep and Peaceful Mind
In these first couple weeks of sleeping on the Birch mattress I am waking up refreshed, not sore and tired as with my old mattress. We feel great about the sourcing and material of the mattress and the ease of the process and glad we purchased from Birch.

Still don't have my mattress on day 19 and they guess maybe sometime a week from now
This is a buy then build model. They have supplier issues. I don't have my mattress, but they DO have my money. when I emailed and DMd them their response is My guess is next week some time? If you don't need a mattress for a month or more and don't mind them taking your money before they give you a product then order away. But don't expect to hear from them or get any updates that are meaningful or useful when you "track" your shipment. Even though they know about their supplier problems they just keep advertising 5-15 days to delivery. I hope this honest review helps the next person.

best mattress ever
I was skeptical after some initial issues with customer service (wrong item sent initially & then delay in the shipment of correct item), but this mattress is incredible. I'm a chronic insomniac and this is the only mattress I've ever slept in that gives me a halfway decent night's sleep. I can't even begin to imagine what this does for folks Read more aboutwithout chronic sleep issues. One thing I want to note is that it is a lot softer than I expected. Maybe for people that are used to sleeping on super soft memory foam it will feel firm, but if you've been sleeping on a pretty firm mattress, this might feel too soft. The wrong item they initially sent was the mattress topper, which made it way too soft for my liking.

Worst Mattress Ever
This will make your back ache and the quality is terrible. My husband weighs 170 pounds and his side of the bed is sagging.; we've owned this bed for 6 months. We spent 1,600 dollars and regret every penny. Trying to get a refund now, but the company is not working with us.

Well this is not my
Well this is not my first natural latex bed, I wasn't that impressed at first I think mainly because of the springs. But that said we continued on with the test, it was cooler temp wise then our previous mattress which was the main reason I wanted to try this mattress. I eventually purchased a additional topper and at least for me that made a big ...Read MoreRead more about review stating Well this is not mydifference so I guess we're going to keep it. Read LessRead less about review stating Well this is not my

Awesome mattress!
My birch mattress is awesome. So incredibly comfortable. My son & his wife were visiting & I let them stay in my bedroom. They commented on their own how incredibly comfortable the birch mattress is. I highly recommend it.

Extremely comfortable, very quiet. The
Extremely comfortable, very quiet. The stronger springs on the edges make for a secure feel. Love it

Mattress is great. It feels
Mattress is great. It feels really good to lie on and is very comfortable. The firmness is perfect for our requirements. The best part is the support at the edges of the mattress, so you never feel like you're gonna fall off. Also the way the mattress is built, movements on the bed arent transmitted which is great for a good nights sleep! Highly r...Read MoreRead more about review stating Mattress is great. It feelsecommend! Read LessRead less about review stating Mattress is great. It feels

Great mattress
I love that, in addition to the firm support underneath a comfortably soft top layer, the mattress is made of safer, natural and nontoxic materials. The warranty is also really strong, which adds peace of mind. And unlike the last mattress we purchased that came compressed and rolled, the Birch relaxed to a perfect shape quickly and didn't have an...Read MoreRead more about review stating Great mattressy smell of chemical offgassing. Read LessRead less about review stating Great mattress

Side/stomach sleeper
Very happy with our first bed in a box purchase. I am mostly a side and stomach sleeper, and previously was feeling pressure points. The Birch bed has provided all the support I need as advertised. My wife sleeps more on her back, and agrees mattress was a great purchase. Also really appreciated not having to deal with VOC off gassing we experienc...Read MoreRead more about review stating Side/stomach sleepered with kids mattresses bought locally. Only negatives we noticed were minor: 1) the mattress being replaced went right to edge of Foundation, Birch mattress appears to be about 1” narrower (~1/2” of foundation visible on each side). 2) long lead time to receive, ~5-6 weeks from what I recall. Read LessRead less about review stating Side/stomach sleeper

Very comfortable. Love that is
Very comfortable. Love that is made in USA with natural products. Thanks!!