Avocado vs Stearns And Foster

Get an Instant Discount for Avocado Get $175 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Avocado

The Avocado Green mattress brings together a blend of eco-conscious, natural, and organic ingredients to make a one of a kind, supportive, hybrid mattress. They also have a Vegan option available at no added cost. For those that are sensitive to off-gassing or suffer from airborne allergies, having an all-natural mattress is a must. Avocado has that covered by using GOTS certified pesticide free wool, GOTS organic cotton, and GOLS organic certified latex. They are also GreenGuard Gold certified, which is one of the most rigorous volatile emissions standards to obtain. Together with their pocket coil system, this is a strong brand to look at.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Avocado in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Avocado

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Avocado: 9.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Avocado: $959-$2199
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Avocado:
Get $175 Off Mattresses

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Avocado's Owner Satisfaction

Customer satisfaction is a good starting place for digging deeper. These mattresses have high marks for customer satisfaction based on the online customer review data. Customers report feeling comfy in their mattresses and have had good experiences overall with the company itself. Do more research below on the mattress specifics.

Avocado's Supportiveness

These mattresses are quite supportive versus others in the industry. Their materials offer solid support for the back and hips and customers report feeling good levels of comfort on the mattress. Customers describe that these mattresses are supportive and and don't mention initial issues with loss of resiliency.

Edge Support
Edge support is important when you are sitting or lying close to the side and desire even support throughout. These mattresses do a fine job with good edge support towards the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A bowling ball mattress test is a good way of measuring firmness and support. These mattresses have good even support and good versatility throughout the mattress.

Avocado's Durability

In terms of durability, these mattresses are quite competitive versus the competition. For buyers looking for mattress, finding one that has good durability can mean years of additional sleep. while one that breaks quickly can mean fast back pain. For most sleepers, these mattresses will last between 7 - 12 years on average, which is good for contemporary mattresses. Those folks that weight more than average or use their mattresses more than once a day may experience slight decreases in longevity.

Get an Instant Discount for Avocado:   Get $175 Off Mattresses

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Finding out how sleepers really feel about a mattress is difficult business -- especially with companies coming in and out of the market quickly. Customers, sadly, don't give these mattresses as high reception as others in the industry. There are still customers that are happy with their mattresses, but others that are not as pleased. Get more details on the specifics and hear from customers below.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress that properly cradles the body is what you need for a better night's sleep. If your mattress doesn't support you well, you simply won't sleep as well as those that have a mattress that aligns the spine. All in all, these mattresses do offer good support at first, but some had issues with lasting comfort.

Edge Support
Most reviewers find these mattresses to have fine edge support, which is good for those that enjoy sitting on the side of the mattress. Those that have heavier frames may still find some discomfort while laying close to the side.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. These mattresses, specifically, are not rated highly by sleepers for their longevity. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other customers may have much faster discomfort. If you are a heavier individual, read up on your options because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues from some mattresses.

Browse Avocado Customer Reviews

Love my Avocado! - Nancy M.

I absolutely love this mattress! I have never experienced this degree of comfort from a mattress before. It took me several months of researching and reading every review before I made the decision to buy an Avocado! I am so glad I did! It's been a life changer.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.