Avocado vs Sleep Science

Get an Instant Discount for Avocado Get $200 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Avocado

The Avocado Green mattress brings together a blend of eco-conscious, natural, and organic ingredients to make a one of a kind, supportive, hybrid mattress. They also have a Vegan option available at no added cost. For those that are sensitive to off-gassing or suffer from airborne allergies, having an all-natural mattress is a must. Avocado has that covered by using GOTS certified pesticide free wool, GOTS organic cotton, and GOLS organic certified latex. They are also GreenGuard Gold certified, which is one of the most rigorous volatile emissions standards to obtain. Together with their pocket coil system, this is a strong brand to look at.

Sleep Science

Sleep Science builds a line of latex and memory foam mattresses. Their claim to fame is their 'wedge' technology that provides edge support to every piece of the mattress. Additionally, they are Certipur certified, which means they have low VOC and no formaldehyde in their mattresses. They also use bamboo material in some of their mattresses. Their mattresses are made popular through their relationship with Costco warehouse stores where they are sold at a competitive price vs many of the retail sold mattresses of similar material quality.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Avocado in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Avocado

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Sleep Science: 8.4/10

Price Value:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Sleep Science: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Avocado: 9.4/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Price:
Avocado: $959-$2199
Sleep Science: $399-2499

Avocado:
Get $200 Off Mattresses

Sleep Science:
Get Yours Now

Avocado's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers give these mattresses solid scores for overall satisfaction, which means that based off of recent and overall customer sentiment these mattresses have great percentages of positive feedback. This is a good place to start to find out if one of these mattresses is a good pick for you -- read on for more specifics.

Avocado's Supportiveness

These mattresses are well supportive versus other competitors. They do a great job aligning the spine and help most sleepers feel comfortable in most sleeping positions. Reviews describe the mattresses as quite supportive and and don't mention initial issues with loss of resiliency.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that sit or lay close to the edge of the mattress and desire a ledge of support and comfort. Reviewers report that these mattresses offer solid edge support for sleepers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A bowling ball mattress test is a good way of measuring firmness and support. These mattresses provide an even supportive structure throughout the mattress.

Avocado's Durability

It is a hard thing to find great products that last over 10 years with constant use. Brands, by and large, rather go after making good money than building something that lasts a lifetime. That said, there are still remarkable products to be found. These mattresses provide a very good element of durability to most sleepers. They should last up to a decade for many sleepers, though some who are on the heavier side may experience them to falter a bit sooner.

Get an Instant Discount for Avocado:   Get $200 Off Mattresses

Sleep Science's Owner Satisfaction

Reviews are an excellent way to get at the benefits of a mattress. However, it can get daunting after looking for reviews from many different products. These mattresses are given mixed reviews by customers. Some are cozy in their new mattress, but others have complaints about the feel.

Sleep Science's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is ideal for those that are suffering from a sagging mattress right now. That said, some people have reported that they don't feel well supported, so take a look at the firmness and durability ratings to ensure it works for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is a mesaure of the supportiveness along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do well overall, but some folks may experience less edge support over time.

Sleep Science's Durability

These mattresses get mixed ratings from customers on durability. We all want a mattress that stays just as cozy in 10 years as it feels now, but unfortunately not all mattresses last for the long term. If a mattress that has mixed reception on durability is on your to-buy list, make sure to do one last look at the warranty and return policies so you are protected.

Browse Avocado Customer Reviews

Love my Avocado! - Nancy M.

I absolutely love this mattress! I have never experienced this degree of comfort from a mattress before. It took me several months of researching and reading every review before I made the decision to buy an Avocado! I am so glad I did! It's been a life changer.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Science Customer Reviews

NEEDS GOOD FOUNDATION - dont use bunky board!

We bought this mattress over a year ago...had no idea that they sold a separate foundation. Spent months replacing the bunky board we got from Crate and Barrell 2 times and dealing with back pain, even called the mattress mfr. The mattress mfr said they recommend their foundation instead of bunky board. Ordering it today, hopefully it will take care of the problem but paying $50 more than if I bought them together from the start. They need to update the description and recommend the foundation if they don't buy it separately OR don't even sell the mattress alone. Description said it needs a 'solid' foundation...what does that even mean? I had a hard time trying to find a bunky board that is solid wood from many retailers. Crate and Barrel's new bunky board is made of compressed cardboard! A painful process, but I like the mattress.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.