Avocado vs Shifman

Get an Instant Discount for Avocado Get $150 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Avocado

The Avocado Green mattress brings together a blend of eco-conscious, natural, and organic ingredients to make a one of a kind, supportive, hybrid mattress. They also have a Vegan option available at no added cost. For those that are sensitive to off-gassing or suffer from airborne allergies, having an all-natural mattress is a must. Avocado has that covered by using GOTS certified pesticide free wool, GOTS organic cotton, and GOLS organic certified latex. They are also GreenGuard Gold certified, which is one of the most rigorous volatile emissions standards to obtain. Together with their pocket coil system, this is a strong brand to look at.

Shifman

Shifman is a handmade luxury mattress brand that has been around since the last 1800s and has a legacy of elegant design and is found in mattress retailers and at Bloomingdales. Their mattresses are very high priced, usually well over $5,000 to start. Though they are a status symbol for some and boast hand craftsmanship, there are those that find that they provide a bad value for the materials used.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Avocado in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Avocado

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Shifman: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Avocado: 9.4/10
Shifman: 7.4/10

Price:
Avocado: $959-$2199
Shifman: $2,598-$29,783

Avocado:
Get $150 Off Mattresses

Shifman:
Get Yours Now

Avocado's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses have high ranks for customer satisfaction versus competitors, which means when we did a statistical look at the current data from customers across the net, we found these mattresses were ranked highly. This is a great place to start in figuring out if one of these mattresses will fit your needs -- read on for more specifics.

Avocado's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is important to those of all body types. Independent of your firmness preference, a mattress that aligns the back and shoulders is really important. Overall, these mattresses offer that kind of support.

Edge Support
Some mattress connoisseurs report that edge support is a key for the mattress shopper. Customers report that these mattresses do well with edge support, which means that sleepers report feeling consistency in support near the sides of the bed.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Measuring mattress firmness with a bowling ball is a good approach and it does a good job measuring even support throughout the surface layers. Reviewers note that these mattresses offer a good, even and supportive sleeping surface.

Avocado's Durability

It's a big win financially if your mattress is super durable and remains comfortable. This is a great reason for customers to find a mattress that lasts. However, lots of brands are out for profits rather than making the ever-lasting product. Even with that, customers can still find great products and brands out there. These mattresses have good durability for most sleepers overall. These mattresses should do a great job for up to a decade for those of average builds. Those who are heavier may have slightly time.

Get an Instant Discount for Avocado:   Get $150 Off Mattresses

Shifman's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are content with their beds, but others are not as pleased overall. Despite those that are happy with their selection, this brand has lower satisfaction scores than average. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

Shifman's Supportiveness

Some customers report that these mattresses are well supported, but some others have complained about loss of support. For those that are of larger body types or require more support for health reasons, do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
These mattresses have mixed reviews when it comes to edge support. Some folks have reported good amounts of comfort throughout the mattress, but others had issues with sagginess towards the sides.

Shifman's Durability

We all want a long lasting mattress, and when our mattress starts to hurt our backs after a few months, we feel swindled. That said, nowadays, it is getting harder and harder to find lasting comfort. With more companies than ever, companies fighting for profit at the demise of quality. With these mattresses, some reviewers had problems with longevity That doesn't necessarily mean that durability issues will happen to everyone, but make sure to read up more before buying.

Browse Avocado Customer Reviews

Love my Avocado! - Nancy M.

I absolutely love this mattress! I have never experienced this degree of comfort from a mattress before. It took me several months of researching and reading every review before I made the decision to buy an Avocado! I am so glad I did! It's been a life changer.

View More Reviews

Browse Shifman Customer Reviews

I bought my first Shifman Mattress...

I bought my first Shifman Mattress in Bloomdales in 2001. It lasted me over ten years and was only tossed out due to the impossibility of getting such a heavy, well-made mattress down my third floor tenement stairs. I switched brands to my regret and have never gotten the good night's sleep I had with my Shifman. I can't even turn the mattress over because it is a one-sided mattress, something I was unaware of. When this one bites the dust, I'm returning to Shifman. It is a costly product and worth every cent.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.