Avocado vs Restonic

Get an Instant Discount for Avocado Get $200 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Avocado

The Avocado Green mattress brings together a blend of eco-conscious, natural, and organic ingredients to make a one of a kind, supportive, hybrid mattress. They also have a Vegan option available at no added cost. For those that are sensitive to off-gassing or suffer from airborne allergies, having an all-natural mattress is a must. Avocado has that covered by using GOTS certified pesticide free wool, GOTS organic cotton, and GOLS organic certified latex. They are also GreenGuard Gold certified, which is one of the most rigorous volatile emissions standards to obtain. Together with their pocket coil system, this is a strong brand to look at.

Restonic

Restonic is a classic mattress brand, founded in the 1930s. Over the past eighty years, they have been focused on offering a competitive product in the retail mattress space for a solid price. They offer hybrid, innerspring, memory foam, and latex mattresses and boast rewards from multiple independent associations including Consumers Digest Award and Women's Choice award. They also take a different tactic than many with reviews and showcase uncurated independent reviews on their Facebook account and website.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Avocado in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Avocado

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Restonic: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Restonic: 8.9/10

Price Value:
Avocado: 9.5/10
Restonic: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Avocado: 9.4/10
Restonic: 8.9/10

Price:
Avocado: $959-$2199
Restonic: $575-$2099

Avocado:
Get $200 Off Mattresses

Restonic:
Get Yours Now

Avocado's Owner Satisfaction

Having excellent ratings from sleepers is an important factor for shoppers. Customers provide some of the better ratings to this brand than most others, which should give you a good reason to learn more about if they will work for you. Read on to discover if one of these will work for you!

Avocado's Supportiveness

Mattresses that are supportive are important to everyone. Whether you like a firm, soft, or medium mattress, a bed that helps with spine health is vastly important. Most report that these mattresses offer a good amount of support.

Edge Support
Over the years, edge support has been an important attribute in mattresses. These mattresses do well in that category, which means that sleepers report feeling consistency in support near the sides of the bed.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Measuring mattress firmness with a bowling ball is a good approach and it is a great way to measure even support too. These mattresses offer good evenness throughout the sleeping surface to help with better spine alignment.

Avocado's Durability

If you have a mattress that continues to be comfortable for a long time, it's an immediate financial savings. This is one great reason that customers look so hard for mattresses that last. That said, not all brands care about the same thing. Even with that, customers can still find great products and brands out there. These mattresses have good durability for most sleepers overall. Unless you are of a heavy build and use the mattress more than average, these mattresses should perform for you for 7 - 12 years.

Get an Instant Discount for Avocado:   Get $200 Off Mattresses

Restonic's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews are a powerful resource for finding out if a product will match your needs. Reviewers overall have positive things to say about these mattresses, but there are some that had a negative experience. Research more below to see if one of these mattresses will work with your body type.

Restonic's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is essential to getting the most out of your night's sleep. These mattresses provide a good level of support -- above average overall. This is important if you don't have a supportive sleeping surface right now. Most customers describe these mattresses as providing a good level of support initially.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of supportiveness there is on the edges against the center section of the mattress. Customers report that these mattresses have good edge support overall, but some may experience sinking or contouring along the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test provides a good measurements of mattress firmness. It is also a solid test for understanding evenness of support throughout the mattress surface. Overall, these mattresses will offer an evenness across the sleeping surface.

Restonic's Durability

All mattress buyers are looking for a mattress that has comfort that lasts for a decade. Though there are some reasons, like dust, that would mean we wouldn't want to sleep on the same mattress for over 15 years, we would all be happier knowing our mattress could last that long. These mattresses do well overall when it comes to durability. Most sleepers will be happy with these mattresses over 7 years, but rarely some folks have complained about the feel. If you are a heavy person and worried about durability, take a look at some of the customer reviews before puchasing.

Browse Avocado Customer Reviews

Love my Avocado! - Nancy M.

I absolutely love this mattress! I have never experienced this degree of comfort from a mattress before. It took me several months of researching and reading every review before I made the decision to buy an Avocado! I am so glad I did! It's been a life changer.

View More Reviews

Browse Restonic Customer Reviews

Going for (and achieving) 'best of both worlds' between latex and memory foam. A revolution over conventional innersprings.

Man - half a year or so ago, I made the switch from my old innerspring Queen mattress to a new King memory foam mattress. The differences were staggering -- vastly superior comfort, quietness, no back pain, and I could enter / exit the bed without awakening my girlfriend when she was sleeping over.

I recently got the opportunity to review this, which I consider to be a 'hybrid' memory / latex foam mattress, and find it has a number of benefits over a conventional all-memory foam mattress, but a couple small drawbacks as well. Bottom line, I'm immensely happy with this mattress and consider it an upgrade over my older memory foam.

ADVANTAGES:
+ this mattress has superior comfort to an innerspring mattress. While it's a slightly firmer overall to my softer memory foam, I find this a plus. A pure memory foam mattress can allow you to sink so low that it's almost a challenge at times to change positions
+ to put it bluntly , the extra support and added bounciness make this mattress WAY better for sex. A pure memory foam is comfortable sleeping but can be too soft and allow sinking when you're on your knees / elbows, etc. The latex / memory foam hybrid design means you don't sink way down when you're on your knees during sex. This is a nice design upgrade
+ I find this mattress to be nice a cool sleeping, though my memory foam was as well
+ less unpleasant smell during the initial expansion phase vs. memory foam
+ the packing on this was superb. The box was well-sealed and the mattress itself was securely rolled in heavy duty vaccum-sealed plastic. This made it a lot easier to wrestle around vs. my memory foam, which was vacuum-sealed as well, but in weaker plastic. The tarp it was in had busted and so had the box -- so I appreciate the secure packing of my Brio mattress

DISADVANTAGES:
- this mattress is more expensive than generic brand memory foam mattresses
- it feels a bit heavier as well, making it heavier to move
- being just a bit firmer than an all-memory foam mattress, there's just a touch more motion transference. While it is worlds better than a conventional innerspring, you don't get that total motion isolation afforded by an all-memory foam mattress

CONCLUSION:
If you're looking to upgrade from a conventional innerspring mattress, I think the Restonic Brio is a good choice for you. You get the coolness, support, and slight springiness of latex with the 'sleeping on a cloud' feeling of memory foam. The Restonic's added support makes it superior for sex - which, while not the primary purpose for a mattress, is still worth considering. It's heavier and more awkward to move than memory foam (and both are more awkward than a conventional mattress) but I honestly find the comfort benefits to be well worth the tradeoff. This is a solidly constructed mattress, MADE IN THE USA, that combines a number of modern technologies to provide a superior sleeping experience. If you've never tried a modern foam mattress -- go test one (find a friend or a store). If you like the experience, then consider buying the Brio Restonic. As an owner of conventional, memory foam, and now the Restonic mattress, I can safely say that they've really got a 'best of all worlds' design with this mattress. 5 stars!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.